Meet the Artists behind Baddingtons

7 122

I recently had the pleasure of chatting to the creators Baddingtons this is a brilliant little part time project and I think everyone should check out there work as its quite fun but lets see what the creators had to say .

Hey

Baddy Little Helper Dani is getting in here now

Badd Mama I’m here!

Hey guys how you doing this evening ?

Badd Mama We’re doing great! Thanks how are you?

I am good on the graveyard shift but could be worse ?

Could always be worse!

Is this a full time project yourselves or a love child ?

Baddy Little Helper Its our love child! our little baby

Badd Mama It’s our baby. We work 9-5 selling insurance and we spend the rest of our days taking care of our IRL baby .

Baddy Little Helper Honestly we don't make a profit with Baddingtons, it was purely a venture of creativity

Badd Mama I draw the Baddingtons throughout each day, adding traits and details little by little. I essentially spend an entire month drawing each one with what ever free time I have

Brilliant so start at the start where you guys involved in crypto before you started your project ?

Badd Mama Not me! Zach?, I was really just trying to draw. I didn’t plan on getting a Twitter or anything but Zach convinced me to. Now I’m pretty involved in the NFT community and I love it.

Baddy Little Helper I bought some cryptokitties back in 2017 but misunderstood the concept so I didn't come back into the crypto/NFT space until February of this year. I heard about Alien Worlds, got a shovel, and dug deep down the NFT rabbit hole

Ah it was the game aspect that brought you back . When did you decide to create your own project ?

Badd Mama I think it was around March or April, but I had just given birth to our son so it’s all a blur to me. I can find out when we made our genesis piece, 1 sec . So yea it looks like we started at the beginning of April

Awh so you guys are a couple in real life?

Badd Mama Yes! Married three years as of next Thursday

Baddy Little Helper Your anniversary present is coming in the mail I promise!

That's brilliant I dragged my girlfriend into the wax world as well !

Baddy Little Helper10/24/2021What got me to encourage Danielle to mint her Baddington was Cryptomonkeys. I got an airdrop from mining on their Alien Worlds land and thought her Baddington could become its own collection.

Cool so was baddington already being created at this time ?

Badd Mama Kind of . I drew a parody piece approximately 7 years ago for my sister as a gift. It resurfaced and Zach thought it was brilliant and encouraged me to start my own line of them haha . As time went on I started taking movie themes and reenacting this imagery with Baddingtons in the place of the lead actors.

Ah nice so was WAX blockchain also going to be the market for you ?

Badd Mama It was Zach’s idea to put them on the wax blockchain for a few reasons. Zach- why did you choose the wax blockchain?

Baddy Little Helper I decided to go with WAX for two main reasons, its cheap to mint assets and the play to earn audience is there. We have an end goal of producing a simple game for the Baddingtons collection so it seemed like a natural fit!

Of course so baddington is the main character will there be more characters add or will it just be him and his adventures ?

Badd Mama We consider Baddington to be it's own species, it's not just one guy. We brainstormed for a while how they all fit together in the same reality. Essentially they're an entire species from Planet Baddy . The direction we decided to go with is that the citizens of Planet Baddy use Planet Earth's culture to base their own society on. Hence the film culture playing a role in their personas.

Ah I can understand they are just trying to fit into are culture . How many have been created so far ?

Badd Mama I believe I am currently working on my 13th one! We release one per month, but occasionally will release a holiday special. Ah so you don't put yourself under pressure that's smart .

Baddy Little Helper We plan on releasing 1 Baddington per month, as well as a limited edition Baddington for some holidays . Yes there will be!

Badd Mama There will be a Halloween one, and I am EXTRA excited about it.

Any sneak peaks ?

Baddy Little Helper Danielle has been doing really good work with her art and started animating them. My job is to put all the animations together now and I am still sorting that out . I can definitely send a lil sneaky peaky .

Oh please when do you hope to drop him?

Badd Mama I'm thinking October 29th .

And the finished NFT is up now

https://neftyblocks.com/c/baddingtons1/marketplace/39974848

Baddy Little Helper And then Novembers Baddington right after!

Badd Mama Putting me to work! I love doing this.

Baddy Little Helper When we first started, we were working from home full time so we were able to get a lot done but now the baby is getting big and we are back at work full time, I don't want to push Danielle too much. It takes the joy out of it and that defeats the purpose of doing it out of love

Badd Mama As time goes on I am growing more and more attached to this project, and I get a lot of joy out of it . Especially knowing that we have a few really cool fans out there! (that we know of, so far )

Its great when you say you are attached to your project so many money making project with no love involved in it and sometimes a lil love goes along way so you have 13 created what was the first one you dropped ?

Badd Mama So it's a bit complicated because we had to change our name for copyright reasons. So the first "Baddington" that we dropped was Don Baddington . The art that started this whole thing though was called Paddingtons Revenge. Drawn approximately 7 years ago

Oh wow was he hand drawn

Badd Mama I drew him on my iPad when I first downloaded procreate .

Ah so he was the start of the journey did he get much love from the community?

Badd Mama He got enough love that we felt like we could continue the project! It seems to bring quite a few people a lot of joy. I'm very sentimental. If one person told me they loved my work, I'd keep going just for that one person. Back before we started Baddingtons I did a little bit of trace work. But when we started Baddingtons I noticed how much nicer everything comes out when each one is drawn individually. Each characteristic is unique.

Do you have a favorite ?

Badd Mama Definitely . I made a meme out of it for you! Have you ever seen those memes that are like "How it started VS how it's going"?

Badd Mama Just as a way to show my progress with this project

Of course clean to leaving las Vegas .

Badd Mama This one is definitely my favorite. It wasn't the FIRST one I noticed my work improving, I really think I took a big jump when I did The Shining one. But the Fear and Loathing one really spoke to me haha

Ha ha ha how long do you spend creating an NFT ?

Badd Mama Basically an entire month . The Baddingtons take me the whole month - I work on it whenever the baby is napping or if my work shift is slow. Sometimes the 25th of the month hits and I have to cram . I do side work too on the Ethereum blockchain but I spend the majority of my time working on the Baddingtons. They bring us a lot of joy and I know they do the same for others .

Baddy Little Helper It takes me about an hour to put together what she sends me and then another hour to get it all set up on WAX and ready for the drop. But WAX has decreased the file size limit and Danielle has increased the image quality so I've been having trouble finding that middle ground .

Badd Mama Omg yeah, I quadrupled the image quality.

If it brings you joy that's the best part is it just procreate you use or is there other program ?

Badd Mama I just use procreate. I have tried other programs and can't get the hang of it. But I keep trying.

I think file size is something the blockchain needs to work on .

Baddy Little Helper I use Photomash to compile all the layers and add effects but my next step is Photoshop. I actually have to learn that this week to complete the drop for Halloween!

Oh god putting yourself under pressure there !!!

Badd Mama Hey, at least we don't pretend to have an experienced team that knows everything about everything but it's true we do put ourselves under a lot of pressure sometimes haha . We're like the mom & pop shop of NFT's

Baddy Little Helper Yep, that's what I get for procrastinating!

Lol I think some of the best work in Wax comes from mom &pop shops

Badd Mama I'm so new at this but I can't wait to see what others like us have created because I totally agree.

Have you done any collabs yet ?

Badd Mama No but if the opportunity struck I would take it in a second!

Baddy Little Helper No collabs BUT we did get our first fan art! We plan on releasing that as something special soon. Its sort of like a collab!

Who would be your dream collab in the wax world or what character you think would sit well with yours ?

Badd Mama It's hard to gauge because Baddington is such an individual concept. I haven't put much thought into it to be honest!

Baddy Little Helper Thats a good question!

Badd Mama Agreed .

Baddy Little Helper I would love to do an official collabs with a few people but it would take some thought to make it work. SuperSkunk creates trippy scenic pieces, maybe we can convince him to make a landscape for Planet Baddy! I think a collaboration between us and the wonderful Mr. Bear would be nice. Us Bears tend to stick together!

Badd Mama I was thinking Super Skunk too! And yes to Mr. Bear! I agree with both ideas.

Those two guys are good friends of mine chat to them all the time have you reached out to them at all .

Badd Mama Super Skunk is our pal! He's a great support in the community. Mr. Bear I spoke with briefly, I appreciate him being REAL, that goes a long way.

So I am guessing you guys are collectors do you have the same taste or do you both collect different artists ?

Badd Mama We collect from different collections for sure! We have very different taste haha .

