2 months of not attending Church

6 27
Avatar for Cogamedia
2 years ago

It's Sunday over here in my country, how did your day Sunday went? Mine was really good though, I felt peace again for a very long time.

After 2months of not stepping my foot in a church, I decided to attend church today, I know you might be thinking that I have backslid and I'm slowly becoming an unbeliever, I thought of it too.

I don't have any excuse for not being able to attend church for months, but one thing I know for sure is that the Covid 19 lockdown contributed to it though. I still remember life before Covid 19, I use to be a vibrant and strong believer who don't miss attending church service, though I weren't early all the time I believe it still counts back then, life wasn't so complicated then, people could meet and shake hands without being afraid of Covid 19. I remember when the Lockdown started to reduce the spread of the coronavirus, many churches refused to close down their church because as a believer we are not moved by the things of this world, not even virus, but the government insisted that churches should be close and any church they caught open will be taken to court for a legal charge against Covid 19 rules, they banned parties and clubs, it was affecting the businesses also like so many people that rely on salary couldn't feed, most churches standing online streaming on Facebook and YouTube, (if Muhammed can't go to the mountain, the mountain will go to Muhammed), people where now live streaming church service at the comfort of their home.

I just imagined if the Covid 19 had come in 2001-2002, I guess it would have been worst, cause many people don't have access to the Internet then, there was no Netflix, no Facebook to keep you connected to your loved ones, no Instagram to follow your favorite celebrities, no Twitter to tweet how your day went, no YouTube to watch funny videos, no TikTok to create nice videos and no Read.cash to write articles about it. 

Many people would have died in silence or being unable to reach their loved ones, The comfort of live streaming church service on your mobile phone/ personal computer got into most of us and we became very lazy to attend church these days. When the lockdown was called off they placed a curfew because people were complaining of hunger and not being able to afford their needs, churches were opened but they were given conditions though, people were not going to church as they use to, most of them backslid completely, I resumed church the first week and I miss seeing a lot of people in my Church.

Why I didn't attend church for over 2months

My church is far from my house, so most time is kind of hard for me to cope with transport I don't have a job, I'm a freelancer and I don't usually get clients too, every time I render my service to someone I usually use the money to cover my needs that's how the money usually went, lol. But still, this is not an excuse though, I'm just saying this so you won't think I'm backsliding too.

Why did I go to church today?

I felt guilty about not going to church and I was slowly losing faith, I had to pray for forgiveness and make a decision to resume service today and I pray I won't return to Egypt ( I don't mean Egypt of this day, I mean the one in the Bible days).

Closing thoughts

Maybe you might ask if there's no other church by my house for me to attend since I don't have transportation to attend mine, of course, there are other churches around (more than 2 in my street) and they are all churches of God, well one that didn't make me attend other churches within these past two months, I don't want to become a new member in the church, in Nigeria ones a new a person comes to the church for the first time, they usually give them a warm welcome (some churches also gives refreshments) and they will now convert you again into a Christian " like I'm already a Christian sir, I'm just here for a visit sir" that's one of the reasons I don't stand up when they are welcoming new members in church unless they are about to share refreshments, I will definitely come out "like who don't like free refreshments" lol. Like I said it's not an excuse, I'm just saying it.

I posted an article this morning and there was an error in the date so I have to unpublished it, it won't bring it misunderstanding.

Don't forget to hit the lick button and also subscribe so u don't miss my next article.

Lead image source

<a href='https://www.freepik.com/photos/background'>Background photo created by whatwolf - www.freepik.com</a>

5
$ 3.39
$ 3.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
$ 0.02 from @Kushyzee
Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Cogamedia
2 years ago

Comments

Before the covid-19 brouhaha, I already started losing interest in church and I wouldn't even attend for over 3 months when I'm in school 😆 laziness is actually a major cause of it, but I go to church anytime I'm home

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel like when you are away from home, we get to realize that attend church because of our parents, lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's pray for forgiveness 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome back to church sir. I hope you doesn't loose focus again. Hahah. You see the devil ehn, once he catches a vibrant Christian, he makes sure he secures him and never let go. Congratulations for the break through. 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God I escaped with the technic I learnt in heaven before I came to Earth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago