If I Could Go Anywhere In the Past.

6 27
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago

Have you ever wished you could travel back in time? How about inventing a time machine? If a time machine had been invented, I would go to an extraordinary place in the past, like sutter's Mill in 1848. Do you know what important event happened there? It is a highlight of our history. If you guessed the Gold Rush, you're right! One important event in California history is the Gold Rush! It covers the time when James Marshall, the owner of Sutter's Mill found a piece of Gold on his land. He shared the news and soon everyone was invading his territory trying to get gold. If I had a time machine, I would travel there, to sutter's Mill, and mine for gold.

But guess what? A few days ago, I found a really giant machine in my tree. It probably happened to fall from a UFO or something. I was going to try to travel to Sutter's Mill, which is where I want to go. I really hope it's real. Quaking with excitement, I quickly climb up the low, thick branches, and navigated through the small, higher ones. I reached the mysterious block the size of a refrigerator. I quickly noticed a button I hadn't before. Under it, a small note was attached. It read:

https://unsplash.com/photos/HWQXIYbs8PM

Dear User,

This time machine can only travel back in time. Use this controller to go back to your present. Once you travel, the current world will freeze, and you will come back to the exact same world, nothing changed but your memories and knowledge. Think of the place you want to go and the date, and push the red button. Do not speak of this to ANYONE!

The note wasn't signed.

"Oh well," I thought, "let's do this!" I quickly thought of Sutter's Mill in 1848 and pushed the big, fat, red button. I closed my eyes and waited. Nothing happened for a count of three. One. Two. Three. I opened my eyes in dismay. Nothing?

https://unsplash.com/photos/WyJ0rahs_2k

Just then, I was pulled into a swirling vortex. I felt like my life was being reversed. The time machine pulled me through time so fast. I felt like my stomach had been left behind. I was spit out on the riverbank of Sutter's Mill, stumbling around, nauseous. I straightened up and glanced at my surroundings. This was sutter's mill all right. I found a pan and a shovel in my hand, and wondered what to do with them. I looked around and quickly caught on.

I quickly bought a claim with some gold dust that had appeared stuck in my pan. I dug into the soil, quickly shaking the dust to the bottom and washed all the dirt out. After no time, I had a cup full of gold dust.

I grinned in delight. I was right to come here. This was fun too. But, I was hungry, I found a wad of old cash in my pocket which the people probably used back then, and paid for the delicious home cooked meal. The food here was pretty much the same as home, and for a second, I felt homesick. I shook away the feeling and wolfed down the rest of my food.

I thanked the chef and exited the restaurant and was surprised to find a heavy backpack on my back. Maybe I just hadn't realized it before. I found all my tools back where I'd left them. I took all the things out of my backpack. There was a big tent, a box of matches, a pack of extra clothing, and my favorite modern snacks. Maybe the inventor of the time travel machine sent it to me. I headed back toward the river, glad that I chose such to come before most people did. Suddenly, I saw something big and shiny gleaming, reflecting the light of the sun in the river. I dashed to the edge and picked up a lump of gold, as big as my fist.

"A gold nugget!" I yelled, "I found a gold nugget! Eureka! "

Some people rushed over and told me to smash it. Confused, I took my shovel and did what they said. It flattened on the ground.

"It's as flat as a button! It must be real!" Someone from the crowd exclaimed.

A few people tried to trade something for it. I shook my head and refused. The crowd soon scattered. I kept digging, hoping I could take all of this home.

A few days later, I became homesick, and wanted to go home. I had many dollars worth of gold from selling stray cats and digging. A futuristic control appeared in my hand. It had the same red button, and I instinctively knew what to do with it. I gathered all my supplies, and stuffed them into my backpack, ready to make one last sale to earn some gold.

"I'm selling this claim for a cup of gold dust!" I shouted to no one in particular.

A man walked up to me with his dog and told me he would take it.

He offered me two cups and I took it. I closed my eyes and pushed the red button, thinking of home, hoping I'd appear at the right place with all my supplies. I wanted them. I braced myself and this time, a portal appeared. Instead of sucking me in, I jumped through and landed in a soft patch of grass on my front lawn. But I had no backpack. Just a small purse that weighed a lot. I took a quick look inside and- yes! My gold was inside. I ran into my room and placed the tools and the gold on my shelf. This would be a memory that I would never Forget.


Lead Image Source: https://unsplash.com/photos/jGN7JUKZcU0

Than You @carisdaneym2 @dziefem @Zhyne06 sa pag Sponsor Godbless po sainyo🥰

Thank You din po sa mga nag Upvote ng mga article ko 😊

8
$ 0.30
$ 0.05 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @immaryandmerry
+ 3
Sponsors of Caroline17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago

Comments

Going back in time or travelling to the future never crossed my mind. It's a nice story btw. I see you're good at this huh. I don't usually read fictional stories such as this one but I did enjoy reading it. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow haha ​​thank you for appreciating my fictional story, I hope you will like it again in my next article. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sureee. No worries. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know about that event. But I want to travel back in time to witness some extraordinary happenings. It looks fun. Haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ok sis haha ​​it's so much fun if we go back to the past there's no stress but it's just scary what happened before that we were occupied by foreigners almost a lot of people sacrificed their lives for the freedom of the philippines

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeaaah, I can't imagine what life we have right now if we didn't able to get our freedom huhu.

$ 0.00
2 years ago