Symptoms: Battling With the Invisible Enemy

17 44
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

We are not as safe as we imagined.

Never think that you are already safe if you are fully vaccinated.

I always expect that one day I’d be infected by this killer virus. I never felt 100% confident even if I already received two shots of Pfizer vaccine.

The Symptoms

Day 1

Five days ago while I was riding my bike for a weekly cycling trip (following all the health protocols), my throat suddenly got a little itchy. I never got close to anyone as I was cycling alone and moving at normal speed. Still continued and finished my thirty-minute weekly cycling routine.

I knew where it was leading so I just kept calm and prepared myself for the next thing to happen.

Day 2

When I woke up the next day, I could already feel my palate itchy and my throat as well. What I did was to put a small piece of ginger in my mouth to act like a candy. This way it has lessened the irritating sensation in my palate and throat. Colds started to build up. 

Day 3

On the third day I already had a cold but the feeling was not like a normal cold. It brings pain in the nostril. I could feel the sting sensation inside my nose. I was sneezing and I could also feel the soreness in my throat. I got a mild fever which was tolerable. 

But during this third day of having symptoms, I also began self medication. I took over the counter Ibuprofen and took it every eight hours for a mild fever. I gargle sea salt dissolved in lukewarm water every four hours to lessen the sore throat. I also do the steam inhalation by adding sea salt in boiled water to get rid of stuffy nose.

I didn’t go to the doctor or run to the nearest COVID testing facility. If I do, for sure they will give me COVID positive results.

Day 4

During day four of having the symptoms I still continue the self medication. Just to be clear, I felt a little tired because I was still working  at home during those days. I never filed sick leave as I can manage myself. In addition my sense of smell and taste lessened to more or less 60%. Yes I lost those senses but not completely because I could still smell the scent of my dog and my cat's poop. I could taste the bitterness of my coffee for only a little. But I never lost my appetite.

Day 5

As of this writing, today is day five of experiencing stuffy nose. I don’t have a fever. I don’t feel anything unusual. I no longer feel itchy on my palate and throat. I cough but pretty seldom. My sense of taste and smell are going back to normal and still taking self medication as I mentioned earlier. 

Awareness Is Important

The reason that most people got severely ill by the virus is the lack of awareness. We should be aware of everything that is happening around us right now. It is not only that we are aware of how the virus spread but we should most be aware of the prevention.

I am not sure if the symptom I have just experienced was omicron related or not because I did not undergo the test. But with the loss of taste and smell even if it was not totally lost can relate to the current health threat.

There are a lot of things running through my mind if I did go to the testing facility. That is why I decided to just fight it with myself.

So far while finishing up this writing, I don’t feel ill. I am good. I still have a stuffy nose but it is starting to fade away. Besides I don’t stop gargling dissolved sea salt, steam inhalation and taking Ibuprofen.

We must understand that our front liners in every hospital and other medical facilities are having a hard time accommodating infected persons. We can help them lessen the burden by being aware of everything about this pandemic.

I know some of you may raise your eyebrows with this post. Of course it is always your right to disagree.

This post is for your awareness. I am not saying that you should not undergo tests if you feel you have the symptoms. I am not saying too that you should do what I just did to fight with this virus. It is always advisable to seek assistance with the people professional enough to handle these cases.

As for my experience with this flu I can still take care of myself.  I know if I feel good or not physically. 

You may think that I might infect anyone from inside my home with what I did. But you must know that I am aware of what is happening. 

Always observe health protocol. Obey the rules. Eat veggies and always stay hydrated.  

Remember that the cure is prevention and it is always good to always have awareness. 

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Lead image source credits to Volodymyr Hryshchenko

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

10
$ 10.34
$ 10.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @JLoberiza
+ 5
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Same thoughts po, I am also fully vaccinated with Pfizer but still needs to be extra careful. Just as I was about to develop symptoms, it started with a bit of sore throat. Luckily I did not have colds and cough. Thank God.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

mild symptoms should be taken cared of at home. we can fight and survive this, we just have to be aware of all things about the current health crisis.

im glad you only have sore throat, i guess the vaccines in our body are resisting to the virus that is why it did not went serious.

thanks for the read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yess, feelin' a bit better now. Makakalabas na ako ng bahay without the feeling of fear. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks God at ok na po kayo sir. Kami din nung new year puro sinipon At ubo. Masakit lalamunan peto ayun nga self med lang kami nag suob din. Katakot kasi pumunta sa facility at baka e quarantine tas may baby kami. Kaya ginawa namin stay lang kami sa bahay. Di kami lumabas gang naging maayos naman kami sa awa ni Lord.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

so far di nman lumala symptoms at naging okay na din nmn ako.

yun nga alangan akong mag pa test dahil nga sa sinabi mo na bka ma over looked nila at lulamala kahit mild lng nmn symptoms.

kaya ayun self medication lang tlaga at stay at home at disiplina.

mabuti nmn at naging okay n din kayo. stay safe always at dapat aware lng lagi sa mga ngyayari para alam natin kung ano dpt gawin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama po kayo sir. Ingat din po kayo at stay safe with your fam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tested positive in the last week of the year and recovered in the first week of the year. I had 2 doses of Biontech vaccine. The only symptoms were cold and 2 days of weakness, I didn't use any medicine, I drank lots of fruit and hound-squeezed juice. I took hot liquid food supplements all the time, I hope no one gets caught, if they do, they get better with mild symptoms.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you know sometimes this health crisis becomes more serious when people tend to overact, panic, and lack of awareness of what is happening.

if we know what to do and what not, we can all survive this pandemic.

hope you doing great. thnks for the sponsorship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many of my friends (and my family) have recovered by ensuring we spend time in the sun and that we have zinc supplements and we took med-lemon which has vitamin c and aspirin in it. We took it as soon as we noticed something was different, a few hours later we were back to normal. Our smell and taste didn't lose completely, it just changed. We all went off eggs (I normally eat boiled eggs) but they just tasted disgusting and I'm also a coffee-holic, and when we were "unwell" none of us wanted any coffee too. My family and I haven't tested but we are certain we have had it. My friends have tested and they tested positive - they did what we did and had the same result of being well in a few hours. Glad you are doing well!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

as long as we are aware of what to do we can definitely survive this current health crisis but of course we still need to seek advice from merdical person if we are not really sure of what is going on within us.

its good to know that you and your family are able to surpass this challenge.

thanks. stay strong. keep safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Correct we must be aware, we all know that lot of people become confident in walking outside without considering the health protocols because they are confident in the vaccine. We must not be the walking spreader but the one who cure this with prevention.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes indeed.

sabi nga ligtas ang may alam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agreee! All we need is awareness. I also like how you just treated your symptoms. I also had a flu last 2 weeks ago, new year and since my family and I gathered, all of us isolated for 2 weeks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we know if our body is in good shape or not. some people have panic attack when they have common colds. they would jump into conclusion right away. if we are aware of the health guidelines and prevention about the virus we can survive without being hospitalize.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! as long as you knew what's the situation of your health and you know how to handle the symptoms,, then you're doing the right thing... I hope some Filipinos out there should know how to discipline themselves..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's flu season. It's difficult to distinguish ordinary flu from covid. But if you feel better now, just continue your self-quarantine and medication until you fully recover. It's been published that the vaccine is not a hundred percent protection from the virus, but it will lessen the severity. It's just like wearing a helmet and protective gear when you bike. They protect you, but you may still sustain minor injuries if you fall. But the thing is, they protect you from severe and more fatal injuries.

Get well soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

having flu these days has always covid connotation and yes pretty much hard to identify unless we undergo test.

there are a lot of misconceptions about vaccines particular of those people who are not really aware what vaccines are for. they think of it as a cure (clique tongue)

i agree with you on that helmet thing, its clearly defined.

so far i am good right now and no serious uncomfortable feeling.

Thanks man, be safe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago