Doners and Shawarmas from Chef Ala!

0 143
Avatar for Blind
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Hobby, Review, Food, Travel, Lifestyle, ...


4 years back, my friends and I went to the inauguration of Ala cafe downtown. It was a special occasion since our gluttony for authentic Arabic shawarma was always left unsatiated. However, from around the bushes, we heard there was this Turkish guy who had made a name for himself in the city for making authentic shawarmas, and he was opening his own restaurant.

4 years later, everything seems just like it was. I was more than happy seeing Ala still putting out smiles on a plate, and very well doing so. The pandemic has been hard on everyone, but Ala is still pushing through. It goes to show good food and service always persist through time.

Even now, Ala has kept authentic Turkish sweets, Arabic falafel, manakeesh, and more on the display. It feels as if nothing has changed, as if time hasn't passed at all. I wish I could show you the downstairs dining hall. Back then, Ala told us he designed the hall himself. But now, it was closed due to pandemic restrictions.

The shawarmas have since been swapped for Doner Kebabs. I agree with the swap. Shawarma has become so common here, and there are plenty of authentic tasting shawarma available in the city. However, doner is the new fad and there are very Turkish chefs that know how to get the doner meat right.

One of the unique things about Ala cafe is the kitchen window that faces the main road. As you pass by the cafe, you can watch Ala work his magic. Usually, a crowd gathers outside the window watching Ala put together a beautiful piece of art in the shape of a sandwich.

The main floor is very simple, it has always been. You enter and immediately can see the menu. You decide what you want to eat and place your order at the cashier. Two receipts are printed, one for you and one for the server. You seat yourself wherever you please and wait for the food while watching it get cooked.

I always loved how simple Ala kept the main floor compared to the downstairs floor. It is such a significant contrast. However, I prefer the main floor if I want a quick bite. The downstairs floor has much more comfortable sofas and bigger tables. Perfect for a long meal with the boys.


I decided to go with the doner. I was sure Ala wouldn't disappoint. I order one doner in bun and one in flat bread. Honestly, I am not a fan of doner in flat bread, generally. It feels wrong. The idea of a doner kebab in a bun is specifically designed as such so that the juices from the freshly shaven off meat is drained into the bun like a sponge. You get to enjoy the meat and still retain the flavor in the bun without losing anything.

Nevertheless, the flatbread doner does feel very comfortable to eat. It blurs the line between Arabic shawarma and a Turkish Doner. Were it not for the Doner sauce and fillings, they would almost be the same thing.

The beef doner was a little out of my willing range. So I settled for a chicken doner. I don't think there is much to say, the picture itself says a lot about the doner.


It is very difficult to get the right texture on a doner without a rotisserie. Sometimes, even with a rotisserie, it becomes extremely difficult to get the meat right. Doner meat is supposed to be both crunchy and juicy. The outside should be crispy and the inside should be juicy and tender. It is what makes the dish stand out.

Doner also needs the right amount of fat to meat ratio to get it to stick and cook right on a rotisserie. It needs the correct amount of basting so as not to diminish the natural flavors of the meat. I have seen some people add chili flakes to their doners, but I am not a fan of that.

As usual, the flatbread doner fell a little short for me. Ala had nothing to do with it. The meat was right, the seasoning on point, I just don't like doner in flatbread. On the other hand, the Doner in bun was too good. Look at how it holds the sandwich together. Look at the insides of the bun and how the juices are already soaking in. Ah, so delish!

I also went for a chicken pizza. It reminded me of Bistro. A chain restaurant that shut down almost 5 years ago. They had a similarly styled pizza. I asked Ala about it. He said he makes his pizza based on his time when he worked in a Bistro. Paying homage, I guess?

The thin crust chicken pizza was delicious. A huge layer of cheese with bits of chicken filet submerged in it. A thin slice of fresh tomato on ever slice of pizza. Fresh herbs and a layer of olive oil to top it off.

I would devour this pizza if I could. I was already full from the gorgeous doner that I had earlier. I asked the waitress to pack the pizza to-go. I wished Ala the best of luck and hoped I could come back here 4 more years later and still see the happy face of Ala still kicking it.

4
$ 2.82
$ 2.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @jasglaybam
$ 0.01 from @cmoneyspinner
Avatar for Blind
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Hobby, Review, Food, Travel, Lifestyle, ...

Comments