The Life of a Full-Time Blogger:

28 139
Avatar for CryptoMax
2 years ago
Topics: Goals, Earnings, Journey, Money, Writing, ...

The good thing about being a full-time blogger is it gets easier with each passing day.

I posted an article a while back that I think fits this community well as you've been expressing interest in knowing more about my full-time blogging journey.

I know many of my readers here are writers themselves, and as such, I felt that sharing how the life of a full-time blogger is can be of assistance to others and give you an idea of what some of you are trying to become. I also have a few tips I can give you to get there, and I guarantee it’s hard work but it’s worth it.

First of all, there’s one thing I think you should understand. We bloggers are creative people, and as such dislike routines and love coffee… which is fine until you realize you must make blogging a routine.

Granted, there are days in which you don’t want to write, and when you reach critical mass you can skip a few days — but up until that point, you must simply grind using all the willpower you can get.

Struggles of an Amateur Blogger: Achieving Critical Mass

I remember when I was starting my blogging career, it sure as hell wasn’t easy. I was just 21, still living with my parents, and they were constantly nagging me to have a real job. I did get “traditional” jobs, but it was a disaster.

My father would nag me every day, stating empirical knowledge like:

“ — You’ll never earn money sitting at home!”
“ — You think your life will fall on your lap?”

You know, the worried “parent talk” you give your kids when they just won’t move out.

I was writing every single day and spending all of my days trying to learn several skills like:

  • SEO;

  • Content Marketing;

  • On-Page Optimization;

  • Keyword Research;

  • Blogging Techniques;

  • Searching for Success Stories (you have to keep on motivated).

…among other things.

What did I get for it?

Less than $1 per month, some really good months I’d get about $5.

Don’t Give Up!

The Reason Why Most Writers Fail:

I spent about 1 year making next to nothing, and I was writing every day only to find out… no one was reading!

I was pouring my heart out, I was grinding daily, I was sweating, suffering, hearing my parents every single day only to find out nobody cared, and I was writing for NO ONE!

I know now this is the reason why most people fail, they don’t enough willpower to persevere and get past that block.

How Everything Turned Around:

It was on a sunny day that I was working in my parents’ Art Shop to help them out. I was checking the statistics and then I saw it.

I broke the $100 barrier for that month… I earned over one hundred dollars in a month.

Can you believe how I felt after all that time?

I jumped around in the shop and I told my parents full of pride.

My father said: “That isn’t enough to pay a third of the rent”.

I anchored myself in reality again, but now I had something I never had before — the knowledge that IT WAS POSSIBLE!

It was just a couple of months after this had happened that I saw I broke the $500 barrier. Why? Because all of those days of writing and grinding gave me a huge stack of content… and I only needed to get found out for all that content to be accessed.

My parents didn’t believe me as I told them, but I took my father to the bank and showed him the proof. The money wasn’t virtual, it was real, the slip of paper the ATM gave us confirmed it for him. He started supporting me.

Well done, now scale up!

A Good Business is Scalable:

I had a fairly accessed blog now, but a sound business strategy is to only get in businesses you can scale. I had the time to scale it, as I only needed to write an article per day for the blog, so how did I scale it.

I got other blogs started, and I now have a couple of different properties. Even though I claim to be a full-time blogger, I am more than that. I started out there, but I eventually expanded into other content.

I have a couple of blogs, then I expanded into YouTube where I have a couple of channels of those informational videos that are read by the text-to-speech voices (low budget, I know, but that will change in time as I scale), plus I have some Android Apps I’m monetizing with Admob.

This is me! Nice to meet you!

^This is me not regretting leaving the blogs of others, don't know if I match what you pictured Max would look like :P

The Life of a Full-Time Blogger:

What’s the core of this article? What do I find to be the most important knowledge piece to impart upon you? It’s this:

  • It gets easier with each passing day.

You start out having to put tons of effort and hours for little to no reward, but each and every article you publish compounds with the rest of your content and with the article you’re going to post tomorrow.

With a trickle of views to each one, they multiply the eyeballs on your pieces and in whatever you monetize.

The more you work today, the less you have to work tomorrow. I now spend my life thinking about ways to diversify my income streams, to get money flowing from other places in order to avoid sticking every egg in the same basket. That’s why I joined Read Cash in part too, I’m hoping to grow here and make this another income stream to diversify my Internet stake.

I hope this article helped you in your writing/blogging journey. It IS POSSIBLE, but you have to be disciplined and pass through the initial roadblock, which can be quite long. It gets easier as you go, post by post.

Don’t give up, keep writing!

Note:

Article Originally Published By Me Here.

LIKE MY CONTENT?

My Top 3 Sponsors Get:

  • A comment, upvote, and $0.20 per day they publish a quality article;

  • More links and mentions in my posts;

  • They are featured in my Profile;

  • A section like the one coming next:

SHOUT OUT TO MY TOP 3 SPONSORS:

@Macronald @Pantera,  @Idksamad7869 ,  - thank you! I recommend these guys as they are publishing great content.

20
$ 19.94
$ 14.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 5.00 from @MarcDeMesel
$ 0.30 from @Macronald
+ 7
Sponsors of CryptoMax
empty
empty
Avatar for CryptoMax
2 years ago
Topics: Goals, Earnings, Journey, Money, Writing, ...

