Meet the artists TIDBYTS

13 78

Another day and another meet the artist this came around all thanks to DBORJS PenArts . This is a father and son team who are making these cute ducks so before I say anything else lets meet the artist

Alright

Hey!

How's things ?

Good very busy but good . How are you?

Cant complain do anything exciting today .

Unfortunately no, work as usual then time with the kids after

Of course can I ask what you do for a living ?

yeah sure I'm a doctor by day... NFT creator by night...

Wow to different worlds

Yeah very different but I find they kind of balance out

where in America you from ?

Currently in Pittsburgh PA . where bout's in Ireland are you?

Dublin at this second I am looking out into the Irish sea in work . That where you originally from ?

From all over, most of my life in Texas, then Chicago for medical training then here

So how did you discover NFT's ?

I first got into NFTs through Alien Worlds, that's when I thought it might be cool to start creating our own NFTs. But my son and I had been drawing together for the past year, basic sketches and stuff, kind of a way to bond through COVID. So we'd been formulating ideas for a while before we actually started making NFTs!

And why did you choose WAX blockchain ?

In the beginning we used WAX because it was so easy and intuitive to use. But now we're 100% devoted to WAX because of the amazing community. And the environmental sustainability is a huge plus as well.

And how did you come up with the project ?

Our original project was inspired by some animal sketches that my son and I did. When I started getting into Alien Worlds, we thought it might be fun (and funny) to imagine a colony of Ducks trying to survive on a planet without water. So we came up with the DuckDuckMoos line of NFT cards, basically a narrative NFT to tell the story of this crazy colony of ducks...

Everyone loves ducks so you where onto a winner

Haha thanks, we just wanted to have fun with it and make a few people chuckle But we're sticking with the duck theme and running with it! can't turn away from the ducks now...

So is this a father and son project still ?

Yeah, I do most of the art, but my son helps with sketches and ideas for new cards (the Drunk Duck card was his idea). And our new project was basically his idea as well, so I guess he's the creative mind behind it? ha

Hope it 50/50 in the earnings lol

Haha! yeah, I factor it into his allowance money... hah

Hope not a wax rates at the moment

Seriously, right? kind of gloomy out there right now...

Stop I have a lot of crypto and I have stopped checking

I know... sorry... hopefully all that red will turn green really soon... you have kids yourself?

2 kids girl and a boy 4 year old and 7 month old how old your son .

That's awesome my 2 are 4 and 8 (son)

Oh cool I hope your teaching him about blockchain when yous are creating

Yeah, trying my best! kids these days are so good with tech anyway, never thought he'd already know about NFTs and crypto and blockchain at this age... but its the future, so really glad he's interested in it . It's a tough time to have young kids though hopefully you all are doing ok with everything!

We are making the best of it plus lots of outdoor walking ! Has making NFT's helped you deal with the stress of Covid?

Yeah definitely, that's one of the main reasons I've kept up with it, to help decompress, take my mind off of work and Covid etc. uses a more creative side so it's been a great stress relief. and connecting with my son on something so creative has been awesome, and a joy in and of itself . Fun to escape into a world of ducks, no real consequences there, ha. but also really cool to see what other people are creating, made a number of great friends so far through NFT's! People from all over the world @davborja0918 you recently interviewed for example, what a great guy, so amazingly talented!

Of course and he mention you as a great artist

Haha I think he's much better! but so many people doing great things, it's been really fun to see

I am like you NFT world is a great place to decompress plus there is so many different NFT's out there I love to discover new ones and the artist . How do you create your NFT's ?

My son and I brainstorm ideas first, and come up with backstories. then I hand draw the ducks and the different elements, ink on paper, then put it all together in photoshop for the DuckDuckMoos cards. We have a new project coming out, kind of a spin off of this whole 1 of 1 avatar movement that's going on, but basically the same process

Oh and will it be based on DuckDuckMoos as well ?

It's based on ducks, but not exactly the same. It's called the Duck Butt Collective (I know, his idea!), instead of 1 of 1 avatars of faces like BAYC and GutterCats etc, it's 365 1 of 1 avatars of duck butts. literally. thought it would be a funny take on the whole thing! really just to make people laugh, and have fun. And give back to the community, we're giving 25% of any sales to charity, and additional 25% to a fund for new NFT artists to help them get started, cover fees, etc...

That's brilliant . Is there any chance we could have a sneak peak of one ?

Absolutely!

literally, duck butts! cheeky

Butt puns lol Ha ha they will be a hit and they are dropping 2nd of July ?

Yeah! July 2, but we're doing it a little differently. we're sticking to WAX 100%, and we're doing it via auction on AtomicHub. One Duck Butt for auction every day M-F. If people are going to spend their money, want to make sure they know what they're getting. If they love it, feel free to bid! If not, no worries!

Of course and how different butts will be up for auction ?

Yeah, every single one is different (we randomly generated them based on a number of traits), and every single Duck Butt is guaranteed to have one completely unique trait. so hopefully people will connect with them, and have fun

How long did they take to create ?

Quite a while! since they're not programmatically generated like BAYC and others, we've been making them each by hand. Which is how we like to do it, it's a kind of therapy, you know? and nice father/son bonding

How many programs does it take to create one ?

Honestly, we just use excel and a random number generator, and then I hand draw and use Photoshop to make the cards! nothing too complicated, neither of us know programming per se so it's the old fashioned way... slow, but detail oriented...

That's the first time I heard someone using excel in NFT's do yous have a favourite ?

A favourite of the Duck Butt cards or one of our Ducks, or a favourite NFT in general from another creator?

