Imaginary but Real

16 30
Avatar for Canah-el
2 years ago

Most often than not our personal viewpoint of the word REAL or REALITY is something that we see, touch and is exciting. So much has to be proven and so much has to be tested before we declare something to be real. This is how the world taught us and this is almost true to all. But I experienced different, several years ago. I believed something to be real without seeing it, touching it and even if I know to my very core that it does not exist.

Growing in a family with strict father was something very bizzare and uncommon in our little barrio that time. I could say I was a bit deprived of my right as a child to play compared to my childhood friends. I can still recall how I envied my friends as they enjoyed running around the neighborhood enjoying the rain while rolling a “kaliding” or a motorcycle's used wheel. I know it was fun, actually it was very fun. I can feel it even if could only see them from the inside of our house while peeking through a small hole in a closed window. How I wish I could join them, how I wished I could enjoy the rain like them, how I wish I could laugh like them while running wet with messy clothes.

Image source: Unsplash

But my father would always tell me to stay inside so I will not catch some colds and play with my siblings instead. My sibling felt the same way I did but we have to obey because we were taught to respect our parents and respecting them means following them.

My life as a child went on like that oftentimes. Therefore, I could not forget how happy I was when I used to escape home on our afternoon siesta and sneak to the backdoor to meet my friends who waited for me because we agreed to climb guava trees in the woods. Those days were like my Independence days not minding if I will be scolded once I'll get caught, those were somehow “laugh now cry later” moments but I never felt even an inch of regret at all.

I could describe my world as a door half closed to society but eventually it opened a window into the world of unknown. There I discovered so many friends, we don’t play but we talk, yes, we talk a lot. I found friendship not on people, not on my childhood friends but on things living or non-living, existing or not. Yes, you have read it right I came to befriend living and non-living things, existing or not existing but not on people. The very first one and my most favorite was that big “Calamansi” or lemon tree on our backyard. I loved climbing it when I saw little and savor its very sour fruit. Until I found myself talking to it not just once a week, twice a week or thrice a week but more than four times a week. I loved the company of that lemon tree because it’s far from people, it’s hidden behind our small house. Our conversation was not in a way that we exchange thoughts, it was just merely like I was talking to myself in front of the tree but I imagine and I can feel that the response comes from the tree. Through the passing times, I learned to love my lemon tree friend but for an unknown reason it died.

Image source: Unsplash

It made me very sad and I felt like I lost a friend, so everyday I really never forget to bring it flowers. Then, my mother really wondered why there are flowers hanged on the tree. Months after, my father discovered I developed an anemia when he noticed that I am always pale and dizzy and until now I still have it may be it is a remembrance from my tree friend.

As I get older, I have developed more silent friends and only in my college days I knew that people call them imaginary friends.

When I was a freshman student, there was a scenario when Malley, my human bestfriend caught me talking to my locker in our dormitory. She was worried about me and so I explained to her everything that I went through. Malley helped me forget my imaginary friends. I can’t even forget how she pinched me when she heard me bid goodbye to a flower while we were about to leave our dormitory on a weekend.

At this time my imaginary friends are already part of my history. They were my long-time friends who gave me comfort and friendship. A friend so true, who never lied to me, who never backstabbed me, who never betrayed me like humans do. They might be imaginary but for me they were true. They listened without complains when I needed to speak my whole heart out. They relieved me during my lonely days. With them, I never felt lonely whenever I’m alone because I know I have a company. Even if they don’t talk, even if they don’t hug me back, even if they don’t laugh if I talk silly, I felt the warmth of their soul and the genuineness of our unique but real friendship. They don’t smile, but during those times that I was with them I was happy. They are imaginary but real. The friends God gave me to hold on to so I won’t be lonely.

Thank you for sparing your time reading this article. Have a nice day.

Sponsors of Canah-el
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 3.24
$ 3.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @UsagiGallardo215
$ 0.03 from @Ling01
+ 1
Sponsors of Canah-el
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Canah-el
2 years ago

Comments

Without friends life is boring. But having good friends its a gift from GOD.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really need real friends but not the fake ones. Because they sometimes comfort us in times of hardships and trials.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my case wasn't the same as you cause my parents allow us to go with our friends and companion like we were building friendship. Playing outside and make fun with them. It was tough because your father seems to be strict. I think he gives you constrictive love like your freedom wasn't enough to feel the pleasure of being a child.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems like you really had a great childhood days. That is why today I really let my children to go out and enjoy playing with their friends coz I don't want them to miss the fun of being a child. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pareha d i ta ma'am. Sauna di sad ko kaduwa kaayo kay saon dali ra man makuyapan. Tapos kaliring tawag sa amo ana. Ganahan baya pud ko muduwa ug ingana kaso di man sugtan kay kuno lage hangak. Same nimu ma'am makigstorya sad kog tanom hahaha pero more on sa ahung iro ko makig storya. Mututok man gud siya sa ahung mata pati tong among ering ni jef na nawala ba. Mao sakitan ko na wala na to sila. Mas maayo man hinuon amiguhon mga ingana ma'am kay di ta mahadlok ma stab. Pero mao lage an di masabot sa uban kay abi naa tay samting sa atung utok.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tinuod gyod na ma'am. Mawala man gud atu kakapoy gikan sa work nga makig storya kos akong mga tanom. Iring ug iro pod diay imu ma'am?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko kaayo sa tanom ma'am kay di ko hilig ug pananom pero hilig ko mamisbis labi na sa mga tanom sa ahu mama. Ganahan man ko magtan aw na basa ang yuta nila ba.

Oo ma'am, sa hayop pud ko hihi usahay sa manok 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to imaginary friends. But unlike you, I use to talk to myself when I was young. When I do chores, I tell stories to myself. Sounds funny, but true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's another imaginary friend. I did it also in front of the mirror.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Atleast you have the chance to have friends in them, you may only imagine them but that makes you happy and that was all that matters. I don't either have siblings so i often talk to my toys pretend that I have someone to talk to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We treat them as real friends.... You have also an experience that your friends are the toys. It doesn't matter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my first time I read this one friend but I know it's happen in real life. Some people the nature or the imaginary things can be their friends because of being alone always since they don't have a choice because of their strict parents.

I understand you friend. I'm happy that you have an imaginary things friends before that give you a happiness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello friend. You're right. Therefore, children must be encouraged to explore the world, socialize and enjoy childhood. As long as they are safe. Thank you for reading my article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes friend that's right. Parents should be aware for this. They must give their children a freedom to explore and to enjoy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But sad to say friend if they could find fake friends...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And that's another problem friend. 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago