The kalm pernel story

2 27
Avatar for Chrismariae
2 years ago

Story Story... story time... wonder why i want to share a story today? I'm an African and in Africa we value stories so much because one can learn a lot of lessons from stories

It's been a while I posted here after my "come back" post. I promised to be consistent for the sake of those that missed my presence here but unfortunately I couldn't keep to that promise because I moved to a place where there is no network coverage so I rarely come online until I go back to my base. I apologize still

Now, to the story. This story is meant to entertain, educate and also call our attention to something very important especially parents. Sometimes parents claim they know their children more than everyone else,they believe they love and care for their children especially the mother's but they forget that children are attracted to people that spend more time with them. When I say "children" in this regard I mean children between the ages of 2 to say 7 or 8 years old. Children that fall within those age bracket spend more time in school and of course with their teachers

Naturally, when you spend more time with a particular person even as an adult you tend to grow fond of them, you love them more and at some point you'll even start behaving like them. Yes, that's a natural phenomenon and that's the more reason why parents should be careful whom they leave the care of their children because they easily get influenced

Unlike an adult that can easily tell right from wrong, these children are still in their formative years, they are so naive and vulnerable so they are likely to accept everything and anything as the right thing especially when it comes from someone they see as a hero, an adult who spends more time with them.

I had a serious argument yesterday with my little niece who is just 5 years old, she picked a palm but and brought it to me, it was obvious she had been seeing it only in books. Out of excitement she shouted "uncle, uncle do you know what is this?"

I didn't want her excitement to go away so I pretended not to know what it is so she could tell

"It's called kalm pernel" she answered, with so much pride and confidence in her voice. I had to cut in immediately, I told her it's palm kernel and not kalm pernel. To my surprise and disappointment the little girl told me to my face that I'm wrong because her aunty in school taught them it's kalm pernel. Hahahaha

I tried everything I could to convince her that a nut from a palm tree is palm kernel and not kalm pernel, I even had to educate her and I told her how the name should be palm kernel and not kalm pernel person but she refused to accept just because her aunty in school told her kalm. Her mum later tried to intervene but she still refused to accept.

Until this moment the little girl has refused to accept the correction just because it didn't come from her almighty aunty in her school. And to make matters worse, she just graduated from nursery school and will be moving to another class when school resumes in September. How do we convince her?

This story as funny and common as it sounds is a very serious one, this goes to show how much the young champs believe in their school teachers who spend the major part of their everyday lives with them.

NB: This story is not aimed at denigrating the teacher because it could be a mistake from her or maybe she said the correct thing and the kid heard another, it's possible.

I just want us to be extremely careful with kids and who we leave their care to because the kids are vulnerable and ever ready to learn new things both the positive and negative. Keep your eyes wide open

Lead image source

Bye and thanks for your time

[Sponsors]

4
$ 0.15
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
$ 0.05 from @mariteen
Sponsors of Chrismariae
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Chrismariae
2 years ago

Comments

That's a funny story yet sad at the same time. Children should learn right thing from their guardian and not tolerate wrong things. Thanks for sharing a story sirr. I'm looking forward to read more from you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for reading it through, i was touched by that experience so I decided to write about it. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago