What is life after all?

0 15
Avatar for Bukola
Written by
2 years ago

All the rush………to build chains of businesses, to be known as the richest man/woman, to climb the highest ladder of our careers, to ultimately be successful……..is all for what? Be buried 6fts under the ground?

What’s the guarantee that all our successes account for anything? If there’s an afterlife, would we need the tales of how successful we were during our time here? Does our position/reputation matter where we are all going to?

Recycled matter that’s all our qualifications, riches, poverty, status, need I say even belief is reduced to. That’s all we end up becoming, a bunch of recycled matter, back at the bottom of the food chain.

If this is all we end up being reduced to, why are we fighting each other?, why is it so difficult for us to live in love? Why is there so much hate around? Why are you not your brother’s keeper?

Vanity upon Vanity, all is Vanity says the good old book. Life itself is but a single breath.

Today I remember how a beautiful soul with a very promising future who had already figured out what she wanted to do with her life and had already set plans in motion, lost to the cold hands of death in a road traffic accident. The precious breathe given to her has been withdrawn and she has gone to be with her maker.

Need I talk about the dead man I saw lying on the street a while back, on my way to work. He laid there helpless, lifeless, unable to complain about the cold… his left was some few meters away from his body, I wonder what led to his death.

What about the incessant kidnapping stories flying around and thriving each day. An innocent girl goes to party with her friends, the next thing she finds herself begging for her live. Her captors do not listen, they plunge at her with sharp knives and start stabbing her till she’s dead, after which they proceed to decimating her body, all the while one of her captors records everything on camera and post it without fear of being captured on the internet. The state of lawlessness in the land😩🤦🏾‍♀️🤦🏾‍♀️

Or is it the poor entrepreneur, who got a cooking job at a private residence, on getting there her host attempts to drug her and use her for God knows what, she only escaped by God’s grace.

These past few days I’ve spent it asking myself what exactly this life is over and over again. Do I need to keep trying to be successful? Do I need to keep chasing riches? What exactly do I need to do even though I know that my breathe can be abruptly ceased one day, and the joy that I bring to everyone around me can turn to sorrow and mourning in the blink of an eye.

I’ve stayed off social media for a while, because honestly I’ve been depressed and confused. In all my rumination, guess what I found out. Life is too damn short, make every day memorable. Hence I’ve decided to stop sulking, but keep enjoying the beauty of life day after day, and to keep being grateful for the breath of life.

Thanks for reading
Lots of love ❤️

1
$ 0.15
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
Sponsors of Bukola
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bukola
Written by
2 years ago

Comments