Why can't we be satisfied?

16 59
Avatar for Cogamedia
2 years ago

Weeks back I was planning to write on contentment but @FirstCity wrote something similar to what I wanted to write, you can check it here if we're to be living in the same house I would have said he stole my idea, lol. But such is life though, everyone might have the same ideas but the approach is what differential them.

For the title, you must have to know what the article is about, and I might be using some people as an example, with due respect don't think it the wrong way if your name is mentioned here, I'm just trying to make the explanation simpler, thanks in advance. I will be using satisfied instead of contentment, so it won't be too obvious.

Can humans be satisfied?

Last week I was asking myself these questions when going home after work hours, I was trying to put in one or two ideas together, so I and my other selves was having a boarding meeting in my head about the question.

I have come to realize that humans can never be satisfied, no matter how hard we try to act as if we are satisfied with what we got, deep down inside of us, we still have the hunger to hunt for more, it takes great discipline to control the hunger, most people who can't control it usually end up destroying themselves. Let's take a look at Solomon in the Bible (I won't be writing Bible verse) Solomon was the wealthiest and wisest man or perhaps king on Earth, for those of us who don't know the story of king story, I will summarize it, King Solomon was the son of King David (David that killed Goliath) King Solomon offered a burnt offering to Jehovah God and God told him to mention whatever he wants, King Solomon said he wants wisdom, God gave him wisdom and tipped it with wealth (just like Rusty tipping us), that's how King Solomon became the wealthiest and the wisest man ever, but still, he wasn't satisfied, how can one have everything in life and still not satisfied, king Solomon had 700 wives and 300 concubines (girlfriends) I wonder If he could sleep with all of them, lol. King Solomon wasn't still satisfied, to cut the story short, his hunger for more lead to his downfall. When I read the story in the Bible, I called him greedy and ungrateful at first (when I was a kid though) but as I began to grow up, and started to experience life in other forms.

A few days ago @Niazi420 posted an article about having a bad network and not also getting much attention as he use to get from Rusty, you can check the article here, after going through the article I understood him and something came into my mind at that moment, I know we have gone through it, including the pros here, when you started publishing articles here, you told yourself that if you are making 1$ per day here, you will be satisfied right? But as time flies and we started making more than 1$ per day, our hunger for more is now increasing and 20$ per day it's not even enough now, we want more than that, we keep pushing on and making unique contents, well that's how it is, we humans can never the satisfied even if we are given the whole earth, we will still want to take over heaven, lol. I know that everyone is guilty of this, ha hahaha.

Closing conclusion

In life, we always say that when we get to a certain level, we will relax there, but when we eventually get there earlier than expected, we look at it and say it's not enough and we set another goal again to go even higher and higher by doubling our hustle and most times we have sleepless nights and the brain will be working under pressure.

Sometimes we just have to seat without doing anything and start remembering when we are coming from so we can appreciate where we are today. 

Like I said, @FirstCity has already written most of it, lol. Do check out his article with the link above.

I just got a new sponsor today and I'm very happy now. Thanks, @Miyuki1991 for believing in me ma.

Have you checked my "Why Not Acrostic" challenge.

Click here

Lead image source.

14th October 2021

7
$ 5.14
$ 4.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @NakamotoBch
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 6
Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Cogamedia
2 years ago

Comments

I remember when I joined this platform, I gave myself a target of $10 in a month and I still haven't changed it, why? Because I know I will be able to surpass that $10 but it's better to lower your expectations so you won't be disappointed. It's like saying you're aiming for the moon but you're still ok if you don't reach it and land among the stars

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But now you are exceeding 10$ a day. Somehow celebrate Grace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This guy Cogamedia 💚❤️! You know how to play with words, I was reading and laughing and expected a "never end" to this article but you cut it short. Why na? I appreciate your acknowledgement to my name. Much respect. By the way, how you take dey increase subscribers? Na juju?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. You have said it all before naw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can gey that in a short span of time but after experiencing it? You will really ask for more. Just like me. We're humans so we can't really help it right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. We can't help it but we can control the hunger for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To answer your title, because we are humans :D

We have an insatiable appetite for MORE but we do need to be grateful for even the little ones we have and not complain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are absolutely right about this..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are write and I must really appreciate you for bringing this topic here... I was in that state of mind too.. rusty didnt come then I was setting a target and when it did, now I desire more. We end up doing what we are not supposed to because of desperation, I should have been thankful in the first place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true. Appreciation creates room for more to come. Thanks for commenting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As you have said human beings can never be satisfied because human want is insatiable according to economics definition back then when I was in secondary school

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, even the Bible say, go into the world and multiply, when we stop multiplying we are no longer living.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To live means to always want a superior. Mankind wants a higher value than he has reached, one step up on the ladder he climbs. Who can we blame for that, when there are so many things around us that attract us? Yes, we should be content with little and be thankful, but more would not be bad either.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, very true there's still so much we haven't explore, by going for them means we are going for more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A human can never be satisfied you are saying this right. When I started using noise cash I was earning about 0.30$ per day but then I was wishing that i want to increasing the earning to at least 1$ but with passage of time I was earning more than 10$ from noise cash in a day but still, I was not satisfied. We should be thank full in every condition.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being able to control it , it's a big advantage. Thanks for your comment sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago