Getting Drunk on Stupid

2 29
Avatar for Carnessial
3 years ago

A sad part of growing up is that there are less things that seem to interest me. I feel that I would get bored easily even if I were to try something new or visit a new place. As a result, drinking is a way for adults (and underage teenagers) to loosen up. Since I abstain from alcohol for personal and health reasons, I have my own alternative of being intoxicated and expressing stupid and obnoxious behavior.


Getting drunk on stupid is basically behaving in a silly way which is doing something that is so stupid that it is funny. So it is basically taking the concept of the film “The Room” and applying it to making a situation joyful out of stupidity.


On Fridays and Saturdays, I frequent a goth club in Salt Lake City. I have been a frequent guest for several weeks and I have noticed that it was getting less interesting than when I first visited the place because it was repetitive having to go back every weekend. One night there were large, black balloons that were being inflated and tossed on the dance floor. I remembered grabbing one of the balloons and started dancing with it. While I was dancing with it, I started to laugh out loud. I was laughing because I realized how incredibly stupid I was feeling about it. And it was not until I realized how my mood shifted from trying to find fun and joy to actually have that feeling of fun that I was searching for. And if you were wondering, I was certain I was getting stares at my incredibly odd behavior but I actually never really noticed or cared if I was embarrassing myself in the public.


A good example of being drunk on stupid a lot of times is during childhood. There was a time when some kids and I happened to have a car tire and we were rolling it across the neighborhood street and cars would honk at us for being reckless kids. I knew that it was very reckless and irresponsible but it was also unforgettable as the memory sticks out like a sore thumb whenever I reminisce about the very rare moments of my childhood.


Sometimes, we feel that we need to do a lot of searching or spending a lot of money in order to find enjoyment. It is about making a moment out of the current situation, even if it means that you would be called a child for being happy for the moment.

Photo Credit: Image by <a href="https://pixabay.com/users/clker-free-vector-images-3736/?utm_source=link-attribution&amp;utm_medium=referral&amp;utm_campaign=image&amp;utm_content=312731">Clker-Free-Vector-Images</a> from <a href="https://pixabay.com/?utm_source=link-attribution&amp;utm_medium=referral&amp;utm_campaign=image&amp;utm_content=312731">Pixabay</a>

4
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Carnessial
3 years ago

Comments

As a millennial and a person that is growing up, one of my biggest enemy is procrastination so I can't really enjoy every moment to the fullest.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe you need to do outdoor activities too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago