For the Win 2: Infrastructure, Development , Marketing and Real World Usage

0 26
Avatar for ClearSky
1 year ago

Hey all, Here is my second 6 months Flipstarter campaign after finishing the first one which I had my progress documented in a Gitlab issue.

I appreciate the support of BCH community who helped me increase my skill and offered me to be a part of the developing ecosystem by running the main testnet faucets for BCH.

Campaign link: https://forthewin2.googol.cash/en


Campaign Details

Regardless of price drop builders didn’t stop and they shouldn't. I’ve took advantage of funds provided by BCH community to improve my skill and serve the community. I’ll have my proposal split into the following sections:

  • Summery of accomplishments

  • Skills I’ve learnt in this period and I would like to use in future builds

  • Stuff I would like to work on

  • financial details

  • Notes

Summery of accomplishments

I’ve kept a record of stuff I’ve worked on in the last six months in my transparency report. Here is a summery of it by type:

Development and Services

  • Maintaining BCH test network faucet for testnet3, created one for testnet4 and mining on the CashToken testnet4 fork

  • Improved mobile paper wallet app using Python and Kivy and published it on f-droid

  • Built an app for needy people to submit their needs and get paid by BCH SLP tokens

  • Improved my library for using Electron Cash wallet for sending transactions, used in faucet published to python PyPi repository

  • Created a simple web app to get Bitcoin Cash node info and published to PyPi

Communication & Marketing

  • Translating few clips about free market economy with “financed by BCH” mention

  • Published few educational articles related to BCH and Programming

  • Published technical articles about hosting Flipstarter campaign

  • Helped increase some developers interest in BCH development

Skills Acquired

Thanks to BCH community support I've learned and improved many technical skills including:

  • Learned to use Kivy platform for writing python application for mobile

  • Learned how to submit apps to f-droid open source markets

  • Learned some Javascript skills for the web

  • Learned how to build simple Docker containers

  • Learned how to create a REST API using Wagtail (Django based)

  • Learned how to publish to Pypi (python packages repositories used by pip)

  • Learned about CI/CD for automatic software deployment and did simple builds

Goal

Financing my BCH work for another 6 months which will focus on development work and marketing and adoption.

Development

  • Maintaining testnet faucets and mining when necessary

  • Improve the Needy app and put it into real test

  • Develop on the BCH coming CashToken proposal, I already run a forked testnet for it

  • Learn more about ElectrumX/Fulcrum and create some apps based on them

Marketing

  • Translate more short clips about free market and importance of free economy into Arabic

  • Write more educational articles related to BCH and programming in English and Arabic

  • Targeting the technical communities of different large Arabic Telegram groups and forms

Financial Details

Requested amount $3300 same as previous Flipstarter which will cover:

  • 10 hours weekly work for the next six months (6 months = 26 week) + hosting costs for testnet servers

If the price of BCH rise more before the end of the start making the gathered amount larger than $3300, I'll direct the exceed fund to run mini gigs for BCH adoption.

Notes

Few notes on previous Flipstarter and Self criticism

I've had smaller projects financed by BCH community before, the last Flipstarter was for a longer period and larger finance. Now reviewing my past progress I noticed that I could have done better.

  1. I put too much effort on development side especially the Needy and Paper wallet android application.

  2. Delayed my second Flipstarter hopping for BCH price appreciation

I hope I've learned a lesson from the previous period and I would like to deliver more and better.

SLP and tokens issues

Although I started the Needy software for financing poor more than year ago and I hoped it would be functional and working by now but few issues with SLP system like wallets misbehaving or dropping support for tokens and the issue with the alternative token system in smartBCH all helped to keep it being delayed.

I've already run one experience to support poor families using SLP tokens but the mobile wallet scanning their paper wallet kept falling randomly so had to delay the project at that time.

Hopefully with CashTokens such issues will be solved.

Appreciation

I'm thankful to the amazing people in BCH community who volunteered to support me, specially people who donated directly to my previous Flipstarter ❤️.

I'll always remember that that my first serious software development experience was possible with support of the generous people in the BCH community and I'm hoping to to take it further with this new campaign.

And people who helped me with running testnet faucet by sending testnet coins like im_uname#100, NilacTheGrim#2186 and ichundes#102 and to everyone who helped.

2
$ 0.48
$ 0.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for ClearSky
1 year ago

Comments