Pets

4 25
Avatar for Creepymeow
1 year ago

Date: August 10, 2022

Prompt #10 of @JonicaBradley : Pets

PETS

“Come,” whispered a voice in my head. I know what would happen next, my body would move of its own accord and I would lose a day or two. I have vague recognitions of what happens to me every time this incident occurs yet my brain wouldn’t process it completely. Perhaps, I couldn’t let myself believe what was happening to me. The horrors in the snippets my brain let me see were more than what flesh and blood could stand.

The shrink that I was seeing told me it was probably caused by childhood trauma. She gave me prescriptions that didn’t help at all. Though I kept taking them for the sake of a placebo. But it was only messing with my sanity; sometimes I couldn’t even distinguish dream from reality anymore. There was an emptiness in my heart that I wanted to be filled that somehow, I was longing for the voice to take me away.

“Where?” I whispered before I blacked out.

“Carrie wake up,” I hear a familiar voice pulling me out of my trance. “What happened to you?”

“What do you mean?” I asked and I was only paid with a curious look. I looked down at myself. I was showering in blood. “Oh my god,” I shrieked dropping to my knees.

“Do you know whose blood is that?” my coworker asked, her hands palming the inside of her pocket.

“No. What are you doing?” I started to close the distance between us.

“Nothing.” She held her hands high.

“Who are you calling?” I grabbed her by the collar.

“No one. I swear. No one.”

“Liar!” I pushed her to the wall. “You’re calling the police on me? Huh?”

“Don’t. No. Please.” Her small figure started trembling uncontrollably. “You were missing from work for two weeks. We have been contacting you. I even went to your apartment yesterday but you’re not there! Now I see you walking on the streets drenched in blood. I’m concerned Carrie!”

I bit my tongue. It was the longest I have been gone. “I was. I was doing something important,” I said, wiping my hands on the back of my pants.

“Carrie, you. No. We need to go to the police. Stop acting…”

“Stop acting like what?” I cut her off. “Like what?” I demanded screaming. I looked around for people but there were none. No one usually comes to this part of the road at night. My coworker wouldn’t answer me. “You think I’m crazy?”

“Carrie, please…Is this about Ryan? He’s gone for almost two years. You got to let him go. Carrie please.”

I furrowed my brows, the name held emotions I couldn’t explain yet it also hold no weight. “Who the hell are you talking about?”

“Ryan your fiancée? He died in a car crash on the way to your wedding, you don’t remember?”

I stepped away from my coworker. That was impossible, I knew I would never forget such a crucial fact in my life. “I would know if that kind of thing happened but—” I paused for a second. “No. You’re just making things up.”

“Ryan is real Carrie!” she shouted exasperated. “Okay. You don’t remember Ryan like whose blood is in your shirt? We need to go to the police or a doctor. You’re not fine!”

“No. No. We won’t.” I paced. Panicking. Thinking. What she was rambling about couldn’t possibly be true, right? “I am not crazy!” I picked a rock from the ground.

“That’s it, finish her.”

I turned to the source of the voice. A man was standing beside me but there was something different with him. He was smiling from ear to ear as if enjoying the show before him.

“Who are you?” I asked.

The man raised his brows, “Well, I am your master.”

“No. I don’t know—” The man pointed a finger to my forehead then memories of events I haven’t seen before flashed before my eyes.

I was on a bridge near the café I used to go to. There was something in my hand, a picture of a man I don’t recognize…it was Ryan my fiancée.

I crumpled to the ground remembering the pain of losing him. I was supposed to end my life that day when a man approached me.

“I could take away your pain,” he said extending a hand in my direction. 

“You could?”

“Yes. So you want me to help you?”

I wiped the tears from my face. “Yes. But what do you gain from helping me?”

“You will be my pet. A slave to my liking,” he answered in a proud voice.

I wasn’t thinking. The only thing in my mind was to ease the pain in my heart. “Take it away. Take the pain away.”

The man nodded putting a finger on my forehead.

“Now. Do you want the pain to torment your soul?” asked the man looking down at me.

“No.”

“Then finish her.”

I sniffled my cry. I took the rock and walked to my coworker. “Let’s make it easy,” I said. I would not live my life with the pain in my heart.

Okay this is kinda weird but my mind won't settle for ordinary. Thank for reading tho.

3
$ 0.99
$ 0.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
Avatar for Creepymeow
1 year ago

Comments

Oh sh!t, this is a maaterpiece hoyyyy. Love the master and pet thingy. Ang galing mo talaga sa ganito huehus

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uyyy wag Ganyan masyadong natutuwa Ang munti Kong harthart

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dito ka nakuha topic sis?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Like the connection of the story to the topic? Ahahhaha... Pets Kasi topic e..... So parang kinonek ko sya into slavery... Like pets do whatever they master tell them right? So sa story is Carrie made a deal with the devil... To erase her memory she would do every bidding the devil wants

$ 0.00
1 year ago