A Day Without Internet (Work Story)

0 52
Avatar for Codex_04
3 years ago
Topics: IT, Blog, 2021, Story

It’s been three days since I am away here in read.cash because of many things, busy in work, having a special time with my beloved one, busy in anime figures and more other stuff but since I am here now get ready to witness another article that yet to discover unless you read it. Millions of people around the world use internet on day-to-day basis. It is a great way to connect ourselves with the world because internet had everything. We used internet to connect with other people like having a communication through app or email, sharing information that others may need, sharing of files in a company through network. Others used internet for entertainment such as watching video clips, playing online games, social medias such as Facebook or Twitter and many other things that could be beneficial to all of us but what if there’s no internet? Could you live without it? So, here’s a story that I will share base on my experience that just happened recently and it’s a big problem for me, so care to read my article? Come on, let’s begin my story.

If you read my articles before you will know what my profession was because I mentioned it a lot but if not, I will proud to say that I am an IT Professional working in a private company here in the Philippines. So now as I mention earlier what if there’s no internet? And I also said it’s a big problem for me, why is that? Because the internet usage was not just only for an individual person or home used it was the internet of the company and it’s not just the internet only that was missing, the server and the network had a problem also, it’s a big tragedy that I don’t want to happened again, now I will tell the full story.

This event happened last April 03, 2021, it was Saturday and not just that it was a holiday here in the Philippines (Holy Week). Our technicians have a work this time but IT Department don’t have so it was supposed to be a relaxing day but you know things happen. I plan to have a long rest during this time but unfortunately my boss called and said that I need to report in the office ASAP because there’s a problem in the office. I stand up immediately and fixed my bed, eat my breakfast, take a bath then went to my office. Now as I entered the office, I know it was a huge problem and I am the only one that can fix it, as I went to the IT Room, I opened my computer and checked what’s the problem, there’s no internet, I can’t access the server and I can’t ping all the networks, I just talked to myself and said (sh*t, patay tayo dyan) - Filipino Language. Internet was the one needed the most in our office because all of their transaction was online, even the system they used needed an internet that’s why they’re in turmoil and can’t work properly. The telephone started to ring I was liked “Okay, problem after problem”, I answered and said that I am currently checking it and will fix it as soon as possible, I think I got 5 calls one after another then after it I start to diagnose the problem. I turn off first all of the device, modems, routers, switch, server and hard drives to check if it just needs a reboot for 5 mins, then after that I opened everything again and start accessing if we have internet. I checked on my computer but still it has no connection, even the wifi so I decided to do a stand-alone setup (Internet modem to one computer) it has a connection, then I tried to connect it in our load balancer but after that no connection. I removed the cable connecting to the switch and test again If we can have connection, as I test it had a connection, so one problem solve it has connection from modem (ISP) to load balancer (router) the only problem left was the switch, the server just needed a restart to cooldown but the time was really fast and I am little bit annoyed on the telephone ringing.

The switch was only the problem left to fix the internet problem in the office same with the network connecting to the server because switch was the one that connects the internet from the computers in the whole office and since the server was connected to it, it cannot communicate in another unit unless the switch was okay. The troubleshoot that I did was removed all first the cable connected to the switch to know if it was choked and thanked God after I did that the connection on all the fourth floor went back but unfortunately the other floor still don’t have a connection. I go up and down to check if they have a connection or none and it was very tiring. It was past 2pm but still they don’t have a connection so I advised to my manager on what happened in the office. The main problem now was the cable connected to switch going to the access point of every floor which I think that the wires was cut. I don’t know anymore what to do because I don’t have a tracer to track which wires connected in every floor, the time was approaching fast and the only thing that I advised to my colleagues that there’s a deep problem that’s why we don’t have a connection. The only alternatives that I did to have a connection for the meantime was, I bought a 30-meter DLINK CAT5 wires then create a connection from switch up to Access point of every floor which I finished in 7:00 PM.

I didn’t able to fix the problem and probably it was hard for all of my colleagues because they don’t have a work to do during that time because of internet, I think others tried another way by using they’re mobile data just to create a report. Fast forward on it we able to fix the problem two days after and of course I cannot do it myself and I need accompany of my IT colleagues. Well, I know this story may have a lot of unidentified terms which is terminologies in IT but I hope that even this was a little boring you find it well. Thank you for your time reading!

Sponsors of Codex_04
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.98
$ 0.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bbghitte
Sponsors of Codex_04
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Codex_04
3 years ago
Topics: IT, Blog, 2021, Story

Comments