Replaceable Vs. Non-replaceable Smartphone Battery: Which do you prefer?

9 25
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

What features of a Smartphone do you usually look for when planning to purchase a phone?

I bet you would prefer to buy a phone with the coolest camera feature for posting in your social media accounts.

These days people would want to purchase a phone with a good camera quality. They would want to be on the loop with the current trend. They don’t want to be left behind by their friend’s activities on their socials.

Today’s post, I will be sharing information about technology again. Smartphone features to be more specific. It’s been a while since my last post about a similar topic that I almost forgot to write about.

You know when you don’t have a specific niche in writing and choose general information you might neglect other topics that you already have in mind. But I don’t think I am having an issue with that.

Anyway, before I go any further let’s proceed to our topic for today which is about removable and non-removable batteries for smartphones.

I first held a 2G phone back in early 2000. Nokia was revolutionizing the cell phone back then. People are already satisfied with its features. Eventually the company always innovates their product. They keep on adding features like Bluetooth, colored screen, camera features and wireless application protocol (WAP).

When I held a Nokia 3G (Nokia N70), I was fascinated by its features. I can do a lot of things with that phone. It’s like I was having a personal digital assistant (PDA). I made a post about it nine months ago. You can check it here. The only problem I had with that phone was the battery.

Most cell phone brands back then had a removable battery feature. I don’t remember the times I replaced batteries with that phone. The reason was that it was mainly used for the internet via data connection. Yes you read it write. Nokia N70 doesn’t have a Wi-Fi feature but I was able to maximize its internet capability by means of free browsing technique (FBT).

When I held my first android phone, the battery was also my main problem. However it is not really a problem at all because of its replaceable battery feature. So, whenever I purchase a Smartphone I always check its battery specification.

However as cell phone manufacturers keep on producing new phones and adding new features, it appears that they prefer to produce non-removable battery phones.

At first I was doubtful when I purchased my Huawei phone because its battery is built-in. But at least I know the comparison between removable and non-removable battery phones.

Here is my own experience between the two.

Sometime ago, I accidentally soaked my Samsung in beer spilled over the table. So what I did was to remove the back cover and dismantle the battery as quickly as possible. Then let it dry for at least twelve hours. But since it was risky for my phone I opened it so it would dry up entirely.

That is a good thing about phones with removable batteries. You can easily prevent your phone from possible short circuits inside. Unlike with built-in batteries there is no way you can do that. But of course non-removable batteries can still be replaced. It is just that you need to be knowledgeable enough about electronics to do that.

Please do not put it in a bag of rice as what you saw in videos circulating on social media and YouTube whenever your phone was totally soaked in liquid. It will not be fixed unless you have it checked by a real technician.

For some reason there is also an advantage with phones that have built-in batteries. Aside from slim design, it helps a lot for easy tracking whenever a phone is stolen or lost. A replaceable battery can be easily removed if the phone falls into the wrong hands. Unlike with the battery untouched inside the phone, it is harder to remove the battery that disables the tracking features.

These are only few of the differences between the two. Whether you prefer to have a phone with a built-in battery or removable one, it is a matter of personal choice.

As for me it doesn’t matter if I use either of the two. You know phones these days don’t last for two or more years in our hands.

As you can see, phone companies are constantly innovating their products for consumer’s satisfaction.

We must understand that the main function of a cell phone is to communicate. Camera and other apps are only second to its main purpose.

How about you, which is best to use, a phone with a removable battery or a built-in one? Share your thoughts in the comment.  

Lead image source credits to Jonas Leupe

6
$ 8.35
$ 8.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
$ 0.02 from @Lara888
+ 1
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I had my first phone when I was in 9th grade. It was Samsung. I don't remember its model. Well, I prefer non-removable battery. Whenever I buy a phone, battery capacity is what I always looking for followed by storage and refresh rate. Haha. I don't photograph much so camera is really on the bottom of my list.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I always wanted to have a phone that has long lasting battery life, it doesnt matter to me wether built-in or not. but today since i kind of used to practice smarthphone photography i would want want to have it second to my list. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It would be the both for me! Haha. 😄. And as long as I can email and crypto. 😆

$ 0.01
1 year ago

haha, yes me too. although i prefer a phone that has good camera feature because of photography hobbies. but you know these days having two phones is a trend so i have them both. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Owww. Haha. I just have one. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have tried to used smaartphone before that it removable, but when we used to removed it everytime we charged it, later its damaged and its lost. But today, my phone has built in battery.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

thats kind of a hassle i also experience that. i think phones with built-in battery is also good as I also have one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember my first Nokia phone, the battery was removable, but modern phones now come with a non-removable battery, I don't find a big difference between them because I take care of my phone, as for the rise's advice lol, I knew it was a lie from the begening

$ 0.01
1 year ago

nokia phones back then was a beast.

thats very cautious of you. i know a person who is really careful with his phone.

those vidoes are just to gain viewers and subscribers so they can monetize their channel.

$ 0.00
1 year ago