The story behind a pic

18 58
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

July 6, 2021

It's a saying that every photograph tells a story. And I think it's true. But the stories behind the pictures sometimes can be enjoyable and bring back fond memories over time. Or other times, they could remind us of some a not so pleasant experience.

Well, this one, it could have been one more photo among a lot of photographs from any given day. But it will always bring me the memory of a good scare that I went through.

The story

Last Sunday, I went out with my family to eat out. But the day was so sunny that we decided to go for a ride around the city before heading to eat. We ended up downtown.

When passing through some of the streets, I was surprised that they were in pretty nice shape. And because there was some police surveillance in the area, I got out of the car to take some pics. Otherwise, I wouldn't have done it for fear of having my phone stolen.

We continued on our way, and since I had already taken a couple of photos, I got excited and continued taking some more from the car while my husband was driving.

At a traffic light, I decided to take a photo of a mural on a building. I hadn't realized it but on the corner next to the traffic light, there were several members of one of the state security forces. I reserve the force just in case.

One of the officers who was stopped very close to the traffic light realized that I was taking photos. And made some signs to my husband not to move forward when the traffic light changed. He wanted me to get out of the car with my phone. The first thing I thought was that he was going to take the phone from me. As I got out of the car, my fear was increasing. Could it be that he could arrest me for taking a photo? In case you wonder. In Venezuela, the answer to that question could be a yes.

The slightly ill-faced officer sends me to stand aside and tells me that I should delete the photo and that he wanted to see it. At that moment, he was distracted by another car that was passing and caught his attention. So he sends me to speak to the group of officers gathered on the corner and tells them that I was taking pictures of them.

I approached the group quite nervously. And one of the officers asked me to show him the photo. He asked why I was taking it. I told him that I just wanted to photograph the mural. To which he asked me. What mural? I responded and pointing to it, The one up there in the building. The man turned and saw the mural as if realizing for the first time that it was there. He made me erase the photo. And when I was leaving, he told me. Are you going to leave without the photo? You can take it from here. So I ended with the photo of the mural after being scared. And very grateful that the unfriendly-faced officer had been distracted, and the other one was kind enough.

Of course, after the scare, the photoshoot and the stroll were over. And we went straight to eat.

A little stroll through Caracas's downtown

And if you wonder about the other photos I had taken. Here I share them with you. Although a couple of them I've already posted before in Noise.cash. So I show you a bit of Caracas' downtown.

The blue building on the left is the Palacio de las Academias a Neo-Gothic construction. That was originally built as a convent. Now it houses six National Academies.

Pasaje Linares, a pedestrian street with buildings from the colonial era. In recent years has been decorated with hanging umbrellas that have become so fashionable in several cities around the world.

Av Sur1 is also a pedestrian street with colonial buildings. This street has become popular because of a fancy cafe located on the corner.

These two skyscrapers are The Towers of Central Park (Torres de Parque Central). They were built between the late 70s and early 80s. They measure 225 meters high. At that time, they were the tallest skyscrapers in Latin America. Today, they are among the ten tallest buildings in South America.

For now, this is the short stroll I can give you through Caracas's downtown until I get the courage to go back there to take more pics.

As always, if you've reached here, thank you so much for reading me.

Thank you to all my wonderful sponsors @FarmGirl @Panky(CashReviews) @Bloghound  @TengoLoTodo @TheEmpress @fantagira @HappyBoy. I encourage you to visit their profiles If you haven't done it yet.

All images are mine.

And if you are in Noise, you'll find me as CoquiCoin as well.

7
$ 0.47
$ 0.15 from @Panky
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.10 from @fantagira
+ 3
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! Those officers were kind of strict huh? I'd prolly be arguing if I were you, Coqui! kidding!

Btw, thank you for these wonderful street photos! I love them all. Glad we can now take photos with our phone alone!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. My mother would have said the same as you. And not jokingly, by the way. I'm glad you like the pictures. xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have to agree with Kuya Ed :D Taking photos now is easier. Back when I had a DSLR, I practiced taking photos with the camera at waist level so that it would appear inconspicuous that I was taking photos. I like street photography and taking photos of what is going on around me but I don't want to be seen doing it so I tried practicing like that but haven't gotten so far with it. I'm still self-conscious when using smartphone now.

That mural is interesting as well as the buildings. Pasaje Linares looks lovely! I like the buildings in your downtown. We don't have that much buildings here. It's just a small city where I live :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also like to take street photos, but here I usually don't do it too often. Mainly for fear that my phone will be stolen. Caracas is a big city and many times not so friendly, but it has its good points. I'm glad to know that you liked what you saw in the images. I'll try soon to go out and take more photos to show you how this is around here. Thanks for stopping by. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! That's quite a story Eliana. I coudn't stop reading it, was very curious how you managed to take the picture in the end. Brilliant! And thank you for taking us for a tour around your city. It's both - dangerous and beautiful.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The truth is that I was so scared that the last thing I thought about was the photo. But the officer insisted. And in the end, the picture was better than the first one I took. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing! I remember being stopped while driving in London some years ago. I was unsure if I can take the turn and right after I was stopped by police. Luckily I did nothing wrong, they were just checking randomly, because of other events happening in the city that weekend. Once confidence came back I asked them if they stopped us (I was with 2 girlfriends) because we’re too hot 😅 They laughed and said they stopped us, because my car was nicer that theirs! Then we asked for a way to the party we were planning to attend and they gave us instructions and followed us and saw we took wrong turn again, so they instructed us again. It turned out to be so much fun in the end.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's fun to remember incidents that could have been a disaster, and in the end, turn to be funny anecdotes that rather make us remember them with a smile.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A picture paints a thousand words so they say. And your photos say a lot. Even without any caption, anyone who knows how to appreciates things will be wowed.

I didn't realize it is that serious in your country and taking photos can be quite 'dangerous' too. I had quite a scare reading until I got into the part where the other police officer made you take a photo of the mural.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm sorry if I scared you. My fault really was not realized the officers were there. If I had noticed, I would never have taken a photo there. Thanks for stopping by. Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was alright :) Part of healthy imagination hehe. You're welcome and have a wonderful time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. You too have a lovely day! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is a story I can relate to. Nowadays it easy to take pictures with phones. I remember when younger working in many countries where you could be arrested for taking any pictures, and there was me with my SLR camera taking pictures left right and centre haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. You were a fearless guy. Thanks for stopping by, dear Ed. Abrazos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fearless yes, but more like stupid, luckily I managed to sweet talk my way out of a few problems !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we are young, we tend to do stupid things. Years and experience teach us to be less stupid (although this is not always the case) ;) I'm glad to hear that you came out in one piece of your fearless actions. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes we tend to do too many crazy things in our younger days. I did escape unscathed but I have done my fait share of silly things hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Call it taking some experience, not silly things, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago