Meet the Artist thederpycats

37 107

Right so I have been bugging this artist for an interview since last week and they finally caved and we had a chat so lets get into this .

Name ?

You can call me Derpy, Derps or anything along those lines...

Where you from ?

I'm from a small place somewhere in Europe

Small place in europe lol

Gives me a lot of timezone headaches πŸ˜… I try to keep a low profile online so I don't usually say more than that. You don't have to mention it if it doesn't fit your article .

Sorry had to put it in .

What your twitter acount as I will link in the article ?

@thederpycats

https://twitter.com/thederpycats?s=09

Give them a follow .

Do you have your own telegram channel is so can you drop your link ?

Telegram I don't use much, I don't have a channel yet but my contact is @thederpycats, too. I also have a website, I don't update it as often as I should though (https://thederpycats.wixsite.com/nfts).

Hit up their website !!!!!

So is this your full time job if not what is?

This is not my full time job, I'm actually still a student. My background is in computer sciences, engineering and information management.

What made you get into NFT design?

While I was chatting in some crypto Discord channel, I saw a link about making NFTs shared. Upon further investigation I decided that I want to try it out.

Do you have any cryptocurrency?

Yes, I have a bunch of bits and bobs. I love WAX the most, though, and probably Banano would be my second. I don't have too much Banano but I love the monkey culture.

Love banano myself only i interviewed soggyapplepie last week

Yeah, I checked it out! I really like her style, very clean and always with great jokes.

So glad you gave it a read πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

Have you always been artistic?

I would say yes. I love expressing my creativity in a lot of different ways. I have some classical music education but in the last couple of years I've focused a lot more on visual arts.

What was the first NFT you designed?

My first NFTs are the Derpy Cats. When I was first creating my collection, I had many different ideas on what it could be. Initially, I wanted to go with a travel photography-themed collection. However, I remembered that I have these cat faces which I drew and painted maybe four or five years ago and they were sitting among my art supplies under my bed. I decided that I will try with those and came up with this concept of having the cat faces on different backgrounds. The first one released was Toxic, which was the first one I drew as well. All the black cats in my collection are inspired by a cat my roommate used to have. The other ones are just my imagination.

How long have you been designing NFTs?

I'm quite new to the NFT space as a creator, my first NFTs were released in December 2020

Why do you design NFTs the way you do?

When I was originally creating the collection, I decided that all my NFTs will follow the same format. Circle with a colored outline, a background, and a cat face. I really want to keep this format and the collection looking clean and cohesive when you have multiple different NFTs side by side. Also, I decided that there will not be any more derpy cat faces, since I want to stick with only nine which I originally painted. The number nine for me symbolizes the nine cat lives.

Maybe that's my engineering background coming through, but I love to keep everything organized well. Even though I put these restrictions upon myself, it still gives me a lot of space to explore my creativity and come up with new and unique designs. When I'm working on new NFT designs, I'm usually thinking about situations the cat might have gotten themselves into and the emotions which this would evoke. I try to craft personalities for each cat and design the backgrounds around that.

I can talk a lot about the Derpy Cats as you can see πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Thats allowed 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

Whats your favourite nft you have designed ? Can i have a pic of it ?

It's hard to pick, but I must say that Toxic [Pattern] is very dear to me since it's the face of the collection. However, I have one NFT which I've designed a few weeks ago and I think it will be my favorite one once it's minted. It's called Foxy [Cherry Blossom] and it will be distributed in a very special way to our biggest fans. All I can say is, gather up your Derpy Cats!

Who is your favourite nft designer ? Why ?

I like the style of SoggyApplePie from cryptomonKeys, as I mentioned. This collection was the first one I had in my wallet. From the newer collections, I really enjoy Digital Ducks and the funky style of SillyPsyBen.

Silly is brillant guy love his work and Soggy well we know she is brillant

Yeah, I love his style. I would love to have a collaboration with him, it will be interesting to see what backgrounds he comes up with. Also, sometimes I drop free Derpy Cats in his Telegram group

Lets make it happen come silly i know you read this .

How many collections have you made?

So far I'm only working on The Derpy Cats collection.

What's your favorite software for designing NFTs?

I'm not well-versed in digital art software as art is not my primary occupation, but I'm learning more each day. I'm more inclined to working with traditional mediums such as acrylic paints or watercolor and I especially love mixing mediums. For creating my NFTs, I'm currently using free photo editing software GIMP and a few online tools. It's been serving me well so far.

Do you calab much and is there any calabs coming are way ?

I haven't done many collabs so far, but I'm very enthusiastic about them πŸ˜„πŸ˜„ . I love them because they bring a new and unique style to my collection. My only and biggest collab is with nine different artists doing the backgrounds for my cats. The NFTs are actually still on sale for a few more days after which all templates will be locked. On my Twitter, I also shared some insights about how each NFT came together.

