The power of starting it NOW and doing it CONSISTENTLY

2 23
Avatar for Black_Angel
2 years ago
Sponsors of Black_Angel
empty
empty
empty

Hello, this is your Angel, Thain.

For today's article, I'm just going to write some reflections of mine.

So basically, when you guys get to my profile, you'll see that I've already been a user for 2 months, but I just started writing the last week of March, which means, essentially, I've been here writing for just more than a week now, 2 weeks in general.

Yes! delayed, I might say. And I had a really good idea about it.

You know, college and all these responsibilities that just keep popping up, which makes it hard to manage. Up until now, I've been helping myself not focus too much on one thing. Because as much as we consider things important and we label them as a priority, our focus doesn't go along with them most of the time.

We are prone to distractions. We can't deny that. The mere existence of motivational podcasts on Spotify, pomodoro techniques, and app blocking is evidence of how distracted a person can get. 

 

And that person is me. Especially when you grow up with the mindset that multitasking makes you work fast. Which is wrong. Well, if this is applicable to some people, I don't think that it is effective on me. It cannot be, especially if what you're training is focus. Because, like, duhh, it was called focus for reason that you're only putting your attention on an individual. Not many. 

For instance, when you're looking at a microscope, you're using knobs in order to focus on a specimen and directly observe it. You don't observe details in its surroundings; you are just looking at the specimen given.

It'd be the same when it comes to us. If you have two tasks at hand and you decide to do them at the same time, yes, you might finish them, but it's either you have used too much time or the results of one of the tasks is not satisfactory.

That is because our brain is wired to focus on one thing at a time. If you do task no. 1 and then shift to task no. 2 and back to one again, it messes up your focus. 

Such that when you are fully engaged in task no. 1 and you are really motivated to do it. But you remember, you are also doing another task, so the moment you get back to task 1, suddenly all those motivations have been gone and the information, which you probably haven't jotted down, is lost and you're going to start over again, remembering all those details. See, it is more time-consuming to do that than just to finish task 1 right away and move on to task number two after.

Besides, let's just get honest here: when humans are exposed to a new task or thing, we get curious about it, and as individuals that aren't really born with a lot of patience, they tend to overwork things.

We are excited to see the results, and the feeling is overwhelming us that we designed ourselves to just go at the end right away. We are not lovers of processes, normally. We just get to live with the idea that waiting is essential sometimes. 

And that happens to me sometimes. I'm very idealistic that today I want to work. Today I want to finish it because I'm getting a lot of these happy hormones and all. But then the cortisol kicks in and we start to realize that, "Hey, what if the opposite of it happens? "What do I do with it?" "Oh my gosh, I don't have plans?"

Suddenly, we let go of the task, and yeah, "Maybe tomorrow I'll figure out what I do with that and then I'll start with it"

And then tomorrow comes and you actually forget about it. So, what now?What are you going to do now?

 

Anyways, this is me being late, but maybe not too late to actually share my thoughts. So if you have things to do, do them now or start them now, because it would really help you.

Some might argue that if I do it now, what if something bad happens that could have been avoided if I had waited a little longer?

 

Then this is where the phrase "do it consistently" can be applied. If you have second thoughts about doing it now, Try doing it tomorrow, but you have to make sure that you're going to remember it tomorrow. Make methods or changes that will encourage you to remember and stick with it.

A routine or a schedule is useless if you don't follow it. Want to do it tomorrow? Set an alarm or reminder and repeat it after your desired minute interval. 

In addition to this, a study by one of the psychologists at Harvard, which I actually forgot the name of, says that building a habit usually takes 21 days as well as breaking a habit. So, if you have a written outline of a routine and want it to become permanent in you, practice it for 21 days and who knows, you might wake up doing it all without having to remind yourself.

 

It's amazing how our brains and bodies have been structured, but It is also important to remember that we are organisms that also gets tired. That's why during your leisure time, rest and do things that make you happy.

We have only 24 hours. If you're sleeping for 8 hours, then you're just left with 16 hours. And you cannot simply choose to sacrifice your rest in order to work. So what we're managing here should be energy, not time. 

Whether you like it or not, your everyday life will only amount to 24 hours and cannot be extended. So, learn to complete your task within the time allotted.Practice consistency and train yourself to focus more on the things at hand. 

 

I swear this would make your life easier. I am also going to apply this to myself. I am tired of doing everything in a messy way. Because whether we agree with it or not, being patient, consistent and having a great focus is applicable at times, whether you have a schedule or not. It is just classic. 

 

So this comprises today's article. Please bear with me as I also don't know if this is helpful, cohesive, and organized in some way.

This is again your angel, Thain. Keep safe always, guys. You are loved.

4
$ 1.06
$ 1.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
$ 0.02 from @Talecharm
Avatar for Black_Angel
2 years ago

Comments

I think the mindset of doing it now instead of later would be better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I think so too 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago