You're wasting yourself...

6 100
Avatar for CryptoSorted
2 years ago
Topics: Strategy

We always say things like, "time is going" or "you're wasting time". But are you really "wasting time" and is time really going anywhere?

Before we answer that, let me share with you how this post came about.

Today I was doing something with a colleague and we both felt we were progressing too slowly because we were waiting for someone to deliver an item we would use to complete the task.

He said, guy, we're wasting time, and suggested we look for an alternative and get the job out of the way asap. We have to move fast before blah blah blah he blurted.

And then, this thought popped into my mind... are we really wasting time or are we being wasted in time?

What is the time?

I never bothered to check for the definition of "time" until I started writing this line.

According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, time is:

"a: the measured or measurable period during which an action, process, or condition exists or continues: duration.

b: a nonspatial continuum that is measured in terms of events which succeed one another from past through present to future. c : leisure time for reading.

As you can see, time is a unit of measurement of how long a person, action, etc. exists or existed.

It is used to track the progress of something. How long something has moved, existed, etc.

Since time is infinite and constant, we developed watches or clocks to measure how much of it someone or something has used or is using.

ok!

Who owns or controls time?

Nobody owns or controls time, not even the watch company or the government. The only person who can lay claim to the ownership and control of time is God, but that's a story for another day.

And that makes me tink:

if you don't own or control time, how can you spend or waste it?

And if time is infinite and ever-present, how is it "going"? Or as some would say, "time moves fast". Does time really move, let alone slow or fast?

Time is infinite and is not going anywhere. It neither reduces nor increases. Time is eternally unchangeable and constantly present.

So, the only thing that is passing away is you and me. We are the ones passing through time and being changed as a result.

When we waste time we're wasting ourselves, and when someone wastes your time, they're wasting you.

Conclusion

This thought makes me feel sober about how I'm spending myself (time).

Now, more than ever, I'm deliberate and conscious of how I "spend myself in time" by constantly focusing on and pursuing only those things that bring the most value and benefit to me and the people in my world.

This also means that whoever spends their time with or for you is giving you a portion of their life, respect and value that. And don't waste yourself by wasting time.

9
$ 20.07
$ 19.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
+ 4
Sponsors of CryptoSorted
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CryptoSorted
2 years ago
Topics: Strategy

Comments

Oh, that makes sense! I like your thoughts to the point that I will save this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although the word time is short, its importance is always involved with us. Time has been going on like that since the beginning of creation, we are changing. We are wasting our time in various ways. Time is of the essence. Time does not stop for anyone, so we have to spend our time doing the right thing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice little twist from the usual crypto-themed articles

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha, yeah. just some random thoughts. they come once in a while.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Man if I put my thoughts on paper... will fry some brains

$ 0.00
2 years ago

...lol.

I would love to taste some fried brains. How would it even taste?

$ 0.00
2 years ago