Memories in Paradise

5 22
Sponsors of Codename_Chikakiku
empty
empty
empty

Decade ago when I left the place I called Paradise, I took out the opportunity here on Manila to have a better education and have a good future. I give up all the fiends and memories I have there, I can't do anything because I'm just a mere child. I miss my Paradise so much, we want a vacation to Iloilo but the pandemic stops us to visit our hometown again. It was said because we can't visit the grave our deceased sibling. Last year we planned to visit her tomb but the pandemic pops out and it ruins everyone's life even ours. We only light a candle and cook food for her, it is a tradition here on Philippines that every November 1st, Filipinos are visiting the tomb of their beloved love once and cook food because Filipinos believe that the souls of the dead will eat those food, in Bisaya we called it Kuyam. We just do it because we can't travel due to pandemic. I was so excited that time I have plans to do once we land at Iloilo but it didn't happen. I miss everything there, I can only reminisce memories I have in that paradise. I remember that all of us in Sitio Kulyatan knows each other even the nearby barangay knows each other its because the population of our place is not surpassing thousands, its easier to recognize people because there is interaction. It is also easy to recognize if there's an outsider. Houses are hundreds meters apart and need to walk a distance in order to buy foods since the sari sari store is at near the highway. I remember that I always buy necessary things at ate Rosario's store lime foods and soaps need in washing clothes. It is also safe to hangout at night because there's no danger lurking on darkness except for things that naked eye can't see like Aswang, Nunu, Kapre, and other elements that sightseeing you while walking. I'm not afraid of that because I always bring salt, garlic and onions as my protection. I don't know what I thinking I brought those things.

One time there was a scary news on our place, I remember it was about Kulto who lurking at our place and victimized people who walking alone. The whole Iloilo got alarm on that, in fact GMA went to Lawigan to report the incident. I saw people who bringing machete, woods and some people prepared Salt and Garlic because they believe that Kulto is afraid of those things. In our house, we are afraid to go outside at night because there was a possibility that the Kulto is at our place. Every night, my Lolo burns rubbers because in our place the smoke of rubber can harm the evil creatures. There is one time, I accompany my brother in finding spiders, at night it is the best way to find spiders because spiders are nocturnal animals, they are sleeping at day and woke up, making spiders webs at night to catch insects and become their food. My brother is good at finding spiders, even though there was a kulto, my brother is brave finding spiders at Rice field and at trees. We also roaming at forest to find good spiders. Then we will put it on match box that divided into 4 to 6 rooms suitable for room of spiders. I bring salt that time because I'm still afraid of what they call kulto. It is also used by elders to scare kids to go home when the night falls. That rumors can't stop us from doing what on everyday. It is still important to ease the hunger than afraid of rumors. We always went at Lawigan waiting for the boat releasing all the net at sea, after that people will start pulling the rope. It needs manpower because the weight of the rope and the pressure of the sea is so heavy I think its also need more than 100 people in order to pull the ropes and bring the net at side of the ocean. If lucky enough there will be lots of catches but if unlucky the catches is only 10 kilos of little shrimps and some fishes. It is depressing because the effort is nothing without lots of catches.

I also remember that one time, we went to Lawigan to attend Sahid again, we have other companions which our neighbors together with her apo. At the side of ocean there was group of kids who acting cool and mockering us. At first I don't mind it until I lose my temper. I ran towards them then start mocking them also, I prepared a branch of wood and hide it at rock. When we start pulling the rope, one kid mocking me then I can't stop myself, he start the fight then I fight him back. I think I punch him that made him cry and went home haha. Until my sister found out what happen, she ran towards me and look at me. I was afraid that time because I think she will scold me but she just laugh at me. Even my Lola laugh at what happen. That was one of the bravest thing I've done just to defend my friend.

Authors Message:

Maybe we can't remember everything but the most precious memories will always stored at our mind, no matter the time pass it will never fades in our mind. In my case, the memories is still clear and I can share it with you nonstop. I have lots of good memories in my province. For me the most important is creating a memory that will last forever, not hate that will make my conscience unclean. Thank you for giving time to read my article, good night everyone.

8
$ 4.36
$ 4.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @dziefem
$ 0.02 from @kli4d
+ 1
Sponsors of Codename_Chikakiku
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I think I'm going crazy because of this pandemic. Miss ko na gumalaaaa. I want to go in Ilo-ilo too! Nakikita ko sa Facebook ang daming magagandang place dyan e.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes po lalo na sa Iloilo City, masarap po magbakasyon sa province kase fresh po ung air tapos less stress po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka dyan. Hindi polluted ang hangin tsaka maraming magandang tanawin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ilo-ilo huh! Hoping to visit the place in the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pag wala na Covid madam, maganda sa Iloilo dami tourist attraction.❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago