My Anime Figure Journey

10 35
Avatar for Codex_04
3 years ago
My figures that I collected but since I need funds I have to let them all go, I already sold all my figures on this picture.

Everyone had unique things to do on their life and that includes your hobby, I never thought that I would be hook on to this and that’s collecting anime figures. I don’t know how, when, where I was attracted in figures, but I know this was a thing to me now. I know others might not be interested in this kind of thing, and others may say that I am bragging my luxury (for me) but all I can say was this brings me joy that’s why I want to share my figure journey. Ready or not bear with my article.

One of my favorite picture on figures, this brings memories on my WCF figures, sad to say when the time I really need funds for the operation of my grandfather I need to let them all go, this was just a memory yet I am very happy to have them all.

Who says that toys were only for children? Adults can still have toys for themselves and that includes me. Growing up does not have to mean growing old as well, this was one of the key recipes in order for you to have a good life, one thing I learned from “Michael V” a multitalented comedian/artist from the Philippines. The one thing that he said that left a mark in our hearts was “because we are growing old, we do not play anymore but the truth we grow old because we do not play anymore, do not be childish, but have the heart of a child.” This is true and I learned a lot from him.

This was my first figures that I able to have when I started collecting, the second figure that was place on the box was my first ever figures that I bought on Shopee.

I’ve been collecting figures for almost 2 and a half years, that journey was fun, hilarious, consumes a lot of money and more. I was influenced to collect figures because of my love in anime, I can call myself weeb sometimes but one thing for sure that I love anime so much. Anime brought happiness to me and I learned a lot from it, anyways getting back on my story I remember the first time I have a figure for myself. It started when I’m on my work, I was finished eating lunch after that I checked my phone and used the Shopee App (Online Shopping app) since it was sale that time, I browse on products that was offered in the app. I happened to encounter this certain figure that was offered for a cheap price which I immediately add to my cart then placed order, I didn’t know yet the difference between fake and authentic so it was okay for me as long the product will be safe and no damage. A week after I received my first ever figure, as I received my parcel, I was filled with excitement to open it and see for myself, I opened it and assemble the figure myself. I was really happy that time, I already expected that it would not be perfect but worth for its price. Later on, I just realized that the first figure that I had was “Bootleg” a terminology in toy community, in simplified term it was fake. It was my first time on figure but that didn’t stop me, I studied it on the internet and learned a lot of things regarding figures, my friend who was also collector help me to learn about this hobby because he happens to see my myday on my first figure and ask if I have an idea on what I bought.

My most favorite of all, Zoro Shrine I want to collect more and next time I will post my collection on Luffy and Sanji that was also known as Monster Trio.

Moving forward on my journey as I learned more about figures, I started to invest on authentic one’s than on fake but to be honest having a bootleg figure or KO figure was not bad, still after knowing how to check an authentic figure I bought five more bootleg figures because it was cheap and money wise but comparing to the details and quality than the authentic one it had a lot of difference. The price of bootleg figure that I bought was 400 to 500 pesos compared to my authentic figures that starts at 850 pesos up to 5,000 pesos, too much difference in price, right? Figure collecting was a hobby for someone who can afford it, I am not saying that others can make this a hobby but make sure you have the money to spend on your wants. Since I have a job having this kind of hobby was not a problem but to be honest it can empty your pockets especially when the figure that you’re looking for is for sale by shops/sellers online.

I have collected almost a hundred figures in this short span of time, I gave some on my friends, I display the others, while I sell my other figures when I really need funds. If you asked me how many figures that I bought in a month? I think I bought 3 to 5 figures depends what kind of figure it is, and it was included in the line of my collection. Right now, I am minimizing collecting for the meantime because we have pandemic and the money that I earned from my job was prioritize on needs. I can say that my figure journey was one hell of adventure, started from bootleg up to authentic and continue collecting up until know. As of now I have a lot of pre orders figures from Japan and waiting for them to received here in the Philippines. Collecting a figure was not a bad thing and it was really fun once you started it, you just have to control spending if you really want to start to collect. Figures help me lessen my stress and it made me happy everytime I see it, it was really fun and can’t wait to collect more. This is my figure journey and I am glad to share mine, thank you for your time reading!

 

 

7
$ 11.34
$ 11.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 1
Sponsors of Codex_04
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Codex_04
3 years ago

Comments

Respect! Very inspiring journey and hobby of yours @Codex_04. I was actually not into anime figure collecting but I realized that there really is joy in it, undoubtfully. 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you @ichiicarps, you will have this soon hahaha especially your man spoiled you with this 😂. On the other hand it can make your pocket and wallet always empty. Yes there's a joy in collecting it feels like you were a kid again, they can be your stress reliever also. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Bwisit. Sabi mo di ka bibili kasi pandemic tapos biglang sinabi mo meron kang pin-reoder.

Anyway, yung pinsan ko Gundam naman kinocollect niya. Inaasar ko nga sabi ko babasagin ko yung display niya. Hahaha. Or binubulungan ko yung anak niya na itumba yung mga action figures niya. Tapos yun nga mga boxes niya nakatabi din. Kumbaga sa mga babae na nakadisplay ang mga luxury bags nila at nakatabi ang boxes and receipts, sa lalaki naman mga action figures.

You will still have a lot of chances to buy some more when this pandemic is over. Tipid-tipid muna ngayon. Nice one, Pat! 👍🏼😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahahaha yes I will not buy onhand but pre orders 😜 xD

Yes magastos din gundam pero hirap kasi iaassemble nun para sa mga taong matitiyaga yun Ate Jonna, nakuu warla yan although maasar oo pero syempre pinapahalagahan din namin sila hehehe, actually totoo yan, figures, shoes ang karaniwan samin, hinde ko talaga sure bakit ako napasok dito basta alam ko masaya ako, napakagastos lang talaga wahahaha

Yes naman I know it, for now talagang tipid muna hehehe!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay oo shoes! Naku yan nga unang hobby ng pinsan ko baho siya nalipat sa Gundam. Di ko alam bakit siya nagsawa sa shoes. Nike SB collection niya noon. Tapos nung nakita ko few years ago, ayun dami na alikabok. Hahaha.

Ako wala pa naman ako sa pagcollect ng mga bagay-bagay. Noon meron lighters ng Marlboro yung mga limited edition pero bigay lang ng mga tropa galing sa mga promodiser.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dami oiii, penge isa haha. Anime figures is lifuuu? How about woman's figurr3s? Ahahahaha chorrr. Alam ko na ata ang sagot 😂😂😜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can have one soon wait mo lang ako makaipon at makabalik sa business ha Ruffa San hehehehe, I have a lot of chick figures hirap lang ipost kasi need to sensor yung iba, pero to the point na di naman aabot sa alam mo na hehehe, Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! Your collection of figures is truly amazing. I agree if you are not childish, no matter how old you are in your heart you can still be a child. Now you can make your figures as NFT's by taking photos of them and make it nice with an editing software and you can put it on sale for example on Wax. If you have like a complete series that is even better. Well that is just a thought. I enjoyed reading your article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for you complement bro, very true that's why I collect, also this figure brought me joy everytime I see them it feels relaxing. I want to try that but I cannot say that I have extra time for it, since writing was my passion I just write when I am available, and since I am also busy at work I can't focus on others but maybe if I have more time to learn that why not I give it a shot, thanks for your advice on it, I will take note on it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's ok. Take your time with it. It has ro be good to be able to profit from them. For now your passion is more important.

$ 0.00
3 years ago