Similarities

2 30
Avatar for Creepymeow
1 year ago

The third day of August! Now I'm also on the third prompt, Similarities, of @JonicaBradley

I hope to see this through at the end of the month and I would be so happy to see my progress. Thank you for reading guyts.

SIMILARITIES.

It was a hot afternoon when Mrs. Sullivan heard her front door opened and shut simultaneously as if a quarterback have done it or perhaps the neighbors feisty bull. She run to see what it was when she saw her first born slumped on the floor crying her eyes out.

"Aw Honey, what is wrong?" she dropped to her knees and started drawing circles in her daughter's back. She knew exactly what's wrong but she was afraid to ask the direct question. Bullying was a sensitive topic in school and the last time she made her move resulted in disaster. This time she wanted a change of pace and attack the problem in a different angle. "You can tell me everything you know that right?"

Her daughter nodded, sniffing back her tears. "I suppose so as long as you promise not to go to school."

"I promise." Now Sarah Sullivan is woman of her words but that time she swore that she would get back to any kids who hurt her child. "Now tell me, Honey."

"Well, the kids are saying you just happen to pick me by the side of the roads. That I am not yours."

"Well that's not a good thing to say. You are mine! How can they even say such ridiculous thing?"

Martha the ten year old girl can be sassy at times especially at home, rolled her eyes in front of her mother, "Everyone can tell! Am too white to be yours!"

Sarah opened her mouth but it was her time to roll her eyes and people could say, Martha got it from her. "You are mine, okay?"

"But how? Benedict is as dark as night! You and Papa are too! And I'm pale as a ghost, how can I be yours?" The little kicked her legs and flapped her hands in their. If only Grandma Sullivan could see the little girl, she'd say that's her little Sarah in there.

Sarah sighed, "Well, you are old enough to understand things and yes we all are as dark as your Grandma's favorite soup but that doesn't mean you are not mine. It's just that when I was younger I met this white soldier by the dock. We started dating and then I had you but the needs to go back to the war..."

"So, Papa is not my papa?"

"Well, in blood no but in here," she pointed to her daughter's chest, "he is. He loves you with all his heart. And come here..." Sarah pulled daughter to the big vanity mirror by the living room. "Do you see that eyes of yours, who do you think they look like?"

"Yours," answered the kid in a small voice. "And my lips looks like yours too!"

Sarah smiled, "And this too," she pointed to the dimpled cheek of her daughter, "Remember it doesn't mean that our skin are different we are not the same. Because what's in here matters the most. Your heart that speaks kindness matters most."

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Creepymeow
1 year ago

Comments

What a nice analogy for accentuating similarities, blood is not a hindrance to know that, that certain someone is your family. In your heart, you'll know that person feels like home.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww thank you for stopping by po ❤️❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago