A Touching Story - with an elderly man.

2 28
Avatar for CNHumphrey
2 years ago

Af First...

I was in a hurry the other day and needed some cash, so I pulled over at a POS shop. An elderly man came up to me. I wondered, is he the owner of the shop, or just the operator?

I noticed a little a computer shop by the side and decided to quickly buy a flash drive.

While picking the type and memory size of flash drive that I needed, I asked the POS operator for N35, 000 cash and to include his service charge. He said that would be N700. I said OK.

The man counted out N35,000 cash and gave to me, after I had inputted my pin. I received the money without counting it and put it in my pocket.

He issued me my printed receipt which I trashed without a second thought.

Image Source: The Independent.


After I paid in cash to the computer accessories seller for the 16G flash drive, I returned to the waiting Uber and left.

Suddenly...

For some unknown reason, I had the urge to take a look at the debit alert on my phone, so I quickly did. In that very moment I was surprised and confused. I asked my Uber to please pull over.

Instead of a N35,000 debit from the POS transaction, I was seeing a debit of N3,500! I held still, looked a little harder, but the figures wouldn't change. I looked away and looked back at the debit alert but it was still the same.

I looked back at the elderly man from my side mirror. I could imagine he was trying his best with endless thoughts on his mind on how to hold on through the hardships of life. His expression belied him. He had just unknowingly given away N32,200 to a total stranger for nothing!

Imagine that I left without a care. That man would have gone home with tears and endless thoughts trying to reconcile his account to no avail.
Maybe he'd be out of business for some days, or even weeks trying to get back up. Without even realising it this man had shot himself in the foot.

Making It Right

I was close to tears at this point. My Uber driver could not understand what was going on. I showed him the debit text on my phone, and he registered the situation immediately. I was unable to speak, and he seemed to read my thoughts as he pulled back in reverse.

I cleared my teary eyes as I stepped out of the car and went over to the man.

"Sir, do you want to make another withdrawal?" He asked rather excitedly. I just smiled and gave him my ATM card and said, "Please withdraw N32,900".

"Should I add my service charge?", he asked. "Just do as I said," I responded. All done, he was about to count out the cash for payment and I said, "Sir, please don't bother." He looked confused. "It is your money," I continued. "You overpaid me in the first withdrawal. You paid me more than you debited me."

Before I knew it he was going to prostrate before me in gratitude, but I wouldn't let him, an elder, to do that. I held him up and quietly walked back to the Uber and went on my way, and I could still hear him saying many thanks with prayers of blessings.

Last Words...

I don't know what struck you the most in this story, but like little drops of water, we can each contribute to make the world a better place for everyone.

Thank you for your time and encouragement.

Lead image source: poshunter.co.


CN Humphrey.

Sponsors of CNHumphrey
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 0.72
$ 0.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Jumper-01
$ 0.01 from @TrenchKid
Sponsors of CNHumphrey
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CNHumphrey
2 years ago

Comments

The world would have been a better place if we all can be so kind and helpful to ourselves, who knows what could have happened to that man if you didn't return the money, maybe he would have killed himself thinking about the money. But unfortunately, the world is full of 80% bad people and 20% good. Which I think you're one of the 20%. I know God will reward you also in unexpected ways

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my... Too kind, your words. Thank you. You too are in the 20%.

$ 0.00
2 years ago