Role model

4 37
Avatar for Champion
2 years ago
Topics: Role model

According to Wikipedia, a role model is a person whose behaviour, example, or success is or can be emulated by others, especially by younger people.

A role model is an inspirational figure that helps others discover their true potential.

I have always wondered who are my role models, and I know the answer changes over the time. What is the first thing that comes to mind because I am definitely not near to being a role model but there are few personalities that stick out for me.

A particular year, while I was still teaching, I asked my students to define a role model. For children, the answer is usually an inspirational figure like a celebrity or sports star.

Meanwhile, adults usually have leaders or people they admire. In both cases, the answers are usually focused on people.

One of my students wrote this down: To be a role model is to be someone who sets a good example for others to follow and do their best. That definition is simple, yet universal. My student was not being political. He simply followed his heart and his mind to find inspiration. The result was effortless and beautiful.

Answering the question "What is a role model?" may seem like a trivial thing to do, but the act of questioning allows us to see things from different perspectives, both literal and metaphorical ones. Questioning allows us to understand how something works or how something came to be the way it is.

The real question should be who isn't a role model?

One of my students asked; "Why do we have to have one person that we label as the role model and then dismiss all others"

Choosing one as role model doesn't mean you are dismissing others "I replied".

The role model for a students around around their age is most likely a sports star, footballers, musicians and so on. If we are to judge by that then, everyone has thousands of role model.

Individuals are not role models for only one thing. One of my favorite quotes that pulls me away from this thought is "You cannot inspire others if you can't inspire yourself."

I feel we are all on a journey through life and there are various paths that we take. We have to remember that along these paths there will be twists, turns and forks which will shape our character in many ways.

We should celebrate everyone and what they have done or are doing, instead of comparing ourselves to each other.

At this moment, when I look around and meet new people I instantly want to know about their role models and why they are their role models. My first question is always – who do you look up to?

I like to understand why people love that person so much.

We all have a role model.

We all have a role model. Whether it’s someone in your immediate family, a teacher or a public figure: It’s likely that person has influenced you in some way. Whether it’s the way you dress, speak or act.

Your role model can be from anywhere. I have seen a lot of people on this platform that has chosen these set of people as role model. And I believe they are truly a Role model, because I've learnt a lot from them. @Olasquare , @Oikawa , @HappyBoy @Jane , @meitanteikudo @Fexonice1 and so on.

These people listed above must have a thirst for knowledge.

Einstein was a role model because he had a thirst for knowledge. He said, "It's not that I'm so smart, it's just that I stay with problems longer."

Steve Jobs was a role model because he understood that technology is a tool to solve problems.

Another set of role models I've seen on this platform is @Jelena @Giddyboy @fantagira.

Sponsors of Champion
empty
empty
empty

The people we look up to are not necessarily the ones who are physically present in our lives. They may be living far away in an unknown country, or may even be spirits that exist in another dimension. What makes them role model?

A person is called a role model because he inspires others to do better like him. He can be influential for better or for worse. A role model can be the best teacher in your life or a life-long inspiration.

Some of the popular personalities can be considered as role models based on their achievements, but there are few people who cannot become a role model even if they have done something great because they have also done something wrong or have committed some serious mistakes.

The people who become a role model mostly because of their dedication to their work and strength of character can transform themselves for the betterment of society.

Thank you for reading

5
$ 0.17
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @Jelena
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
Sponsors of Champion
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Champion
2 years ago
Topics: Role model

Comments

Never considered my self to be a role model to anyone but after reading this.. makes me want to pull my stuff together and be better. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot for mentioning. 😊 I am really glad to read that you consider me a person who can be a role model for others. It is good to have role models and of course it can be more than one role model, as you said, which motivates us to be good at what we do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing, now I'm sure of the main reason people keep hailing me and calling me their mentor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like a paragon teachers serves as a role model, students seems to imitate our behavior and follow what they do. We do have received respect if we do our responsibility as a role model

$ 0.00
2 years ago