Ella's Ordeal

1 26
Avatar for Cheche28
2 years ago

It was a sunny day when I met Jideofor. He was tall and light skinned. He has an amazing physic that one can't help to notice no matter how hard you don't want to. It was not difficult to notice him.

I was going for a church program on that faithful day which should begin at 4pm. I had left early because I wanted to visit the chapel for a alone time with God before the program.

I wasn't in a haste but also I wasn't walking sluggishly. The church was not far from my house so I trekked. It was on my way that I met Jideofor.

I actually sighted him coming towards me, in my head I was like who is this tall young man, he has a very fine physic and very presentable. I guess he must have read my thoughts as he smiled at me almost immediately. Wow!!! Indeed he was made on a Sunday as the smile was PERFECTO... Well, I didn't see anything wrong in admiring one of God's wonderful creation.

Almost immediately i heard a voice said hi I am Jideofor what's your name. Low and behold it was our angelic man smiling down at me with his hands extended. I know I admire you but hello I don't know who you are, I said this in my head. I really don't like talking to strangers because you never can tell the intent of anybody but well it was a harmless greeting I guessed. I wasn't harsh and I also wasn't friendly so I responded politely, hi. What's your name please, I was like in my head what do you want to use my name for? My name is Ella I replied. Wow, what a beautiful name for a gorgeous lady, I smiled and made to leave but instead of leaving, I saw myself in a car.

I knew I was not still trekking to church but I couldn't say a word that I was not going to my direction. I just sat and was smiling sheepishly. There were two hefty young men in the vehicle as well. Looking very terrifying one at the front seat and the other behind. I was sitting in the middle of one of these men and Jideofor by my right hand side. I was scared but couldn't say anything. I was aware that I wasn't safe but unfortunately i couldn't do anything because it seems I have been hypnotized.

We kept driving, I saw the lights fades, the beautiful roads disappeared, the houses and peoples all faded out and all I could see was untiled road, dusty, bushy tracks, scaring faces smiling at us as we drove in. Some waved, some smiled, some jumped in happiness. In my head, all I was thinking was how did I get here, I am suppos to be in church, who are these people and why do they look strange. Why are they waving and smiling and excited on seeing our vehicle? My fear hightened I felt so cold but my facial expressions was so delightful as I smiled at everything.

Meanwhile, Jideofor have tried to say one or two words as the journey proceeds. He talked about a few things, how his dad met his mother in the iri ji festival. It is a time when the Igbo people celebrate new yam and eats it with their king. At this time, they pray to the gods to bless and flourish them for the season. Some of his travels to other countries for tour but how he still preferred his father's land admist the beautiful things out there. As he spoke I just look at him, smiled and nod my head in agreement to all he is saying.

The journey was a very long one. I kept on looking side ways to see if anybody would notice my uneasiness and help out but seems we have crossed that part as everyone we meet now seem to just be smiling and waving and jumping. After a few kilometers, I didn't see any body again, the road became very dried with no lights. It became very dark and my fear increased. All of a sudden the car stopped in a middle of nowhere. No houses, no lights, no people, nothing. I turned and there was no Jideofor, no driver, no hefty scaring men, I could only see myself in the car and this time I wasn't smiling again but fully with my senses. I have never been this scared in my entire life.

The car doors opened by itself. Like in a horror movie. I was startled. I wanted to scream but couldn't find my voice. My legs shivered my teeth grind together, my body became very cold. I pinched myself to make sure it was real and I actually felt the pain. I couldn't move or do anything in a while. The flash of what is happening and what just happened keep moving in my head. I was so much in fear but the thought of just sitting in there alone and after not seeing those I was with made me more terrified. I told myself i have to go before they resurfaced again. I summoned courage and came down. Thank God I had my phone with me. I switched on the phone light, it will not come up. It wasn't funny. My phone wasn't bad. The light was working perfectly well. As I tried to switched it on I heard a sound, my heart sank, so they have finally come to take me. So this is how I will end without giving the chance to say goodbye to my loved ones or even write then my Will. I turned immediately and it was my bag that fell off my hand. I caused but I had to concentrate. I begged and sobbed that the light came back on so I could see the place I was. It heard my plea and it did came up. I felt a little bit at eased. I tried to call but there was no service. I told myself, you are finished. How did I get here, what really happened to me. Was it just for the fact that I responded to a greeting or because I actually admired a stranger that have caused me this? I cried bitterly.

I was supposed to lead in the praise and worship at the church program. The program was to kick start us for the year. It is customary for us to have a prayer and fasting session at the beginning of every year. We had prepared very well for the program and the priest have asked all ministers to be on time for a brief meeting before the program so that we would be able to be fully ready for ministration. Now, I couldn't reach anybody to tell them where I was and what have happened and I am sure they must have tried my number. It was a very sad thing. I imagined the disappointment and the confusion my absence would have cost because I have assured them that I will be present as I have never missed the rehearsals ever since we started. Still, I have to think of first how to leave this strange place.

I couldn't think properly, my head was full with so much thoughts. I don't want to die atleast not like this. I didn't know where to turn to or how to begin, I was in a middle of God knows where with no one to help. There was no one in sight, no street sign, no building around nothing. Just me and a strange car and God help me I don't know how to drive. Tears rolled down my eyes. I wanted to scream for help but I was scared because I didn't know who would hear my voice and come out in that cold night. So I started walking. There were some road tracks so I followed it. I turned right and then I heard a voice staying, hi I am Jideofor what's your name and then I woke up...

Thank you for taking your time to read my piece. I hope you love it...

4
$ 0.20
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
$ 0.10 from @Rafd9828
Avatar for Cheche28
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! You had a luck my friends, today would have been your final moment but thank God that was just a dream... Maybe it was a sign or vision to you to actually show you what may happen in real life... Good one!

$ 0.00
2 years ago