The Quality Of Doing It Yourself

4 69
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

Whoa!!! (From the top of my lungs) No, I don’t feel good.

Just imagine a sudden burst of scream. Can you sense it?

The sun has almost rested after the hot weather today and appears to have accomplished its duty.

While I just rested a couple of hours ago, here I am again writing for a living.

“Ang hirap talaga kumita ng pera.” (It is really hard to earn money)

The line above used to be said when we common Filipinos are experiencing hardship in life. We would engage in anything that can add to our income in a decent way although sometimes other people tend to do illegal things for their necessity. That is a sad reality.

Exhausted Exhaust - Tired vinyl

Anyway it is my rest day today and I was planning to accomplish household fixing that I have listed in mind. First one is to fix the exhausted exhaust fan in the ceiling because it broke three days ago, next is to replace a tired piece of vinyl tile. Unfortunately those were not fixed and I was already exhausted.

Actually I first did some DIY with my motorcycle that took me almost the whole day in my garage. I added some extra switches to it. Yes those are simply switches but took me eight hours to finish the process.

I could have documented it for a YouTube video but I am lazy enough to do it. You know it’s time consuming if you are not really into YouTube channeling. I prefer to post it through writing instead.

The DIY project I did was adding a hazard light switch and another switch for the headlight. You know most motorcycles being sold these days don't have a switch for the headlight. It will turn on once the motorcycle engine starts running. So the headlight is always on while on the road even in broad daylight. It has a switch only for high and low beams.

There are ready made switches to buy in some online stores but I find them costly. I am a person who prefers to purchase items at a very cheap price and $3 (150php) is already high amount for me (laughs). But don’t get me wrong because I am a techy guy who used to make DIY rather than purchasing it. You are pretty sure of the quality if you are the one who built it. Yes, those cheap items mostly are of low quality. I have experienced it several times, believe me.

DIY switch box

Above is my DIY switch box. As you can see there are three switches because I added a separate flasher for the hazard light switch which is uncommon to some mechanics and motorcycle owners.

Switch 1 is for the additional flasher switch. Next is the hazard light switch and the third on the right is the switch for the headlight.

All the materials I used are salvaged components from broken electronic appliances which I tend to keep for similar projects. The enclosure is made of PVC pipe then painted it with black.

The only parts I purchased online for this project are the flasher and hazard switch that cost me less than $3.

I posted only the finished product because I wanted to make this blog post as short as possible.

Forgive me by the way if you can’t relate to the things I have mentioned here, and yes I know it may sound nonsense but thank you for your time if you have gone reading until here.

I need to fix the exhaust fan as soon as possible before my wife would lose her patience (laughs).

8
$ 3.74
$ 3.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @fantagira
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 3
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Actually, awhile ago I helped my father fixing something on his tricycle. I didn't know how it works or how it fix since I don't have a knowledge about it. It's very time consuming fixing something on motor. Haha. How long did it take for you to finish it kuya?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

it took me almost the whole day because i need to cut the pvc pipe and heat it for the small box, then the electrical wiring. kind of tiring but satisfied with what i have accomplished . 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Doing it yourself at least you know it is done the way you want it to be :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

yes, thats the joy of DIY. 🙂

$ 0.00
1 year ago