Cognitive Biases

6 29

Continuing from my recent articles about The subconscious Mind, I am writing today about Cognitive Biases.

A cognitive bias is a systematic error in thinking that influences and affects our judgement and decisions making. There are different types of cognitive biases that affect each individual differently, but a common attribute is that they tend to deviate the decision from being rational and objective. Cognitive biases could be thought as shortcuts for thinking stored in our subconscious mind. They help us reach decision faster and hence are not always a bad thing. This is because we do not stop to consider all available information, as our thoughts advance down some channels instead of others. An interesting read about the thinking process and unconscious influences is “The Art of Thinking Clearly”.

“Whether we like it or not, we are puppets of our emotions. We make complex decisions by consulting our feelings, not our thoughts. Against our best intentions, we substitute the question, “What do I think about this?” with “How do I feel about this?” So, smile! Your future depends on it.”

(Dobelli, 2013)

Cognitive biases can be driven by our environment, emotions, feeling or any of the past experiences.
NowAnalyzing our recent decisions will make us realize that there were always some cognitive biases that influenced our decisions.

Below are the links for my previous articles

https://read.cash/@Cryptonoob/the-subconscious-mind-34cb3f85

https://read.cash/@Cryptonoob/the-subconscious-mind-unconscious-factors-3079ff6d

5
$ 0.06
$ 0.06 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

Nice article....it will surprise you to know that I haven't come across this word as well..thanks for the exposure..I have Learnt something new which I appreciate...but NY question us that what does this cognitive biases entail..pls explain in clearer terms.thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will followup this article soon with some of the common cognitive biases that occur

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cognitive Biases... hmm would admit I haven't come across this world before now so more of what it means but after reading your write up I think a got a point now. Also often times our emotions always clouds our judge which can either a good thing or a bad one depending on the situation we find ourselves.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes that is also a part of subconscious mind and they refer to it it as emotional intelligence. I will be soon writing about it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh really that's good to hear I would love to see that... do well to submit to my community

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure

$ 0.00
3 years ago