If you want you can include the links: https://wax.atomichub.io/drops/6771+6772+6773+6774+6775

https://wax.atomichub.io/drops/6776+6777+6778+6779

Regarding my dream collab, I feel that I have managed to fulfill a few with this latest cat series. The biggest one for me was Tim from Kaleidoskop NFTs. I was ready for rejection when I approached him with the idea, but he turned out to be a great guy. He created one NFT with the Derpy Cats in his collection as well (https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/template/kaleidoscope/71196). I have to also mention PuftCreative who created this crazy Bat Mad animation with one of the cats, and it's probably my favorite collaboration NFT (https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/template/puftcreative/68363). One creator who I would really want to collab with is Hip-Hop Legends NFT (https://twitter.com/hiphoplegendNFT)

If you feel that my rambling is too much, feel free to adjust and remove some things

No I am glad you have so much to say 😴😴😴 joking

What advice do you have for people trying to get into nft ?

I think the best advice is to try and not get overwhelmed and keep your focus. As an NFT collector, my personal approach is to focus on a few collections which I really enjoy and invest my time and money there. You can never have ALL the NFTs. Unless you are a wizard, of course.

As an NFT designer, I also try to stay focused on my vision and not get sidetracked too much. If you are just starting out with your collection, my biggest advice is to engage with other creators, communicate and support them. Don't be afraid to reach out to people, almost everyone has been in your shoes and the NFT community is incredibly helpful and supportive so my advice is to use that.

So any chance of a small airdrop for people reading this ?

We can do a giveaway for your readers. How about this, 5 NFTs for commentors first five

We can do Toxic for the giveaway

Brillant going to call it fastest finger first !!!!!!

What hobbies do you have ?

Creating NFTs is my hobby actually and that's what I do for fun. πŸ˜‚ Also I love playing video games and I've picked up the recorder (musical instrument, so there is no confusion) during the pandemics.

I know what a recorder is lol .what video games you play

I've recently received Valheim as a gift and I love it!

Can i ask how you feel about bots taking the free drops should atomic hub be doing more to stop it and this is a pet pev for me ?

Well, I feel sad mostly... And angry, of course... I usually do free drops on holidays and special occasions as a thank you to my supporters. Also, it is a great way to introduce people to a collection. Because of this, it's super disappointing to see half of the drop gone in a second and on the market, because of bots. There should be some more restrictions on this, but not on the expense of user experience of real users.

I know thats one of the reasons i started this series of meet the artist is because I feel the artist arent well know and i feel like letting people read about them people get to know the artist a bit more i normal try drop a few nfts of artist to people who drop comments with wax address but i always push them to support them .

It's a great idea, I think. I love giving out free NFTs actually, but sometimes I restrain myself because I fear I will offend people who buy my stuff. πŸ˜‚ I try to manage it so that everyone feels they get some value from having NFTs from my collection.

Really want to thank Derpy for there time today and please guys show them some love and follow them on twitter buy their NFTs

Right guys if you enjoyed please give it an upvote or even give me a follow if you have a question for an artist or know an artist I should ask leave a comment down below.

15
$ 8.28
$ 7.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
+ 4
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

thank you bro for this article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great work πŸ‘Œ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh my! I lost the chance for the drop.. lol. But another great interview! Love it! Hey, I think I know someone whom you could do an interview. I'll ask him first.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yea no probs

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why I'm late so sad 🀧🀧.

His design is all cool.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh i love cats.. Esp the 4th one .axr.wam

Thank you 😊 Followed him already

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like this interview! I think he's a brilliant guy based on his answers. Also, he's student who took Engineering and other degree. I'm thinking how old is heπŸ˜†

I think I'm on first 5!

1ntr.wam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

4 th is yours yours

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks! Will check it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Check ur wallett

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just saw it! Love the cat😎

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Waiting for them to be sent

$ 0.00
3 years ago

finally something about those cat NFTs i've been seeing. love this series

.ytqy.wam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Check ur wallett

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorted happy too say il be dropping a cat to ur wallet

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will try for 6th one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks so much for the shoutout! Of course we are going to do a collab, I'm already working on it! haha <3

.zbb.wam if im not too late :p

$ 0.00
3 years ago

5 th is yours

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks man! Great job as always! ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Up.aw.wam 🎁 Thanks man

$ 0.00
3 years ago

3rd cat is urs

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Miaaau 🐈 😻

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Check ur wallet

$ 0.00
3 years ago

rwpqy.wam

I really like the personal side of these interviews a bit more than the artistic. It helps make people feel like they can connect with the artist.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Check ur wallett

$ 0.00
3 years ago

2nd one is yours

$ 0.00
3 years ago