Meet the artist Shnazzy

1 128

If you haven't seen the buzz over the last week about WAX Blockchain attracting artists from Opensea where have you been and this week alone I have been tagged in eight or nine posts about this artist so I had to check her out and her work speaks for itself .

So let me start by saying welcome !

Thank you! I can’t believe it has only been a week sense I was officially on boarded to WAX!

A week in WAX is a long time . How you doing today ?

I’m doing good! I’m still coming down from all of yesterday’s excitement. How are you today?

I am good busy . what happened yesterday ?

I released three different poster style NFTs on my first ever Nefty Blocks Drop and they all sold out within 10 minutes! It was absolutely wild. The secondary sales are still coming in.

Congrats . So you came from Brokensea to WAX how come ?

Thank you! And yes, last Thursday morning they announced a new limit on the total amount of NFTs you could put into a collection to 50 and a limitation to 5 collections per person. They did this because they were paying money to be able to host collections that weren’t moving, and they made this decision without notice. I had been sitting in on Bret Blackburg and Krypto Kumas WAX Wednesday spaces every week and remembered that they spoke very fondly of WAX’s ipfs system, so I decided to take the plunge into launching a new project I’ve been wanting to start onto WAX. Haha later that night AFTER I launched my Wax Genesis, OpenSea announced a decision reversal after serious backlash.

So are you operating on both ?

I haven’t posted anything since onto Opensea, and I am still trying to figure out the best plan of action to reward my collectors from Opensea. To my surprise, a lot of my early collectors made WAX accounts and have been involved in this new blockchain adventure with me.

That's brilliant to hear so how did you discover NFTs ?

It all started with stocks actually! Last January, I held a chunk of change in an ETF that included GME shares when GME saw their first ridiculous short squeeze. After looking into what happened, I realized that there were seriously malicious short sellers trying to bankrupt both the companies GameStop and AMC Movie theaters. I joined a lot of forums and chats that educated retail investors about what was happening and it started forming into the APE movement. I figured the best way to do my part to bring awareness to the manipulation of the stock exchange, was to make art of it. It started becoming a little viral and someone mentioned in a thread long ago, that I needed to put my art on the blockchain to mark the history of the revolution of retail traders, and that’s when I looked into NFTs.

What was the push that made you start creating ?

I am a stay at home mom, and my emotional outlet has always been painting. So when I stumbled into a community who valued art, I saw an opportunity to have my pieces seen and appreciated. Those two feelings are hard to come by when you’re at home with kiddos all day, lol, so it really felt like the perfect move forward.

So what your project about ?

This project on WAX is a culmination of posters that aid as a visual representation of a story I’m releasing a chapter at a time on my new discord! The original idea was to create the story as a comic, but I felt like posters are a better avenue for my art style!

Oh really that sound really cool . So since your only on wax a week I am guessing you haven't dropped many NFTs on here ?

Not yet! I have dropped 5 total different posters so far, but they are preforming really well! Not too many people have caught onto the story aspect yet, so I can’t wait to see how the community reacts as the collection grows and develops into something greater!

What was the first one ?

https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/template/shnazzysnfts/430944

Galactic Genesis!

Oh wow spacey lol and is this collection going to be different then your collection on Opensea

Absolutely! Haha I’m a huge fan of atompunk and fantasy and this story I’m telling hits it all! In a way, I feel like all of my past collections helped build up the skill I needed to do this particular collection really well.

So out of both of your collections what has been your favorite to create ?

https://opensea.io/assets/0x495f947276749ce646f68ac8c248420045cb7b5e/3450486162917826519292588882010580837867013028822945435935564184761197920257

This is my current favorite! I really am aiming for a new poster to take it’s place but I can shake how much I love this one just yet.

Can I ask why ?

The symbolism of the apes on the moon combined with the Easter eggs of the shorted stocks that were saved from bankruptcy really do it for me. It was so fun to create a visual world like this and it was the first time I ever attempted to. The resolution on Opensea is so poor, it doesn’t do the detail work in the background its justice. I truly felt at the time this piece was going to be a magnum opus, but I think that’s just the emotional attachment I have to what it represented to me at the time as an artist.

Here is what the details look like!

Oh wow that is some detail that in the back ground . What is the process behind creating your NFTs ?

Before I get started, I make sure to clean my house and start coffee. I always feel better and more present minded when my environment is right. Then I sit down on in my living room and get to work! I use the ProCreate App with the iPad and Apple Pencil. It starts with a sketch and then I just start laying out the base colors and go back over everything to add detail and lighting.

How long would an average NFT take to create ?

Probably about 6-12 hours with regular interruptions from the kids! (changing diapers, feeding them, giving attention, etc.)

Ha ha ha we all have to do it . Is there room in your project for collabs ?

Absolutely! I’m currently working on a collab with KryptoKuma and I have one scheduled with Cryptoswatches too for later on this month!

Two great projects and two great people . Since your still fresh in WAX have you found many projects you like ?

Absolutely! Of course I love Krypto Kumas and Bret Blackburg’s projects, but I also really like Byron the Artists pieces as well as Broken_Dolls! I find their styles very interesting and I could look at their many creations all day!

I just finished an interview with broken dolls !

What has been the hardest part about setting up on wax ?

I really like the Nefty user interface, but learning a new vocabulary for features and utilities have been the hardest part for me to catch wind of. It’s almost like learning a second language but once I have a grasp on it, I’m sure it’ll get so much easier!

What has been the best part ?

Oh gosh that one is such a close tie between the community and no gas fees. I never realized how problematic has really was before coming over to WAX. On ETH I’d often find myself having to pick between which friend’s collections I could support next because gas fees were $140 and I had to sell 2-3 pieces just to buy one of theirs and cover gas. Now if I make $200, I can collect from practically everyone! shopping on WAX has really become quite a problem. But if man, the support in this community blows my mind. WAX is truely for the people. I had help every step of the way in my journey and have already formed such valuable connections to people I didn’t even know a week ago.

What you like to do to unwind ?

I really love playing competitive video games! Right now my go to is Magic the Gathering’s Arena!

Tell us something random about you ?

I am distantly related to Edgar Allan Poe lol.

Oh that's cool . Where can we keep up with the project ?

My Twitter is a great place to keep up with me

https://twitter.com/ShnazzyNFTs?s=20

Discord here: https://discord.gg/PpaB4uXw

Where can we buy your NFTs ?

https://neftyblocks.com/c/shnazzysnfts/marketplace?sort=created&order=desc&collection_name=shnazzysnfts

https://wax.atomichub.io/market?collection_name=shnazzysnfts&schema_name=shnazzysnfts

And my ETH collections: https://opensea.io/accounts/0x07a0e7ecfbcb024978de4b1fe130dc6b1ba65069

Any chance of a competition for the readers ?

The first person who joins the discord and reads the chapter, and posts what Rhiley says to the Serpent will get a 1 of 1 Time-lapse video NFT of the poster of their choice!

Oh nice so before we finish up is there anything you would like to add or say to the readers ?

I want thank them for taking the time to read this, and encourage anyone who has been on the brink of starting a collection, to just put it out there! You never know how people will react until you go for it.

No thank you for your time and look forward to the future of your collection .

Just a quick note since we have chatted Shnazzy has been whitelisted so guys check this artist out I think its great that we are now seeing Opensea artists realize that WAX is a great blockchain with such a great community and we welcome everyone to are community .

19
$ 15.87
$ 15.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Idksamad7869
+ 5
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

I think WAX is really going to get stronger with more artists flooding it. Nice article

$ 0.00
2 years ago