See where we are

4 22
Avatar for Chrismariae
2 years ago

This is one of the posts I've ever made here with so much anger in my heart, its also going to look controversial to SOE people because I know that it not everybody that will understand it and some people will disagree with me, but what does it matter? I'm fully entitled to my views and opinions especially when it has to do with my country. Yes


I'm always very passionate in some issues concerning Nigeria because sometimes the way the people behave will make you ask questions like "how did we get here?" Or "is Nigeria really 60 years old?" They claim to be the giant of Africa and practice democracy but you only see that in the news and pages of newspapers. Why?


There are a lot of question to ask but no one to answer them so I'm going to stop here and make known my observations over the last few days. Nigeria has so degenerated to the extent that not hearing the sound of guns or the number of people killed in a day is an achievement and a thing of thanksgiving to God


The minds and attention of the people have so been distracted with every bad thing you can think of, the government is so deceitful and irresponsible that they no linger have shame and respect for the rule of law. Nigerian citizens live in fear. No one can talk against the bad state of the nation else you become the next target for the president and his foot soldiers


How can one explain the recent incident that has been trending over the past three days in the news and all over the internet. When I first saw the news, I scrolled pass it because I didn't find it interesting. But I kept seeing it in all the major news tabloids and even on the television so I started picking interest in the news

So, today, I decided to read the full story to know why this police man has been trending and receiving awards here and there

Now, check this out, my good people, one police man has been trending in Nigeria for some time now for his outstanding "heroic act" ask me what he did

The gentle man is making the news headlines in Nigeria and receiving awards everywhere in the country because he did not shoot and kill a citizen that assaulted him. Did you get that? Can you believe it?


The police man was recorded and posted on social media where he was being assaulted by a fellow Nigerian citizen, he conducted himself in a way and manner expected if every law enforcement agent and law abiding citizen is expected to and which, of coire, happens everyday, but because the man was carrying a gun and he didn't use the gun to shoot and kill a fellow citizen, he has become a hero... So pathetic! How on earth did we get here? I feel so ashamed at the sorry and barbaric state of my country


Now, I'm in no way denigrating what the gentle man in uniform did, in fact, I give him cuddles for that. The post is not about the gentle police officer, whom I also commend dearly for being and acting the way he ought to and the way every other security personnel who swore to protect every citizen; my problem with the whole story is that the people have completely lost it!


The country is so bad and corrupt that things that ordinarily shouldn't matter are the things that make the news. People are distracted with so many bad things happening, evil has become a norm and people always expect bad news so when they see normal things happen, it looks strange to them, its that bad


If I may ask, what's so special in not killing an armless civilian no matter how provoked an officer is? Was anybody forced into Nigerian police force?


A governor will fix road with the tax payers' money and you see him praising himself and posting billboards all over the place to celebrate himself, and people will be praising and clapping for them, are you kidding me?


The country and some of the people in it as so weird that normal things look exceptional. Killing is gradually becoming a norm, bad governance and intimidation of innocent citizens is always expected of the political office holders who the same citizens voted into power. What?!

Believe me, if things continue the way they're going now, very soon campaign manifestos will look like " if you vote for me, I promise I will not kill you" sadly, that's where we are headed knowingly or unknowingly. When other countries are talking about 4 and 5G Nigeria is still struggling with cows; people are thinking and planning many years ahead for their countries while Nigeria is busy killing innovations and dragging its citizens to the previous centuries. Let me tell you this Nigeria, the destiny of the entire African continent lies in your hands and your holding Africa captive. Our people say that the baby goat learns to chew curd by looking at the mother. Nigeria is a problem, not only to itself but to Africa as a continent


People no longer think straight and normal, living in fear and suffering yet expected to smile and worship the same leaders who put them in their sorry state. No wonder the late afro beat activist Fela Anikulapo Kuti referred to Nigerians as suffering and smiling. Until we begin to think and act right and hold our leaders accountable things will never ever be right. We shouldn't be where we are today, we deserve much better than

[Sponsors]

3
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @heartbeat1515
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of Chrismariae
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Chrismariae
2 years ago

Comments

Just to wake you up. In our newspapers Nigeria isn't seen as a great country or democracy. We only hear about your mess, corruption and scamming that goes so far friends are even sold and killed to rip their family of.

And if it comes to "things that ordinarily shouldn't matter are the things that make the news" it's the same everywhere. It's coronavirus, spreading fear, no big news about the government we still don't have after the elections because the former prime minister is in the way (and keeps reigning on) so we read how a guy in the USA saved a dog 3 years ago, and how a dog saved a child 5 years ago and believe it just happened and read gossip about VIPs no one cares about. Destruction news, techniques to make the people believe life is good, fine and it's all done for our benefit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What do you think @wakeupkitty? He has been writing a few articles like this one. Do you think that these articles will be good for the political community that stands for the voice of people?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, this is good content for the community Politics - voice of the people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought so too. His writing is good for me but I do not know why he is in the spam section.

$ 0.00
2 years ago