When life happens

0 18
Avatar for CeeJHay7
2 years ago

"I can't remember the exact moment it all happened, maybe it has always been there yet I can't pinpointed when I found out. Maybe it was on that fateful day when you were crying, the way you trusted me, or maybe it was the way you didn't shy away from reaching out to me" I stopped to wipe my tears. I'm crying.

"It might still be the way you made me laughing the days when I thought I was useless or maybe it was the way you listened to me even when it's clear I'm talking gibberish. Maybe i fell for the way you laughed with your head thrown back at my silly jokes which I'm sure I've told a million times" I said with a smile looking at the only piece of man who I'm ready to give my life for.

He was crying, not the wailing type of cry but the silent type. The tears made their way silently down his cheeks and by instinct I reached out to wipe them.

He caught my hand and held them to his cheeks, then he kissed my palms alk the while looking me in the eyes.

"I love you, Tunde Kelvin Adeboye" I said with all the fibers in me " and I'll love you till forever comes"

I was broken when I met him, damaged even. He was broken too. The first time I met him was on the 7th day after my breakup with Nonso, who never told me he was a gigolo.

"Isn't that drink too alcoholic for a pretty damsel" was the first thing he said to me.

"Is it a crime for the damsel in your story to get high" I said using a finger quote on the 'damsel'

"Not as long as her prince charming is here to protect her" he replied taking the empty seat next to me. " I'm Ben" he said lifting a shot glass to his lips.

"Oh, just as in Barbie right?" He gave me a curt nod with a smile. " I'm Jasmine. Not the Aladdin type, I'm more the Mulan type" i said taking a shot.

We exchanged contacts that night and became friends. He asked me out on our fourth date .

Seven days later he called me at 9pm, crying over the phone. I got to his house and saw him seated on the ground with a bottle of Hennessey beyween his legs. I kept my bag and sat next to him. he shifted the bottle to my side and I took a sip and gave him back. This continued for many minutes till he said, "I'm HIV positive"

I didn't care of his status. His viral load is low and he's healthy anf faithful to his meds.

We both found each other and stayed together. He got infected by his ex girlfriend and had been rejected by many girls after learning of his health status.

I waited a few minutes then I said,"I had a hysterectomy "

The last abortion I did for Nonso lead to an emergency hysterectomy and i lost my womb and bade farewell to Eve carrying a child.

That night we drank and drank and drank till we got drunk and woke up with a huge hangover.

We didn't break up. We healed each other.

Paying no ears to the priest I leaned forward and kissed my husband. My Tunde.

Today is March 10th, on this day last year, I met a guy in a bar and now he is my husband.

I don't know what you're going through but suicide is never an option. Better days are coming.

6
$ 0.00
Avatar for CeeJHay7
2 years ago

Comments