Comments

thank you so much for this motivation.I was already desperate due to my articles being neglected.I will try to stick to writing new articles ad I hope someday I will achieve my dreams.love your posts!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's exactly the spirit Shiela. If you really want to do it, then focus on it and be prepared to write tons upon tons of words before achieving it. It isn't easy, but it doesn't take anything special, only hard work and willpower.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand your father's incredulity at first, I imagine the anecdote is a few years old. In my opinion, blogging was the logical evolution of article and editorial note writers of yesteryear. Only now the platform is available to more people. More opportunities while lifting the technology.

The craft of writing is as physically demanding as that of a construction worker, only the writer's building blocks are made up of ideas and concepts. Good work will always find the right audience who buys it.

Thank you for sharing your experience as a full-time blogger.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hello there Jnavedan. No doubt being a writer is demanding. I never thought I'd become one, I just wanted to make money online. Turns out I actually had a knack for it, and so I pursued it and ended up fulfilling my goal of making money from home. Cheers and thank you for stopping by again!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel you dude when it comes to dealing with our parents. quoting this from your father “That isn’t enough to pay a third of the rent” means that he wants you to succeed with your chosen path. You know Dads looks contradicting with their remarks but deep inside they are proud of our efforts.

This post is very motivational and inspirational. I'm saving it. Thanks Dude.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks bro. Yes he wanted me to succeed, but he would have loved if I was a doctor like my sister or an engineer, or lawyer or whatever. :P Now he's very happy though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to finally see n meet u, lol, yes, keep on writing n had experienced that u wrote n wrote but no one's reading it, want to be a full time blogger too n i got so much to learn before that but u just said that n that's what i need n thank u 'coz all i need to know n the tips on how to became one's already here, will take note of the tips u had said here, though i never had a $100 tip being here for 9 months but i still n continue writing 'coz i happen to love it since i joined here, at first, never thought nor imagined that i can write, lol

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Just know that I was you once, and it was only through smart and hard work I was able to evolve. Bear in mind I once wrote a 200 pages book in one day so I did write A LOT. I wrote sometimes until I was near puking. It was a hard journey. Don't give up and be willing to do what others aren't.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, i will continue n will keep on writing n yes, it's a hard n long journey but i will still do n write, in fact, been doing it for 9 months now, thank u for the upvote :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very motivational, thank you so much! It is easy to get disheartened by lack of ability to break through any type of barrier. Well done on your journey this far, keep it up. Love your posts...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks! It's easy to feel like you're "stuck" or not really progressing, but it's an optical illusion. Progress online isn't linear, it is a constant loop between lows and highs. Cheers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate full time bloggers like me who always in think of new topics and researching then writing stuff everything is easy if you're satisfied and literally this platform is best for blogging

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeap, this platform is awesome, just make sure you write for another platform that is good for passive earnings, because if you stop writing here you'll see a sharp decline on income. Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't relate to this. And I never ever thought that I can be a blogger here, it didn't even occur to my mind this kind of job. When I first register here in read.cash I don't even know what to do. I'm like a bird who doesn't know where to go, if it's left or right or just go straight in front. Even now I don't know if what I'm doing is right lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, you must be doing something right Ruffa, after all you got your top tippers badge, an audience that keeps returning to your posts and you're still around here working to continue improving. Persistence is key and you have it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, thanks to them I choose to stay here. You see there's a time that I really want to give up this account, but thanks to those users whos still supporting me, I stay and continue whay I've been doing amd here I am now 🤧🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naaah, that can't be... you stick here with us Ruffa, we don't want you to leave.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh man! I remember when I earned my first $100 from blogging. It was ecstatic, my head was filled of happy hormones, I really thought that it could be my full time job. I was really excited. But then an opportunity to be a programmer came and I grabbed it. Oh if only time could be rewinded, I'm not gonna let go of my blogging career back then.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What do you feel like you lost that makes you unable to recover the blogging career chances you had earlier?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's just that I think that the timing has passed, lost my momentum, and I'm afraid that starting over again is a huge risk that I can't afford to take.

But good thing I was introduced to this platform. Somehow, little by little I'm getting back to the mindset that I can, that I absolutely can. And it's very exciting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It just shows thay you just continue your dreams..to write no matter how many people distracted you. Now you nailed it. It was a success

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Happiness is for those who suffer enough to prove they deserve it :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said. True

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admire those full time bloggers, I can imagine the time spent in reading and researching in things they would write. I am happy that your have proven to your father than you can really have money through this noble endeavor. To more writeups! your articles in blogging is a reminder to me that I should not be afraid and should not stop writing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Without a doubt. Always preserve and keep on grinding. You'll get somewhere if you just stick with it and think of new ways to market your content and perfect your trade. Cheers

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Whew! I was reminded of Cristian Mihai. You may have encountered him already, at wordpress or medium. You two sound so alike. Thank you for sharing this! It means a lot. Still having second thoughts of full time blogging. I guess Im one who still needs the traditional job. But I always wanted to become a full time blogger. Ill see what I can do. As you said, bloggers are creative.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Never had heard of him until today, and it seems he is no longer writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago