Bitcoin Fixes This

19 17

"Bitcoin fixes this."

You hear that a lot in this space. In fact you hear it so often it's become a running joke.

Bitcoin fixes ... racism, poverty, pandemics, global warming, whatever, you get the idea.

So this got me wondering, "What does Bitcoin fix?"

The first answer that popped into my mind, the easy answer, was that it fixes money. But I don't think that tells the whole story.

For me, I think the better answer is that Bitcoin helps us fix the incentives. And of course by Bitcoin, I'm talking about Bitcoin Cash.

Among the many problems with the US dollar is that it is old technology. But we keep using it because there's no better option. It's like dealing with the DMV. We do it because we have to, not because we want to.

Let's ignore for now all the other myriad of problems with the USD, the Euro, the Pound, the Yuan, etc. How their supply can be manipulated, how their usage can be censored, and so on.

Because on top of all that, the traditional banking system is also very inefficient. The reason it's so expensive to send money from one country to another is because you have different banks trying to talk to one another, to confirm that what was sent was what was received, that it wasn't double-spent. It's a trust issue, among other things.

Bitcoin Cash doesn't suffer from that problem because the ledger is distributed all around the world through a network of computers that provide an unbelievably high level of security and speed. When you send someone BCH, regardless of where they are in the world, they will immediately receive that money, and it will have cost the sender almost nothing to send it, no matter the amount.

So why is this important?

The ability to be able to control our money, to be able to send it across borders, without asking for permission from some bank, or having to wait for their hours of operation, and pay their ridiculous fees, changes everything.

Let me tell you a story. I'm warning you though, it's a stupid story, but I'm going to tell it anyway.

Last year, I went up to Big Bear Mountain with my family and some friends. It was snowing so chains were required. When we got to the base of the mountain, there was a huge line of cars waiting to go up, and since they have to inspect every car to make sure everyone had their chains on, the wait was excruciating. What made it really hard was once I felt like I had to take a piss. I mean I could hold it, and I did, but it would have been nice to have relieved myself and gotten back in the car since we were barely moving. Some people did hike through the snow and find some tree to hide behind to do their business, but I preferred not doing that unless it became absolutely necessary. Anyway, while waiting to get past the checkpoint, I thought, "Man wouldn't it be great if there was a porta potty out here, even just one at like the halfway point so people could use it?"

But of course there wasn't one. Probably not worth the trouble and cost of maintaining it, I figured. But I asked myself what if you charged people? I mean, you could charge 50 cents to use it or something. But who the hell carries around quarters anymore? And if you used a credit card, they probably have some minimum charge that would make it infeasible. On the other hand, if everyone had Bitcoin Cash on their phone, they could just scan the QR code, the door opens, you do your business, and the company that operates the porta potty would get to keep all the money since there is no middleman.

See, I told you the story was stupid, but I hope it helps illustrate the point I'm trying to make.

Now let me take it one step further.

I have wanted to be a professional writer for my entire adult life. But up until now, I've had trouble getting myself to devote the time and energy required to write with any real determination.

But now I suddenly find myself writing more than ever, and it's because of the incentives.

"Blame it on the incentives," I once tweeted.

It's true, read.cash has incentivized me to write.

You might think to yourself, well, if you're so passionate about it, you should do it for free. But it doesn't work like that, at least not for me. I need to be confident that whatever work I put into something, there is a reasonable chance to earn some kind of payoff. read.cash, in conjunction with Bitcoin Cash, has given me that.

There are many ways to earn on this site, and I've done it all. At first there were some big tippers who encouraged me with $50 and $100 tips or more. When that slowed down came the affiliate fees I earned during the whole IFP debate. But that mostly went away as well, and I noticed that whenever the money started to dry up, I became less motivated to write.

I still wrote because I hold BCH and was motivated to promote this site and the use of Bitcoin Cash, but that was only a secondary motivation. It didn't provide the same motive power I got from directly earning through this site.

But now we have this fund and this point system, and what do you know, I'm suddenly writing up a storm again. It's gamification on steroids. Even tipping someone earns me points, so I'm rewarded for reading posts and tipping them if I feel like it. Sometimes those points are worth more than the amount I tipped. Plus tips have the added benefit of sending a signal out into the world. I'm not just giving someone money for nothing, I'm giving it in exchange for the value I see in what they've produced, and I am paying to put a signal out to the world that I want to see more of this, to see more people like this. It's like what I was trying to say when I compared Tipping v. Liking.