Baddy Little Helper If you collect what you like, you'll never get "stuck with a bag" as they say. On the other hand, it's tough letting things go when you collect them because you like them . I tend to gravitate towards "stoner" collections and environmentally conscious collections as well as solo creators or couple creators .

What's the biggest collection in your wallets ?

Badd Mama The only items I’ve personally collected are on the Ethereum blockchain, to be honest!

Oh really

Badd Mama Yes! I’m currently really involved in the Space Poggers community on the Ethereum blockchain .

Cool so will your project spread there ?

Badd Mama Baddingtons? No. We’re keeping it to wax

Baddy Little Helper I'm the one with the collection on WAX The biggest collection in my wallet is The Uplift World. I bought a few of their upliftium mining packs and faired out pretty well! Yes, Baddingtons is going to remain a WAX only collection. We really want to support this blockchain because of its eco-friendliness

What's the biggest lesson you have learnt from doing this project ?

Badd Mama That’s a really good question . I think I learned a lot about myself and how much I can accomplish. How much joy I can bring to people with my ridiculous sense of humor that I express through my work.

Baddy Little Helper Agh good question.. I think for me, it would be community and how a project/collection can impact our spaces culture. For me, Kenn Bosak and Uplift World, Alien Worlds and RPlanet are synonymous with WAX and they help define the boundaries and aspirations of the blockchain.

Do you every disagree about designs or concepts ?

Badd Mama Yes definitely . But lately we’ve been on the same page about the outcomes

Baddy Little Helper Yep we have learned to work together and compromise on things but lately we have been in the zone.

Tell us something random about yourselves ?

Badd Mama I used to have 10 piercings .

Baddy Little Helper I used to play hockey at a very competitive level and grew up playing with a few who have since gone to play in the NHL!

Oh nice what you guys do to unwind ?

Badd Mama Art and wine

Baddy Little Helper oh man the only thing that actually gets me to unwind is a bath LOL .

Ha ha ha love it

Baddy Little Helper Yea, I'm essentially a big man baby love my comfort zone.

Arn't we all lol. Where can the community keep up to date with the project ?

Baddy Little Helper10/25/2021www.Baddingtons.com

I try to update the site once a week and add a link to a free Baddington once every few days. But I am supposed to do it every day

https://twitter.com/BaddingtonsN?t=GK_u_0XsahIGaTdRjXRo0A&s=09

https://discord.gg/c4dUHh9qYt

Ha ha ha the up keep .

Can we have a link to where we can buy your NFTs ?

Baddy Little Helper AtomicHub is always a good choice but we have been using our NeftyBlocks link:

https://neftyblocks.com/c/baddingtons1

Baddy Little Helper NeftyBlocks recently added their own marketplace and are offering bonus $NEFTY for collectors and creators. I like their site, they have made a lot of things easier for creators like packs and blending

Yea Nefty really trying to push the market I love it so what date is the new drop?

Baddy Little Helper The Halloween drop will be this Friday, the 29th. and then Novembers drop will be on Monday! Oh man I really need to get to work on it . We plan to release a new Baddington the first Monday of every month. The drop is active for the entire month and then done!

Any chance of a competition or a drop for the readers ?

I would love that! I bet Danielle could come up with something special for us . we will give away Mint #2 legendary pope baddington .

To enter check here

https://twitter.com/Crackers832/status/1455308564755591174?t=DqsPsvjGjAjH0zsyPDVBig&s=09

Brilliant . Before we finish up its been a pleasure to finally chat is there anything more you would like to say or add for the readers ?

Badd Mama I just want to thank those who have supported our project, whether from the start or recently. We don’t do this for profit its really mostly about the art and it brings me so much joy to know people enjoy this. Stay Badd. Thanks for taking the time to interview us

Baddy Little Helper Yep I couldn't have said it better myself .

So guys check out there nfts and don't to give them a follow .


20
$ 10.79
$ 9.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
+ 10
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

Ahhhh this is one of my friends child to watch. So cute

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here is where we fight for the tv remote control. My kids can stay glued to watch this for hours without food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are too cute 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cute Paddington! My daughter loves this paddington more than me. She loves everything about paddington.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My child's favourite episode of Mr. Paddington at Nick Jr.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe such a cutey bear!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ha ha ha there is some cutie ones and some not so cutie ones lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago