Being ambitious is fine as long as you're willing to work for it!

0 37
Avatar for Black_Angel
2 years ago
Sponsors of Black_Angel
empty
empty
empty

Being ambitious is fine as long as you're willing to work for it!

Hello guys, this is your angel, Thain. 

And today I just want to talk about being ambitious. So this is relative to what happened just recently, and I just want to share a story about it. 

Well, on a normal basis, I don't like kids, or maybe I grew up with the kind of mindset that kids will never like me because I always have this aura that I carry around with me that is "serious" or intimidating. 

Instead of beaming in light, you'll often see me with my usual poker face.So the normal approach is that instead of going to me, they suddenly think that 

"Hey, Ate is busy and she doesn't like noisy kids, so stay away from her area." Even if I have nothing to do on my desk, I just sit there and scroll through my phone or just think about some stuff.

 

But recently, these habits of mine, or the stereotype, I guess, that's been placed upon me, have been broken. To put it simply, I found out kids like me and they actually want me to teach them. 

The reason why I now tutor kids on how to properly read in English and Filipino. Because, no matter how much we defend it, learning English is really hard. Sure, it is easy to translate, but pronouncing the word correctly or using the appropriate verb or preposition in a sentence is sometimes confusing and intense.

 

So going back, I started teaching them and I also did a little bit of mathematics, and it was all for free. I just spend time with them every morning on a regular basis, except when things go rough, such as rain is heavy pouring or someone is sick, because it will be hard for them to go to our house.

On one particular morning, after we read some stories and answered some math problems, we sat down and just talked. 

The kids are 6–9 years old. They are all girls, except for my little brother. And they really love talking, especially the girl with straight long hair, Cara. 

The conversation revolved around topics of profession when one of them asked me what course I was taking currently or what I would want to become in the future.

 

My brother was quick to say, "Oh, she wanted to become a scientist!"

And they were like, "Woah! Really? What is it like? "

And although my course isn't really like that but closely associated with it, I explained its tidbits to them.

They were fast to reply with the words,

"I want to be a doctor," said Ria. A child who, despite being in elementary school, is unable to correctly read words and identify letters.We were practicing phonetics in the English alphabet. 

The other kid, KR, said she wanted to become an engineer, but originally she wanted to become a dentist, but she's too slow in plucking her damaged teeth when it's already the time that they have lost.

Cara wanted to become a police woman, and everybody was like,

 

"Really? You wanted to become a policewoman, but you're so thin. " 

However, she just shrugged it off and proudly said, "I'm going to be a police woman and I will go to the office!" 

She even went on saying, "Stop telling me what to do, because I ain't doing that to you!" 

KR then said that Addy, their other friend, wanted to become a nurse but she's afraid of blood; and that they would someday build a business together as a group, Addy, her, and Cara, and they said Cara is really pursuing it. 

Cara, then beaming with joy, said, "Of course! I wanted to build a salon. " I later learned that this was because she likes tidying her hair. I asked her how she felt about being a policeman since she also wanted that. She replied immediately, remarking, 

"I'll work in the office because I won't fight out in the field because that's for men!"

 

I was quiet for a second because her entire line had literally shocked me.

 

Well the gyst is we all know that these are just random conversations with kids, but honestly, I can actually reflect on all of them. 

There are a lot of major points on which focus could be placed. Such as Dreams! Dreams and visions are our main drivers, which motivate us to continue fighting or to always do our best. 

Sometimes our dreams speak to our hearts' wants. It doesn't necessarily check your pockets, but your faith in becoming that person someday. 

Although our visions are influenced by our current truths, they spearhead our will. For instance, these kids' truth is limited to their profession being the key to getting out of poverty. When, in reality, your salary can not truly lift you out of the overall poverty trap, even if you work your whole life, you will never get richer unless you venture into business or investments that will leverage your advances. 

However being a professional will also help you become more aware of what is really happening in society on a larger scale. It will introduce you to the world market and current technologies and innovation that the world focuses on; which if you are smarter than anybody else's thinks, you might find something interesting here that you're willing to work for and in the future will help you build your own fortune. 

Number two, our current truth also allows us to change our course of sailing in leui of inevitable failure in our field someday. Of course, the path to becoming an engineer is difficult, as is the path to becoming a doctor or nurse.It would cost us something very important to us. 

 

Life is a gamble. In order to get anything nice and useful, you need to exchange things. It's always the law of physics that governs us. 

Did you want to become a top student? Learn how to become one: study smart, work harder than anyone else, analyze critically instead of familiarizing, etc. 

Do you want to become a varsity player? Practice more, do drills, and take your training seriously. 

 

In contrast to that, being hard doesn't necessarily mean that it's impossible. Yes, it might be hard, but working to make it easier someday is possible. The chance is never zero, and as long as it doesn't hit that value, there's a possibility that you might win in that area in the long run. Being skilled takes time. 

And number 3, which I think is the last, our truths are being influenced by our belief system, and that belief system may be one of the reasons why we need to limit our dreams. 

Basically, I don't like mysoginist people, and so the line Cara have said has really annoyed me. I don't want to compete with men, but I refuse to become inferior when compared to the other sex. That's because what I can do in particular has nothing to do with my sex organs, especially in school or work. But in the society in which we're built, discrimination arises. 

There are people who teach children that women are inferior when it comes to men, that chances aren't equal for both sexes. Not only are there mysoginists out there, but there are also people who discriminate against others because of differences in wealth and social class. 

In our case, we don't all belong to a well-off family, and being able to graduate in 4-5 years with a bachelor's degree is next to impossible. That's why the word "ambitious" is being used to describe those who want to go beyond what society expects them to do.

However, in my point of view, being ambitious should not be taken as a negative word. As long as you're willing to work hard for what you want to become, being ambitious is an understatement. It is not even a degrading word, but rather a declaration that you want your life to be different from what you have now. 

It's a declaration of change that you wanted to achieve, and as long as you take a step towards getting there without damaging other people, you simply cannot be stoned. So be as ambitious as you want, and work hard to show those who openly mocked you that you know how to walk the talk.

 

 This is again your Angel, Thain. Thank you so much for reading and as always keep safe. You are loved. 

 

 


5
$ 2.91
$ 2.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
+ 1
Avatar for Black_Angel
2 years ago

Comments