Fear and Wisdom

0 5
Avatar for Cryptopsycho21
1 year ago

Proverbs 9:10

10 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom,

and the knowledge of the Holy One is insight.

Today's verse is one that not only advised to separate what is holy but also to give respect and awe to the Lord almighty. Sometimes the word fear really strikes people as not very loving.

However, it does mean fear "be afraid" and also "respect and love". For me, I don't do what is good because I fear a lightning bolt with my name on it. I fear what the Lord thinks of my actions and deeds. I fear what my wife and family think of my deeds as well. That was a powerful catalyst for my success in defeating my alcoholism, but not the only one. -another story.

When we place the Lord first, with love, respect, and fear- we gain wisdom. This wisdom for me is the ability to make choices that will not end up in vain or pleasures of the material world. Instead, when I make choices with the love, respect, and awe of the Lord at the pinnacle of the decision-making process, I can relax in knowing that the Lord has guided my decision.

1
$ 0.00

Comments