Bitcoin Cash fixes incentives by allowing sites like read.cash to exist. And I'm sure part of the reason blockchain.poker is so popular is because of how cheap it is to play there. I'm guessing the rake is so low because they don't have to deal with credit card processing fees, or worry about chargebacks, or fraud.

Some might argue you could do something similar to this site using Venmo. People could post their Venmo QR code and ask for tips that way. But good luck trying to create what read.cash has created. I don't see how it's possible. Try getting Venmo to split a payment received by an author with the author, their affiliate, as well as the site, all while dealing with amounts as small as a penny, and do it non-custodially.

You can't, because you'd be using a system built on USD. USD is old money, it's like those old Nokia cell phones, while BCH has the potential to become the iPhone 11 Pro Max.

I believe that by allowing us to remove the rent seekers, a tool like Bitcoin Cash has the potential to revolutionize the world. Bitcoin Cash might not fix everything, but if you can fix the incentives, I bet we're going to see a whole slew of new possibilities open up.

Imagine if people are given a way to more easily use their energy for profit.

Bitcoin Cash can make that possible because BCH is useful.

Thanks for reading.

5
$ 0.00

Comments

I love this article. This one is actually one of the best articles I have read here so far. You gave me an idea how useful BCH is. Also, the way you write inspire me. I always want to become a good writer and this one really helped me to keep myself inspired and motivated. Thank you very much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The ability to be able to control our money, to be able to send it across borders, without asking for permission from some bank, or having to wait for their hours of operation, and pay their ridiculous fees, changes everything.

The reason why I am using BCH now. It's fast, cheap and reliable.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Read your article yesterday, but forgot to leave a comment. I think your example about porta potty is excellent. There could be a ton of autonomous businesses there, especially when we have Elon Musk's satellites which would provide good mobile internet coverage everywhere. The only problem I see with this is that left unattended people are pigs :) This potty will need to be cleaned regularly. But otherwise, yeah, Bitcoin Cash opens a ton of opportunities for people. Awesome article!

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I respect this article dude!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bitcoin cash pleasure to me for earn money.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I read your article. Your article are good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bitcoin is purely speculative and is a poor currency, but better than gold. The rarity of BTC will take hold to push price up from now on. Especially in 2021 onwards.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol, look at all these spam comments. Wtf are these people getting paid for this?

Anyway I hate this quote and might be replaced with "Bitcoin fixes sh*t" instead. I understand how Bitcoin works and what is the basic target group right now. It is not millenials or twitter idiots that use this ridiculous phrase. These shills are probably the same idiots spamming forums and social media about how great bitconnect was.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This aticle is educating nice write keep it up soon I believe btc will rule the world

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well this one was a lengthy one but it was quite engaging and funny the place where you said you were pressed, good thing you didn't do on yourself😂. Well Bitcoin like you have said doesn't fix racism and all of that. Infact I've noticed with new tech comes new challenges and responsibilities. Now sending money across to anybody is very easy and direct with cryptocurrency but looking at the Bitcoin blockchain and Ethereum block the fees are too alarming. Some set of people milking us up. This is why at some point regulation will come into the crypto market.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for reading. I forgot about this one =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really like thus article. But coin cash, the future

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Loved the article. Many debatable points also shared. But the main essence that bitcoin fixes money, is truly right.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey man i love the way of your writing. Thks you for sharing this article about BCH. And BTC.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

your article is really good..this is initiative for me..nice job and stay connected

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In the first place, the story narrated makes sense as it picks out some points on how useful BCH is. Likewise, BCH is the only coin fixing incentives not BTC. I quite agree with you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The facts you stated about BCH are the reason why I personally started using it, and actually the story wasn't stupid at all, it was very simple but it made your point clear so it worked well. Oh i also loved how you talked about the advantages of BCH, Read.Cash and your writing's motives all in one article in a smooth way.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well I believe in the future of most of the crypto project. The market is still growing and once there is proper adoption we will all see the difference

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The more any profession get incentives the more likely is that many will try to join. Is a good thing and a bad thing all in once. Luckily ultimately only a few texts leave an impression on the readers, and for the writers that should be all about (obviously getting money out of your words looks good too ;)

$ 0.00
3 years ago