A Costly April Fools Joke: How I Almost Didn’t Do It!

17 56
Avatar for CryptoMax
3 years ago

Hello everyone.

Yesterday I announced I was launching Superstars. I know some of you caught up to it, but I still like to think I was able to trick many… that’s right.

APRIL FOOLS DAY PRANK!

Unfortunately, I do not have the skill required to program an NFT game, while I’m more than willing to do the art if someone does the project.

But this prank was a very hard thing to make, as you may suspect.

Today my post is going over how it all went down.

Brainstorming: How to Add Value While Pranking?

So, I already knew I wanted to prank you guys, but I didn’t know what to do.

I also thought:

- How can I add value while pranking, because if it’s just a prank that’s wasted!

I started brainstorming and thinking about ways to combine the useful with the pleasant, and so I thought about stuff that is bringing value to BCH.

I focused on two projects – Juungle.net and this platform you’re on now.

So, I decided to launch a dummy project on Juungle using NFTs while combining it with something of this platform.

I remembered what’s good about the platform:

- The platform’s quality is made by its users.

 I decided to make an NFT trading card game based on the people on this platform, and I opted to do it because of another thing:

- I was alerting people that this new NFT market should be explored to its full potential. If someone needs help with something on it, please let me know.

So, I brainstormed and made a blue paper.

The Superstars Trading Card Game Bluepaper: How I Made It

So, if you read the full article you see I had it all planned out and the game’s system was solid.

The blue paper had good fundamentals and it sounded like a very good project.

This is because I focused on creating a true concept, a concept I could indeed develop if I had the skills.

As you can see, I thought about the game’s ecosystem, rules, and the Bitcoin Cash economy.

I tried to create ways to help the network through added BCH adoption, promoting juungle transactions, adding buy pressure to the tokens and increasing activity in the blockchain.

I also tried to create a dynamic that would achieve all of this and add all this value while also allowing users to earn real money and treat the game as an investment if they so wished to.

This, of course, took me a lot of time to do, but I LOVED it and by the end was convinced I could make this a real thing.

Making Off Superstars Prank: Design and Mock-Ups

So, now that I had the concept I had to actually go ahead and create the mock-ups to make the whole prank believable – nobody would believe a game was about to be launched with only text to show for it.

So, I decided to create mock-up cards in three different ranks – Common, Uncommon, and Rare.

For common cards, I opted to make myself – for fun – and feature something we all deal with every day as a community… comment spam!

For the uncommon and rare I looked to the most recognizable people on the network, so I had to pick the top tippers up.

Marc, Roger, and Randy are the top 3, of course, so I had to make them the Rare cards.

Ellie is very important and admired as well, thanks to her generous tips and “low on words” personality.

Finally, Molecular worships the flying spaghetti monster, so it would be a fun add.

I thought about making a design based on the most famous and recognized Trading Card Game of all-time – Magic the Gathering, from the Wizards of the Coast.

So, what do Magic cards have as their “fields”?

- Power;

- Toughness;

- Abilities;

- Types;

- Mana Costs;

- Speech lines;

- Colors.

I thought about the colors in a way that would make the cards go well with the person’s avatar, then I used the appropriate mana color and make the costs based on how powerful the card was.

Then I made the Power and Toughness basing myself on how the card would be used.

The abilities were a cooler field because I could think of funny and interesting ways to portray our top tippers.

Finally, the speech lines were all something that the tipper either said or typed, except for Ellie – who of course stayed quiet as she always does.

I Almost Didn’t Do It: The Day I Worked Too Much on a Prank

When I was beginning I thought – man, this will be fun.

…and it was!

The problem is with all of the efforts I placed into making it a feasible game and in writing the blue paper, I kinda took most of the day – yikes!

Then the design part, where I designed:

- The Cards;

- The Logo;

- Took Screenshots for Avatars and Cropped them etc…

…well, there goes the rest of my time.

So I looked at the clock and April’s Fools was almost gone.

 

So, I hurried up and posted it.

I really hope you guys had fun with it and thought the game was a really good idea, because I certainly would like it made – sure I’m willing to help if there’s a programmer here willing to do it.

Cheers people. It was nice pranking you.

APRIL’S FOOLS!

:D

Note:

Article Originally Published Here, on Read.Cash

LIKE MY CONTENT?

My Top 3 Sponsors Get:

  • A comment, upvote, and $0.20 per day they publish a quality article;

  • More links and mentions in my posts;

  • They are featured in my Profile;

  • A section like the one coming next:

SHOUT OUT TO MY TOP 3 SPONSORS:

@Pantera,  @Idksamad7869 , @EnergyB0x - - thank you! I recommend these guys as they are publishing great content.

14
$ 15.11
$ 14.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Glez
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 7
Sponsors of CryptoMax
empty
empty
Avatar for CryptoMax
3 years ago

Comments

Appreciative and informative one these nfts look cool and specially rusty one is more value able and peoples will love him and also marc sir as always keep writing and increase our knowledge

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I loved making these cards so much... they surely make great NFTs :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have read until the end although i did not understand much of it. You really got me fooled. But seriously I hope this prank will come to reality. I really like how you play with blogging dude. Hats off.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thanks man, is it me or you're beeing a bit more offline these days?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey man, kind of busy with my daytime job so I wasn't able to manage to update daily. I wish I could make blogging full-time like you but you know, I have to prioritize something more important. Just posted a new article, at least I could be in the loop little by little.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am learning more and more with your shared details and knowledge. For someone like me who just write whatever comes to my mind this helps if i wanna make blogging a career.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Omg, you got me! I wasn't expecting it to be a prank! :D . You little rascal!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

ROFL.... Man I got too excited while making it, I even duped myself.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, nice work n job there, Max, lol, never thought it's just a prank as it really looks like real plus your article's so good n so convincing, lol, but come to think of it, in case u can make it happen or it's really true, u will have or u will get most of the users here there as they r going to join n register there

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yeah, too bad I'm only an artist and can't program enough to make it happen, it would be a really cool project and I bet it would succeed. Cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol, yes, but who knows, the top tippers might saw this article of yours n might like it n might use your idea for that n yes, it will really be a cool project n would really succeed as it's a unique one, lol, cheers, thanks again for the upvote

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is there a link for this?

$ 0.01
3 years ago

A link to what? Read carefully :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am learning more and more with your shared details and knowledge. For someone like me who just write whatever comes to my mind this helps if i wanna make blogging a career.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you for stopping by Glez. I'll be seeing you around and have a nice day.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Weird i was trying to comment on your other article not on this one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My pleasure. Ohh just noticed you gotta badge now hahaha. Very impressing!

$ 0.00
3 years ago