60 Seconds to...

4 25
Avatar for BryRi
Written by
3 years ago

Often there are lessons happening right in front of us all the time and if we can slow down long enough to take a look, amazing points will jump out at us, in fact it may only take 60 Seconds to...

Power of the Ice

Specifically a regularly scheduled amount of hermetic stress can have an unbelievable out come if you stick with it.

An ice bath a day keeps the doctor away.

Maybe an apple too, but let's look at the ice bath or for some a cold shower may be just what is needed. Let's dig a little deeper and see what exactly we are looking at here.

The power of the ice has flair and a way of creating an image with definite staying appeal. Yet, there's a number that you need to remember.

Sorry it's in F, but you'll get it.

59

That's right, 59F is what the body needs to trigger the right amount of stress hormones but not put things into full flight or fight responses.

So what is this 59F all about. Just remember this. 59F for 1 minute is all that is needed for a constant plan.

What's with the Ice?

So if 59 degrees is all that's needed then what's up with all of this ice talk? First let's talk about what's happening.

Whether you take a cold plung, shower or are just mostly exposed in 59 degrees or less for a small burst of time, several things happen.

Remember most of us are acclimated to wearing clothes or being in temperatures that keep us comparable and comfortable with that 70 degree environment so a 20 degree switch or adjustment is substantial. Nearly a 30% change.

So what happens?

Our bodies all react differently but similar all the same. There is a quick release of hormones that focus our attention and let us know that something is amiss.

So the challenge and opportunity is that if you know intellectually what your environment is, you can basically rewire the system.

59F water for a minute will trigger all of the systems that give you basically the vascular workout comparable to doing a light workout of your choice.

I don't say that as they are replacements, yet it is a step by step process that is procedural and creates an overall increase in many systems notably your vascular and immune systems.

Now that is awesome. But so what?

Here's the Kicker

I asked so what in the beginning too and here's what I came up with over the lsat 18 months after having either a cold rinse at the end of the shower for a minute or more, sitting in a tub with water and ice for 3 minutes or more, or just sitting outside in sub 59 degree weather with minimal clothing to increase exposure.

  • No cold, flu or any other seasonal bug where as previous to this time it would be several times per year

  • I sleep more soundly and between 7-8 hours per night where as before I would toss and turn all night and maybe get 5 hours if I was lucky.

  • Feel more focused and able to navigate through the daily stressors whereas before there was a hair trigger feeling of response.

  • Junk food cravings have reduced to nil whereas before it was massive.

I am sure there are others, that I can't remember at the moment, but this is it for my 10 minute timer.

6
$ 0.90
$ 0.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of BryRi
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for BryRi
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Sounds like a cold bath or shower has many positive benefits, I am sure it helps, though I have to say 15c is too cold for me. I don't know about those people who cut a hole in the ice and go for a swim either! very brave but not for me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

59F is 15°C.

The water I wash me with is way colder my bedroom and house do not even have 2°C/35.6F

Perhaps the small place we sit, covered by blankets might reach the high temp of 59F.

True is we never had the flu or catches a cold no matter how cold and miserable we feel. As a child I learned bedrooms should be cold. The reason why we toss and turn has to do with blood circulation and to some pain. I still turn around and have bad nights due to other health issues and the cold.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It sounds like you have a fantastic system. Excellent! Thanks for commenting and sharing. Here's a great write-up that talks about temperature as well. It's really helpful... https://selfhacked.com/blog/12-reasons-embrace-cold/

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you haven't seen it yet, be sure to check out this event. https://www.wimhoflive.com/ Normally you would have to go see him in person (which would be awesome yes!), yet in light of current global travel issues, this is a great opportunity.

Also, I have a 50% of coupon I can share if you're interested. (Nothing financial in this for me, just sharing because I believe in the power of the practice.

If you're interested, just reply to this comment and let me know and I can respond with it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago