Meet the artist behind Landshark

5 117

So I came across this project a while ago I had to reach out who doesnt like a landshark lol . Happily he wanted to chat about his NFT work and this is not an average multi NFT project each NFT is create and designed by him .

Hey there. How is it going?

Good and you?

good. Just grinding that 9-5 . Love that you are promoting these WAX artists. It's a fun little community that doesn't have the cash grab feel like Opensea.

Thank you I really enjoy being part of it and chatting to the artist is half the fun. What you up today?

Taking a pause on Elden Ring. That game has me hooked.

Never could get into those games.

I didn't play the dark souls games but I like the theme to this one. Seems more like a lord of the rings world. How did you get started doing the WAX ones?

It started just over a year ago my mate said I should interview a friend of his jus took off from there.

Nice. it's a cool niche. Just curious, how did you find LandSharks? getting traffic can be a challenge.

I stalk twitter for projects and came across it so I thought I would reach out to see what the project was about.

Yea I've been loving working on it. Half the fun is sitting around and coming up with new props to use its a fun theme to play with.

So I suppose we should start at the start how did you become involved in crypto?

When doge was taking off I joined the hype train. Bought in a .05 and watched it take off.

Awh nice how did you come across NFTs?

I have a couple friends that are into buying NFTs who turned me on to it. They talked about top shots and others on Opensea . One of them suggested that I make my own while we were hanging out.

How did you come across WAX blockchain?

I first tried to launch my collection on Opensea but the gas fees were crazy. Started doing some research from there saw WAX had some big name projects like Funko and Hot Wheels . For me it was a perfect fit. I could sell an NFT for a few bucks and my supporters didn't have to pay $50+ in gas just to buy it.

And where did the idea for project come from?

Came up with the general theme the night we were hanging out and a friend suggested I make a collection. I brought up Street Sharks as an NFT collection and went from there I also really like the bored ape collection so I brought in that influence.

When did you launch the project?

November of 2021. I made 25 unique sharks. posted them for 1-2 WAX each then made a reddit post to see what would happen I was super excited to see that batch sell out in a couple days. I was at work watching them sell. When I sold out I left early to crank some new ones out.

So the community loved them?

Yea I got some amazing feedback. lot of support from the WAX community.

Do you remember what was the first NFT you launched ?

This is my only NFT collection I remember the first batch really well if that's what you are asking. Can't count the amount of times I've seem my early NFTs flip though my gif.

Do you remember what NFT sold first?

Oooo not specifically but I know who it sold to. I bought a couple NFTs from their collection. From Ezkbupaintsw! Had to look it up but wanted to give them a shout out. They are super nice.

Oh really . How many NFTs have you created since?

So my collection is going to be 1,000 total. I'm up to 144 created . Working on a special kraken attack that I'm about to release next.

Oh wow and how often you drop new NFTs?

I've done three batches so far with about a month between them. I like to knock out a round of new art before posting . Have been on a little pause lately but I'll be looking to do a new round and a giveaway in a month or two

What has been your favorite to create?

There have been a couple that I really liked how they turned out. One zombie shark with a spear in his back I really liked

Also a golden one with a boombox. Jealous of the guy the scooped it up haha

Oh they are class . What is process of creating your NFTs?

Using a program called Expression Design to make the art. A layer for each prop. Then I click through and find combinations that I like. Set the background colors that fits the theme of the piece . There is a ratio of the skins that I'm looking at too. Trying to not overuse certain skins or props. Want to keep the gold rare and blue skins common .

How long do each NFT take to create?

The time is really on making each prop.. and I'm pretty slow at that. Before I make a new batch I like to make 8ish new things to work in . Once I have everything ready, assembling the final NFT is the fun part. Maybe 10-15 minutes there finding the right combo.

Have you done any collabs?

Nope, not yet. There is group on twitter where we have been talking about it but nothing yet.

Who would you love to collab?

Dream collab would be a bored ape riding on the back of a shark haha. There is a guy that does WAX Ballers who has a real unique style. Something with him would turn out real interesting. He is a good dude too.

Waxballs . Do you collect NFTs ?

Yep. I have a brown noser.

Who is your favorite artist?

Banksy probably. I like that graffiti style. It works really well as wall décor. NFT style would be the bored apes.

What's been the best part of doing the project?

Having an outlet to create art. I love being about to spend an evening drawing Creating an NFT collection was the perfect project. I can work on it at my own pace and eventually I will have 1,000 completed pieces that will forever be out there.

What's been the hardest part?

Probably the stress of minting. Trying to set all the attributes right, getting it in the template, uploading the image. I get really nervous that I'm going to mess something up and there is no edit button with NFTs.

What do you do to unwind?

Sometimes art is unwinding, sometimes it's more like work. Also the usual, gaming, streaming, getting some outdoor time in.

Tell us something random about you?

My first job was at an arcade counting tickets and giving out prizes. good times

Ha ha . Where can we keep up with your project ?

Twitter is the best place for updates.

https://twitter.com/LandSharksNFT?s=20&t=Ow2qXNb1KkMoUEHLAx6G3w

I will also do posts for giveaways on the WAX reddit and on discord

Where can we buy your NFTs?

https://wax.atomichub.io/market?collection_name=landsharknft&order=asc&sort=price&symbol=WAX

I'm whitelisted on AtomicHub

Have applied to be whitelisted on Neftyblocks?

I think they need you to be sponsored by someone already on Nefty. The AtomicHub guys were pretty easy to work with. Just needed to prove that you made the art.

Any chance of a competition for the readers ?

Come up with the best shark prop ideas and ill add some into the next batch that I do like things that I can put on his head or hanging from a fin

Before we finish up is there anything you would like to add ?

Pretty well covered it. Thanks for showing interest and being part of this WAX community. Keep an eye on my twitter or the WAX subreddit for a giveaway of 5 sharks that I will be doing soon .

Been a pleasure .

Thanks homie. I need to get going. appreciate you taking the time!

Anytime .

So guys to win to a NFT of his drop an idea what should feature on or around his Landshark.

16
$ 26.43
$ 25.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.15 from @Idksamad7869
+ 11
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

Your article is very interesting my dear brother, keep it up, I hope you can stop by my bio and support me, I've been through yours and I've supported you by joining your wide community brother, so help us all a big hug

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A Club1BCH shark 🦈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really like that idea

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just a suggestion for the competition. Can we get a dolphin Nosering/Nosebone maybe even more I love Fish symbols

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That Gif is cool!

$ 0.00
2 years ago