Meet the artist Mr. Bear

9 122
Avatar for Crackers
2 years ago
Topics: NFT, Artist, WAX

I came a cross this artist when I was spying around Twitter he had done a Collab with an artist I really like and I liked his work so I decided to hit him and chat about his project and get some details about him.

Hey !!!!

Hey there

how you ?

I’m good.

Doing anything exciting today ?

I plan on dropping a couple promos later today but nothing exciting here. Oh my wife could go into labor any time now, that’s pretty exciting.

Its is so is this your first baby cub ?

This will be my 2nd!

Awh so your prepared and have gone through the lack of sleep before .

Yep, very prepared. I barely sleep already so not too much of a change there.

Ha ha . Where did you come up with the name Mr. Bear ?

Well, my collection on Wax is named Onetwotwenty, I got whitelisted but then I thought the name lacked any personal touch and was pretty confusing. So I changed it to Mr. Bear. A nickname my wife gave me because she’s tiny and I’m 6’3 , 260 so I’ve always towered over her like a bear.

I like it . Have you been creating NFTs long ?

I started creating NFTs back in April on Wax. I have a few diehard collectors but haven’t blown up by any means haha .

Some people can get lucky and blow up and some people just takes a while . How did you discover NFTs ?

I’ve always been into cryptocurrency and noticed when the NFT boom started. I’ve been an artist since I was a kid and was already creating as therapy so I decided to start putting my work out there. First NFTs I ever bought was NBA top shot and Kogs.

Of course Kogs . Are you still involved in crypto ?

Not involved anymore, besides an occasional wax purchase.

Oh how come ?

I liquidated most of my assets (except $ATOM) to focus primarily on NFTs.

Oh cool why did you decide to create on WAX blockchain ?

I love that there’s little to no environmental impact unlike ETH. It’s easy to mint and I enjoy the community.

How many NFTs have you created so far ?

As of today, over 7,000.

Wow how many themes ?

I had about 4-5 themes. Some mini-collections, some were unsustainable, learning curves etc. My main focus now is on my Hot Jointz members and my Playlist packs dropping Aug. 7.

What was the latest NFT you worked on ?

Latest one I’ve worked on is a new insert in my upcoming pack drop. You’re the first to see it and my latest animated piece based on Gza’s Liquid Swords album.

They are cool . How long you been working on this project ?

I dropped my first album cover in April and have done others sense. I felt the collection needed to have more variety. Music is subjective so releasing 2 albums at a time could be hit or miss.

Yea and the new packs how many NFTs will be in each ?

There will be 7 NFTs in a standard pack.

Will there the be varieties in there ?

Yes, you're guaranteed one animated piece out of 12 in each pack. Each animated piece will have 4 variants, a base, rare, epic and glitched version that can be blended for an animated one. If you're looking for a specific animated one, collecting the variants and blending can help collectors pinpoint what they want/like . I've also added one other thing for the low mint collectors. There will be special limited pieces, 1/1s , 5/5s etc that can be pulled in packs also.

And how many NFTs will there be available to collect ?

75 different NFTs to collect .

How much will each pack be ?

$4.99

How long is each NFT taking to create ?

Each NFT takes about 8-12 hours to create. Packs should cost around $20 per pack, but I want to make this collection available to many. Dope art should be shared as much as possible haha

Of course and when will this be dropping ?

August 7th at 10am UTC If you'd like to run a giveaway, I'd happily donate a membership to my Hot Jointz club.

After the packs, I'll be curating monthly drops for token holders only

Brilliant . What has been your favorite to make so far ?

So far my favorite has been the Liquid Swords piece below . Though I'm working on one that'll probably take it's spot.

This one . The glitch effect in the last one is my signature I add it to every piece I do

How did you create it ?

Do you usually go into the creative process?

Of course I love to find out how artist make there NFTs .

Cool cool no worries I've never done this part before or I've never been interviewed as an artist before .

That's ok first for everything .

I hand draw multiple layers to animate the piece, every animated piece can be 40-50 layers easily.

What programs you like to use when you creating ?

I use a tablet and desktop PC. I illustrate using IbisPaint X Pro and Painter Pro, and I edit each layer in Adobe AE.

Have you done any Collabs ?

I've collabed with Blockchain Odyssey and Baron Von Hustle .

And who would be your dream Collab ?

great question, dream Collab would probably be UltraRare

Can I ask why ?

I'm a huge fan of a lot of collections on wax, I really enjoy UltraRare's art style, hard ink, looks like each card was pulled from a comic book

If we checked your wallet what be the biggest collection you are holding ?

Graffiti Kings haha . They have dope artists, their card set is super clean, very cool stuff

Lets move on to you . Where you from ?

I'm from the US , Florida😁😁😁😁

What does your family think of your project ?

They enjoy it, it doesn't take up too much of my time, I create at night usually so I get plenty of time with them.

Tell us something random about yourself ?

hmmm, I worked as a bartender while in college and started collecting beer taps or beer tap handles I have over 100 of them now

Oh wow any chance of a pic ?

I don’t have them displayed but I’ll send you my favorite

Yea

Love some Cider .

What do you as a full time job ?

I work as a Project Manager in telecommunications.

Oh cool . When your not working your full time job or on your nfts what would we catch you doing ?

Probably having tea parties with my daughter, playing drums or cooking : )

Have you learned any lesson becoming an NFT artist ?

Yes, don't waste all of your RAM on free promos

Lol . So I normal ask the artist do they fancy doing a free drop or give away as you have said earlier you wanted to do a give away of a pass IL let you explain what it gives to the winner ?

sure, I'm going to copy/paste from the drop link

Each month, wallet hodlers of a membership token will receive:

Exclusive Album artwork NFTs for Club Members. Access to all of Mr. Bear's Collections and exclusive Founders drops for new releases. Curated Playlists on Spotify for the perfect smoke session soundtrack. Special Hot Jointz collaborations for members only.

So your giving 1 pass ?

Let's do 3 😁😁😁

Brilliant where can we up to date with you and your project ?

Best place is Twitter: https://twitter.com/MrBearsArt?s=20

Before we finish up is there anything else you would like to say or tell the readers

Sure, you never know what big ideas could be in a smaller collection. Check out my current drops here: https://neftyblocks.com/c/onetwotwenty

Thank you Mr. bear for your time

No problem, thank you for yours, looking forward to reading it 😀😀

So guys show this artist some love I am going to give one of his NFT passes here and 2 away on Twitter so check him out on twitter check what NFTs he has and drop your WAX below to enter the competition and to enter The twitter competition click the link below .

https://twitter.com/Crackers832/status/1420150887557832708?s=20

21
$ 16.74
$ 15.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @tired_momma
$ 0.20 from @Idksamad7869
+ 11
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty
Avatar for Crackers
2 years ago
Topics: NFT, Artist, WAX

Comments

Thx 😊 4nxeg.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ! cg2vq.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great article and offering 🤩🤩 p4ira.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Hot Jointz one looks very familiar :) rx2r4.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the artist uses the glitch effect in a good way

.ytqy.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The bear himself first reminded me of the shining but on looking for the scene, it was thankfully, a different bear altogether.

1ccb2.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright. Thank you again 😁

.axr.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

up.aw.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago