Sometimes it’s Over Before it Starts

3 35
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

When was the first time that you never met someone again? Was he a friend, family relative or someone you had an intimate relationship with?

Days come and go, people are always busy and they leave their houses and then come back. Some leave for a short time before they come back. Others leave for a very long period of time before they return home. Sometimes someone would just leave without a trace, without saying that he is leaving and not even mentioning the word goodbye.

Speaking of the word goodbye, is it really important to say it when leaving?

Goodbye is used when parting. We always say the word “goodbye” or simply just “bye” as a gesture at taking a leave.

Disappointment is felt when the word was not properly addressed. When there was no declaration of leaving and not telling where the person who leaves would want to go.

When the fire went out, does it tell it would want to leave? When the rain stops it doesn’t tell it to leave either.

I am going, I have to go, I must be going, I am leaving. These phrases are often used when we temporarily leave for work, school or going somewhere. Those words become a declaration of parting instead of saying the word goodbye.

In most cases when leaving the house, it is important to mention it when leaving so that the persons you live with would know just in case you did not come home as usual.

When I was a kid my uncle got mad at my mother, his sister, because he said that we did not tell him that we were leaving when he invited us for an occasion. I remember my siblings saying goodbye to him when we left but he was certain that we did not. My mother is a disciplinarian so I am pretty sure that my siblings would not do such an act of disrespects. It became an issue and soon became a long dispute between my mother and my uncle.

So when I have my own family, I always remind my kids to at least say bye when leaving for school.

Milada Vigerova - Unsplash

In relationships saying goodbye is never easy and sometimes they are so hard. There is so much that we want to say if we could see our partner for one last time. But we just can’t because he is no longer there but then we always think of him. They are always on our mind.

We keep asking ourselves and we don’t know why. When we lie awake at night then look up but he is not there either. Sometimes we try to look ahead and move on or try to be strong but the pain won’t go away.

Sometimes it’s not enough just to love. Sometimes it’s over before it starts. 

7
$ 1.50
$ 1.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Methion
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

For me saying goodbye is such a painful thing we heard especially when someone is leaving and haven't plan to come back, I've been in that situation before, that's why it really hurts that much. Btw, I'm glad to see you around here, nice meeting you then 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It’s so sad that such a thing of not saying goodbye to a family member at an occasion can cause dispute for long time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Saying Goodbye when you're not ready to is the most painful thing ever.

$ 0.00
1 year ago