An Introduction

6 28
Avatar for Cain
Written by
4 years ago

I thought an introduction could be in order since this site is new. A fresh start, if you will, though it's a bit awkward introducing yourself while trying to stay anonymous at the same time.

I guess I'll begin by saying that Cain is not my real name. The second thing I'll say about myself is that, (if it wasn't obvious already), I like to write. In fact, my dream is to one day be able to legitimately refer to myself as a writer.

The only problem is I'm lazy. You might not think it, but writing is hard. It's hard to sit still for that long and maintain your focus when it would be so much easier to give in and watch something on Netflix. It doesn't help matters if on top of being lazy, you have no natural talent, and are filled with self-doubt.

But this is why read.cash is such a perfect fit for someone like me. It offers me an incentive to write in a way that wasn't possible before. Sure you could write a blog on Tumblr, or publish an article on Medium or Reddit, but at the heart of those sites is the old fashioned way of doing things. You post something, and readers can "like" what you wrote, and that's pretty much it. But with the advent of cryptocurrencies, and particularly Bitcoin Cash, it is now possible to interact with other users in this new way. I believe that by creating a new market for content, we can completely change the dynamic of how these sites work.

At least that's what I hope.

I look forward to seeing new people joining this community. I look forward to finding interesting content so I can show my appreciation by sending the creator some BCH. Because sometimes, it feels almost as good to reward others as it does to be the one being rewarded.

(P.S. I know that wasn't much of an introduction but oh well.)

2
$ 1.26
$ 0.50 from @Read.Cash
$ 0.50 from @lugaxker
$ 0.10 from @SeanBallard
+ 3

Comments

Keep up the good work! Check out my latest one if you don’t mind

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thank you for reading.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I looove writing as well. I share the same issues you do with it, except I wouldn't say its necessarily laziness? As much as perfectionism, & the daunting expectations I lay onto myself... which leads to the self-doubt you express. ESP since I am not at all anonymous lol all my ish is out there, though I've contemplated the advantages of creating an anonymous account in order to more freely create, but the transparency & weight of honor to my name increases the incentives a bit to stay more civil, & more judicious in the accuracy of my statements/claims/research... and I feel my writings carry more weight given it's behind my name... anyway I look forward to writing & growing w/ you and others on this platform. Cheers!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Cheers Sean. I look forward to seeing more people signing up for this platform and seeing your stuff here as well. Thanks for all the encouragement!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

"It doesn't help matters if on top of being lazy, you have no natural talent, and are filled with self-doubt."

We're all battling that! If you haven't, you should check out Stephen King's "On Writing." He goes into how he started out and all that. Good luck with writing!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I read it years ago. Good book. Thanks for the suggestion though.

$ 0.00
4 years ago