Meet the Artist Ultra Rare John

34 115

As I push this series on I am getting to meet more and more great artist and this guy is one of them

Name ?

Ultra Rare John

Where you from ?

UK

What is your twitter account ?

@ultrarareuk

https://twitter.com/UltraRareUK?s=09

Do you have your own telegram channel is so can you drop your link ?

https://t.me/The_Horrors

So is this your full time job if not what is?

I was a professional writer before this, but now I'm a full-time NFT artist/project designer.

So you where a professional writer would we know any of your books ?

Most of my work has been for TV here in the UK, so unless you're based here, probably not!

Ireland man so might of seen it .

I've written for things like EastEnders etc.

Thats cool I dont watch soaps but still I think that really interesting your a writer.

What made you get into NFT design in the first place?

It had been something I'd talked about with my partner, Richie, for many years – the idea of digital collectibles. When Atomic released the NFT creator, we knew it was time to put that talk into action. So we leapt in!

Do you have any crypto currency? If so, what?

I came into the space as a collector and not a crypto guy. But as of now, wax is my platform and crypto of choice. I love the ethos behind the platform. Open and accessible to all. It's an ethos I'd like to think Ultra Rare as its heart too.

Have you always been artistic?

Always. From a very young age. I trained as an animator/illustrator many years ago, before becoming a writer. But it feels good to return to my graphic design roots.

How long have you been designing NFT?

6 months.

Why do you design NFTs the way you do?

I'm a fan of boldness and simplicity and I think our work illustrates that. I also love building on what's gone before, I think that really appeals to collectors, who understand the references and can see the project developing and growing.

Why horror?

I'm a massive horror fan – especially classic eighties movies like The Thing and Nightmare on Elm Street. I'm also a collector. Whether it's GPK or Super Nintendo games. My main inspiration came from one such collection: Horror Top Trumps. You might not remember them. You probably don't. They were quite weird and very British. A bit like me. But they're a card series that have always stuck in my psyche, from the moment I held that Venusian Death Cell in the school playground. I knew I was looking at something I shouldn't be. There was something unsettling about the cards, something just... off. And I loved it. And that was what I wanted to capture with The Horrors. A sense that something's not quite right. Something else is going on. I'd like to think we did that.

What's your favorite NFT you have designed? Can I have a pic of it?

Gashadokuro is still my boy !

Who is your favourite NFT designer? Why?

There's a lot to choose from right now! I'm a big fan of Puma's stuff (Luminaya Crypto Cards). He has a knack of making whatever he does feel special. He's also a very cool guy who we're lucky to be working with at the moment. I'm also a big fan of Blacksea – his stuff's super slick. We might also be working with him at the moment too, who knows. I have to give a shout out to Skiall and my boy Anders, from Any Observation. His NFT skills are developing all the time!

Outside of the space, our main artist Macauley Etherington is incredible. He takes it up a notch every time and keeps blowing me away. It's a privilege to work with him on a day-to-say basis.

Are your nfts listed on token head ?

Yes

Have you done Collab ?

Lots! We've already worked with a whole host of projects across the space, such as Splinterlands and Alien Worlds. And we have some cool stuff lined up for the future. I'm very open to working with other projects – from big games with thousands of players to newer, up and coming artists trying to find their feet in the space. Collaborating has been one of the most enjoyable aspects of all this for me.

And who would you like to Collab with?

I'm open to most things, but if I had to pick one, it would be KOGS. I think a Horrors/KOGS mini-set would be awesome. I think people would love that.

What your favorite software for designing NFT ?

I use Adobe Photoshop and Premiere, and a little bit of After Effects.

What advice do you have for people trying to get into NFT ?

I think having something unique to say is important. Doing something we haven't seen before. I'd also advise people to think about community – building it, being a part of it. It's a lot of work – a hell of a lot – but it's worth it. And there's nowhere else I'd rather be right now.

Any new projects you can hint about coming up ?

Well we have Alien Horrors coming in April, and Horrors series 2 beyond that. We also have lots more things in the pipeline 😀

What you do for fun ?

I like to spend time with my friends, play video games, watch movies – usual stuff. I have a lot less free time than I used to !

I know the feeling free time is hard to come by lol

Where can we find your cards for sale?

https://wax.atomichub.io/market?collection_name=ultrahorrors&order=desc&sort=created&symbol=WAX

So any chance of a small airdrop for people reading this?

Sure You can let me know and I'll my partner to send some stuff across.

we will sort something out

Just 2 question left for you is there else people can keep up todate with your and finally this is for an article that will be be put on read.cash do you use it?

Never used it.

Right guys show the ultra rare john some love join up there telegram and follow them on twitter and get some of there NFT's on Atomic Hub

If you enjoyed the article give it an upvote or even give us a follow

19
$ 7.62
$ 7.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @eommaZel
+ 6
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

Cheers, and keep up the good work.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks so much keep an eye il be dropping an a meet the artist tonight

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello, again, Crackers. As you may have noticed, I've been following your posts, but for some reason, I didn't subscribe yet. Now that problem is solved. Glad to be aboard. Finally, it's a great thing you're doing spotlighting all of these creators since their work is many times inglorious and they definitely deserve all the limelight they can get. Cheers, and keep up the good work.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the sponsorship

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks so much if you know an artist who you think I should talk you can always suggest it to and thanks for followw

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure, will do, I can try to get in contact with the creative behind Splinterlands as I'm friends with the founder. No worries for the sponsorship, it's a honor to have a link in your profile. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would love that serously are you on telegram or twitter

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm on Discord #Rukka7589

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its not letting me add you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tell me yours.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Crackers83

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You need to tell me the #namenumber it's at the bottom left. #Rukka7589 is mine.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

8274

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No pprobs il add you when i get home

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think i have a few of his.. It's nice to read their stories coz they are like the big celebs in NFT.. so Anders is also an artist.. I learned how to mint through him on YouTube.

uhmqy.wam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice interview and love collecting Ultra Horror cards! Eagerly waiting for next drop! y2k3.wam

$ 0.00
User's avatar Way
3 years ago

Wow.. All the NFTs are cool.. I like this theme and style.. Hope i can get one

.axr.wam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sent

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Love his works, I'm a horror fan too. And I find his designs very stunning! I don't have any collections yet, would love to have even one. 😍 13tr.wam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sent

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, thank you. ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice little article. First time I heard of ultrarare was when I got the dygycon T-shirt, nice to learn more about them.

rwpqy.wam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Love the horror theme!

In case:

1ntr.wam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

His works look like in a comics, cool. Good thing I am not so scared with horror images anymore 😁

4ibr2.wam

Just in case 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, please, please, please! Ultra Rare does my favorite collections! kcfqw.wam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yey! Giveaway! Up.aw.wam 🎁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Waiting on the drop

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ultra Rare has mad talent!! Funny I would have thought he was a comic book artist prior to nft's! Super cool stuff! Really love the Cryptid series as well! ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Some of his work is amazing alright

$ 0.00
3 years ago