Expectations

4 36
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago

Expectation. If you look up the definition it means "A strong belief that something will happen or be the case". A simple word with so much more meaning. Today, the society is built up on expectations. They can be gender-wise, social status-wise and others. It looks rather easy to live up to the expectations, doesn't it? You might wonder, who am I? Well, I'm just a person who had some expectations to live up to. If your teacher asks you "what do you want to be,"and you answer either you don't know or a profession you want, they will most likely say "follow what interests you." It makes the word "expectation" more difficult. Coming from a poor family, I am speaking from experience. I lived in a small house in a small street. It wasn't built with great isolation and could also be easily flooded if there was a storm. I think I'll just skip to telling about my experience. This small intro is getting us nowhere.

If I recall correctly, it was when I was in tenth grade that my teacher asked me the same question. I sat alone in my teacher's office, discussing about future for college. Our class had gone to many gatherings about jobs that may interest us. Nowadays, people say "follow your dreams." Which encourages us to choose the profession of our choice. "I want to be an artist" was what told my teacher. It was my passion to draw and create art. I would often draw in my spare time and look for inspiration everywhere. My teacher encouraged me, I don't even think they can say no even if they didn't like my choice. Easy as that, right? I already knew what I wanted for my future.

When I got home that day, I brought up the subject about my future to my family. I told them about my plans, but their reaction was not what I expected. They disapproved of it. Their expressions were horrifying for me to look at. Disappointment was written all over their face. One would think that parents would support you all the way, but that isn't the case with everyone. They told me that it would be hard to find a stable job as an artist and that it would not pay much. My mom said that I should choose "better" professions such as a doctor, an engineer or a lawyer. I understood why they suggested the specific profession. The professions gave people a lot of income. My mom is a stay-at-home mom while my dad ran a small kiosk beside our house. They only wanted the best for me. "Don't even think about becoming an artist. You will do much better with a different profession" was what my dad said before he closed the subject.

I thought about what my parents had said, and it made me more confused about what I wanted. My teacher told me to do what I want, but my parents expect me to choose a profession which is considered "beneficial" there were only a few days left before we had to send in our applications for what university we wanted to go to. The same question ran through my head every single day, "should I or should I not do as what my parents expect of me?" I didn't want to disappoint my parents; I wanted to help them out so our lives could be better, but it would mean letting go of my dream as an artist.

The day when we sent the application, I felt as if a heavy burden was taken away from my shoulders. I felt at ease, but held guilt in my heart. My parents couldn't believe my choice and told me "study and work hard to achieve it." Once again, I felt a heavy burden on my shoulders. I had to make them proud. Every day I worked hard and studied hard. I aced my exams and got top grades, but not without the cost of my. Social life. Throughout my university years I spent my time living up to my parents' expectations that I never hung out with my friends and practically lived in my room and library.

Now, I am what my parents expected me to become, a doctor. Yes, I chose to follow my parents expectations. I wonder if I succeeded to go beyond their anticipation. Sure, I like being a doctor. All the people I meet are nice, both child and adult, but I don't feel satisfied with my gain. I wonder how my life would be today as an artist. Would I have a hard time looking for a job? Will I be able to support my family like I do now? I still do artistic things when I can, but with all the load of work, I have in the hospital, I rarely find time. I won't lie that I kind of regret choosing to become a doctor instead of choosing my artist dream. If I could turn back time I would like to become an artist, but I don't want to see my parents disappointed faces.

Expectations are hard to live up to. It's not always a "win-win situation" where you get everything you want. There is a price to every choice. For me, I had to drop my dreams of becoming an artist and most of my social life to become to succeed at school and become a doctor. Although there are some good things that happened. I can support my family better with what I gain as a doctor. They have a better life now and our house is also better than what we lived in.

Author's Note:

This is just a random theme I came up with. It's in the start of the year yet for some reason one of the topics from social science just popped into my mind... If its messy, I apologize because I just wrote what came to mind regarding to theme "expectations" I had a hard time trying to write what I'm supposed to tell.

I wanted to write in 1st person this time because I didn't bother coming up with a character name. Anyways enjoy this short story!.

Lead Image

6
$ 2.92
$ 2.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @jasglaybam
$ 0.02 from @Tamia
Sponsors of Caroline17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago

Comments

You deliver it good. This happen for real and it's sad that as a child you don't have a choice because you have to think of them than yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My parents, especially my mom, expected a lot from me and she got so disappointed when I got pregnant. Sigh..As a parent, I won't expect a lot from my kids, I just want them to grow as compassionate and kind people aside from being successful and doing what they love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of my classmates in college had the same experience as this. They said, they only chose IT because this is what their parents want them to be in the future since it's indemand. Sadly, we mostly live up to expectations of others, and forget about living the life we want for ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Less expectation, less disappointments we receive. Nice article ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago