When I was Grade 1

0 25
Avatar for Blythampere
2 years ago
Topics: Memories, Grades, Failure

Grades are just numbers and letters.It will not define the level of your intelligence.Your failures today will not define who you are in the future.

Reminiscing my memories and my former teacher did when I was Grade 1.Still remembering the main details of that chapter of my life.Ten years ago,I’m an innocent child with innocent thinking. Doesn’t know most of the things in this world .An immature,dirty and messy child who just want to play with friends all day.Curiosity on some things doesn’t hit me. That time,I just wanna have fun.

https://unsplash.com/photos/tvc5imO5pXk

After I finished kindergarten,I entered Grade 1.The suitable age to became Grade 1 is six years old.Even though I’m five years old only,the school accepted me because I’m able to read but not well.

When I entered Grade 1, I still doesn’t know to read and write well and I’m awared that I’m a hard-headed Grade 1 pupil.Sometimes my teacher hit me by stick.Before,hitting pupils are legal.It’s an old culture and a way of discipline in order for the child to learn but now it’s illegal.They can file case against you if you caught doing that.It’s based on the law.

Let me share you my story,my experienced when I was Grade 1.An experienced that engraved in my mind.One time our teacher conducted a dictation,it’s a dictation of Tagalog words about our lessons in Filipino.It might be easy for me to write what the teacher dictated to me now but not on that time.I’m still on the stage where my learning and understanding progress in lessons is slow.Also,I’m not good at spelling.After the dictation I’ve got zero out of ten.I don’t care what’s my score because I did what I can.Perhaps,I’m not the only who got the zero score,some of my classmates also got and most of them are boys.Our Grade 1 teacher ordered us who got the zero score to go to Grade 2 classroom with her.We followed what our teacher said so we formed a straight line and gradually entered to Grade 2 classroom holding our paper with zero score.The Grade 2 pupils and they’re teacher are staring at us.Maybe they’re shocked and don’t know what were doing in their classroom.And my Grade 1 teacher said “Ito yung mga maggra-grade two oh”(“This will be the Grade two pupils”).Were holding our paper that were like a criminal taking picture by the police.That time I don’t care what my teacher said but as I grow up I realized what my teacher are trying to imply.Para bang pinapamukha sa amin na ang mga maggrade-grade two sa susunod na taon ay mga bobo.It look likes my teacher said that time that were dumb,doesn’t have brain,stupid or idiot.Then,we went to our classroom that look likes it’s normal or nothing happened.

https://unsplash.com/photos/4ApmfdVo32Q

Decade passed and I’m still remembering it.I don’t know but it doesn’t traumatized me.I think I’m young on that time to suffer from depression and trauma.As of now,I’m eagerly maintaining my record as honor student since Grade 1 until now.After that scenario,I pushed myself to grind.Still fresh in my mind what my former Grade 1 teacher said to me”Nung third grading ka lang kasi tumalino”.She said that it was third grading when I became smart.When I think of it,I just smile because I doesn’t claimed that I’m smart.When someone asked me that why I’m smart.I just smirk and laugh but my mind says”Hindi ako matalino,madiskarte lang”

I’m doesn’t mad or planted bad thoughts to my former teacher because past is past.Hitting or humiliating pupils on many people as a way of discipline and in order to learn is not the key for learning.Instead fear will lead on him/her.Grades are just grades.You can put 99 or A+ but it will never define the level of one’s intelligence.

1
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Blythampere
2 years ago
Topics: Memories, Grades, Failure

Comments