We've Got To Believe It'll Be Alright In The End

4 16
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

It’s nineteen months that I have been working at home due to the pandemic.  

Some of my colleagues are already working in the office for some reason while I still choose to stay at home working.

I can always choose to work in the office if I wanted to. The requirements are just to secure a lab test certificate that will prove you are fit to work. However, still I am hesitant for fear of being infected by the deadly virus.

Some employees prefer to work onsite because of additional hazard pay and transportation allowance. I will not risk my health just to get that high amount of compensation. Unless the management had ordered all employees to work in the office then I don’t have a choice.

Later this afternoon I went to the office to claim my new cash card and HMI card. I wasn’t able to meet some of my colleagues because the place where to get the cards is isolated. Then I went to the mall to purchase some school supplies for my kids.

These days you cannot just go inside an establishment without writing your name to a log book at the entrance. Banks, groceries, past food and small business are doing this because it is now a health protocol. Even cab and public utility vehicle are observing this new health guidelines. This way, it easier to trace people with virus infections or possible carrier. Not only that, you must be equipped with all protective gears needed before you can go in. Writing some information on that piece of paper is kind of a hassle. Besides we never know if people are really giving correct contact information.

The city government in our place has implemented a new way to get people's contact information whenever entering a desired premises. A person should register to a website and then they will receive a QR code with the information they provided. The QR code can be printed for people who don’t have a Smartphone and then have it scanned at the main door before entering an establishment. While those with a Smartphone can just scan the QR code screenshot on their phone. This is I think is kind of the best way to contact tracing.

Few days ago some neighbors were arguing about vaccination cards. Five people gathered in the store next block, mostly gossiping, arguing about what they knew when entering the mall. Someone said that if you are not vaccinated you cannot go inside the mall. You can do so if you will present your vaccination card to prove that you are vaccinated.

For the record, vaccination is not mandatory in the Philippines and no one will force you to do so if you wish not to get shot with COVID vaccine.

Why some people are rushing to be vaccinated and if they received full shots they feel like they are virus proof.  Then some people in our place would have the card laminated, attached to ID lace and wore like an amulet when going outside. I don’t mean to be rude but it doesn’t make sense. Hate me if one of you does that. Unless it is a must with some establishment then no need to argue.

I am pro vaccine but honestly not with COVID vaccine. There are so many reasons to think about this pandemic. So many speculations about it like the fake pandemic, mass depopulation and some propaganda.

However even if I don’t want to receive the shots, there are things that push me to go and get vaccinated. Firstly, even if the government is saying that COVID vaccination is not mandatory, it is somewhat contradictory to what the President was saying. I remember him saying in the news that he will detain those people who do not wish to be vaccinated. We all know the PH President is known for his offending jokes on Philippine television but people listen to what he is saying because he is the leader of the country. There was a clamor with some people the day after he said that joke.

Some companies are requiring their employees to be vaccinated and the company I am connected with is complying with this requirement. These days when you apply for a job one requirement is to be vaccinated aside from swab tests and other things needed when hired.

Fear Of Missing Out

Almost all people around the world are getting vaccinated and this, even if not mandatory, is a requirement. What will happen if all people around you are vaccinated and you are not? Disregarding first the health risk, you will feel FOMO or out of place because you are different from the rest. Society will reject you because you do not belong.  Worst is that you might become an enemy of the state and be like rebels because you refuse the offering of the government.

Last Monday I received my first dose and finally decided to be vaccinated. I don’t want to be an enemy of the government who would deprive me of my privileges because of refusing to be vaccinated. They have a goal of having all people in the country receive the same vaccine as other countries around the globe. So most likely everyone should be vaccinated.

This COVID will not end. It will stay with us forever. So if you refuse, you will probably deprive some of your privileges in the future. The public will always observe guidelines and protocols  and if you cannot provide the requirements needed you’ll be sorry or decide to just be vaccinated instead. 

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Lead image source credits to Sunguk Kim

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

6
$ 2.04
$ 1.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
+ 1
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Same sir. Di daw mandatory, pero their actions and attitides tell the otherwise. Choice ko daw kuno yang magpabakuna o hindi, pero their faces scream discrimination pag nag-NO ka. I feel that it will soon be mandatory.

If I only had better choices, I would not wanna be vaccinated as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

parang ganon na nga.. sabi nga e, wala kang no choice.. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The title of this post are the words that I live and die by

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have to have faith in any work. Nothing works without faith.

$ 0.01
2 years ago