Well either duck butt card or your duckduckmoos cards ?

Yeah! well so far my son's favourite Duck Butt is the one above (guitar with rainbow swirl), of the DuckDuckMoos I'm particularly fond of our Duck Miner Ultra blend duck on NeftyBlocks, thought it would be cool to blend the three variants of Duck Miner into a super Duck Miner Ultra card. Had to teach myself After Effects to animate it, but I think it was worth it! We also made a special 1 of 1 3D holo-Duck, now that took a WHILE to make... ha

They are amazing cards for someone with no programming back ground

Whoa that's animating weird ha thanks . Really fun to do, good stress relief!

I bet plus it time spent with your son. Have you always been artistic ?

Kind of, it's always been my way to decompress. I dabbled in comics in college for the school paper, did some art editing (that's how I learned Photoshop). I grew up trying to copy the old marvel and DC comics. batman, daredevil, Spider-Man etc.

How about creating a NFT comic ?

Yeah! that's a great idea. honestly I'm pretty slow though, ha, probably why I never went into art full time! I think I'm too type A about my sketches, keep redrawing and editing...

But think of it have a new Collab each week ?

Yeah that's really cool (you should run with it! do some Collab's with the artists you interview!) just sayin...

I wish I had the art skills but I don't that's why I do this to get artist noticed or to bring new collectors there way . How do you feel about Collab's ?

I love Collab's, have done a couple so far. I think it's really what NFTs are all about, connecting artists and creators, people who love the art and building each other up. all about the NFT community, about giving back to each other through your own awesome skill set

Is there an artist you would love to work with that you haven't yet ?

Yeah! lots of great artists out there. love raccoon brand (keeping with the animal theme) and Mr. Twerky (keeping with the animal butt theme, ha)

Of course animals and butts lol ! Do you collect NFT's yourself ?

Oh yeah, definitely. I love @ArtistByron and his zombie NFTs, and of course @davborja0918 I think I have all of his cards. and BitDragons! they are fun

Must look up BitDragons . Does your son collect any ?

Not yet, but @ArtistByron does some Collab's with his kids, so my son has been following some of their stuff, really cool and definitely look up BitDragons, they could be great to chat with .

Will do and would you believe byron was one of the first ever interviews I did ?

that's awesome!!!

Do you think after duck butts there will be something brand new or have you thought that far ahead yet ?

Haven't thought that far ahead yet... if this run of Duck Butts is successful, we may do a second run. or we may just move on from there, you know, keep moving. if my son comes up with a good idea, we'll probably go with that!

Of course . But you can see a future here for yourself and your son creating NFT's?

Yeah, definitely. I think it's something we'll keep working on together, and hopefully when he gets older and more experienced he'll branch out and start his own collections

Can you see yourselves branching your NFT's to other markets ?

Hopefully. we're sticking with WAX, but there are so many opportunities within WAX. So many dApps, and potential partnerships. always open to new opportunities! I probably have to get going soon fyi, early shift in AM

No probs only a few more questions

sounds good!

Tell us something random about yourself ?

haha I know all the words to Gangster's Paradise, which really embarrasses my son Gangsta's Paradise I guess technically

Ha ha . What can we find you doing for fun when you arn't working on NFT's or in work ?

Mainly playing with the kids, going to parks, we love to find new places for ice cream around here

Any chance of a small drop or competition for the readers

Definitely! if you send me your wax I can send you some promo stickers, maybe a couple of DuckDuckMoos cards

Brilliant IL forward that after we finish .

Where can we keep up to date with your latest news

I'm mainly on twitter. Also on TG and Discord. For more detailed information, our website has all the info along with all of our cards, and info on the Duck Butt Collective launch https://www.tidbyts.com/the-duck-butt-collective

https://twitter.com/tidbyts?s=09

Where to find you on Atomichub ?

https://wax.atomichub.io/market?collection_name=tidbytsnfts1&order=desc&sort=created&symbol=WAX&s=09

Brilliant so 2nd July is butt day and they will auction only what is the starting price?

We're planning on starting the auction at an easy, hopefully low entry point. Likely $1 and see where it goes from there!

So everyone can get involved before I let you go is there anything else you would like to tell the readers ?

yeah want everyone to have a chance and feel comfortable bidding. no, nothing else! I really appreciate you taking the time, and love that you're trying to introduce people to more NFT artists!

Thank you for your time

My pleasure!

Don't forget there new collection auction starts 2nd of July

So I have 3 NFT's to give away and 5 sticker NFT's to give away I am going to do 2 competitions one on here and one on Twitter so on here 2 people will win a NFT and three people will win a sticker and on Twitter 1 person will win 1 NFT and 2 others will win 2 stickers . Leave your WAX accounts in comments .

Link to twitter competition

https://twitter.com/Crackers832/status/1407886886463586304?s=19

13
$ 26.32
$ 25.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @D.B.Cooper
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
+ 4
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

Love the father and son duo creating duck butts! Thanks for the interview Crackers. My wax address: k1hay.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Duck Butts 365 is a great idea! I like that they're a father son team too . The idea of giving a percentage of the proceeds to charity & teaching others is awesome. WAX address : dnfqw.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Often your articles are the best part of my morning thanks rx2r4.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers bud

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice one ! I will definitely be bidding for a duck butt ! chgay.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So will i

$ 0.00
2 years ago

up.aw.wam May the Gods of Random be in my favour

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You always have luck for some reason

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nice Meet The artist Sticker, hahaha Love it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He designed them

$ 0.00
2 years ago