When parents are offended

2 13
Avatar for Boluwatife
2 years ago

Parents are custodians of children. They are the gateways by which children come to the world. They are the ones given the responsibilities of moulding the lives of children. Parents have great roles to play in the life of their children right from birth. In the course of moulding and bending, either parents or their children get offended.

We all know that our parents love us. They want the best for us. They want to be proud of us. No parent wishes the children to become vagabonds that will bring sorrow and shame. There are some children that never want to be corrected. They want to have their way all the time. But when a child is left to him/herself, it ends in destruction. I'm sorry to say, some parents are at fault sometimes. Like a fish, the best time you can bend it is when it is still wet. If you try bending when dried, you will end up breaking the fish. Parents are to train their children when they are young not when they are old and unbreakable.

When parents are offended, it is hard at times to beg them. I once had an issue with my parents and it was like I was trying to impose my will. My dad then became quiet and I knew he was offended. I went to school and came back but he was still quiet. I tried bringing up a discussion but he wasn't responding. I eventually apologized to him. He asked why I was apologizing and then I explained to him and that was how it was settled.

So in these times when it seems difficult for parents and children to connect, how do we pass across our message to our parents? That is how do we communicate our message to our parents?

Sometimes we need to tell them how we feel by having a discussion with them. What if we are not bold to talk directly at first? We can write a letter. Sometimes I feel timid to express my feelings to my parents so I write a letter. I've actually done this a couple of times and it has helped. Writing a letter helps us to articulate our thoughts into writing.

Writing letters at times still does not help. But, there is another way out. God is our ultimate parents, our earthly parents are the custodians hired by God. That is, tell God about it and probably have a conversation with them and trust God to handle the rest.

We can also go through our siblings. We can ask our older or younger siblings to help beg our parents. There is no way offense will not come. It only depends on how we handle it.

Thanks for reading. Have a blessed day.

Boluwatife writes 🖌️

3
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @Oikawa
$ 0.01 from @Kiingsley
Sponsors of Boluwatife
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Boluwatife
2 years ago

Comments

This is a nice one. I love the point you said about training up the child when he is going. It's true, if a child is not brought up well with some goodly culture, he would end up disappointing the family. Just like a child brought up in the Christian ways, even if he want to play a little stubbornness to be world of navigating away from Godly things, I tell you, it'll be hard for him to some extent because the conscience will be judging him.

Also, when my siblings offends my dad, they usually come to me to lead them to beg my dad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. Training from young age is important. I appreciate your comment

$ 0.00
2 years ago