Necessity: The Most Important Thing in Life

4 37
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

These days owning a desktop computer or laptop is a necessity.

The innovative technology brings a lot of applications in terms of industrial or residential usage. One of which is the computer.

In the past, having a personal computer at home in a developing country like PH was a luxury. Back in the 90’s computers can only be seen in office establishments including schools.

Some rich people can afford to buy a personal computer when they want to do some computer work at home. Of course rich kids have the full privilege of access to their parent’s personal computers.

Why was it kind of luxurious back then to own a personal computer at home?

Well for me it was something expensive. As a kid things like that are pretty much valuable in my own perspective.

Firstly, the price of a one set personal computer in the past was really high which includes the printer, scanner, table and chair and the Windows OS installer software.

Next is the inks are kind of costly and can only print very few full color sheets. Then the maintenance and repair will also cost you a few more bucks if your computer will be infected by computer viruses like worms, Trojan or Ransomware. Good thing if you have a friend or family relative that is knowledgeable about computers, you can at least save some money for the formatting and reinstallation.

Quantum Computers

Computers in the past are very far from computers these days. Every year the software engineers are making updates and upgrades to meet the demands of consumers.

Imagine if today you are using a Windows 95 computer system, do you think it can compete with Windows 10 by merely using Microsoft word? Of course not, Windows 95 is obsolete and long gone dead.

When I started working in Metro Manila, I began building my own personal computer. I don’t know much about computers but I know a lot about electronics hardware. I only have basic knowledge in computers with few units back in college and I don’t learn anything from our instructor (laughs). Most of my knowledge in computers is self taught.

You can build your own PC too

The idea of building my own PC back then was because of my brother-in-law. He is a graduate of 2-year Computer Technician and was employed with PC Corner. So whenever I have extra cash I would buy PC hardware piece by piece until I have completely built my first personal computer.

My brother- in-law doesn't have knowledge in electronics so it was like I told him about electronics and he told me about computers.

So I don’t have problems fixing my PC when it comes to software issues or whenever my PC will be attacked by viruses.

I learn because i need to

Unfortunately he didn’t teach me how to format a PC and install the OS. Whenever my PC breaks, I will resort to him to fix it.

Things change, people change, seasons come and go until me and my brother in-law have a little misunderstanding. We are not on good terms so I need to learn to fix my computer by myself.

What I did was to read books and articles on the internet about computers and watch tutorials on YouTube as well.  Finally I learn how to reformat and install Windows OS on any PC. There was a channel on YT who posted about fixing issues with PCs and was legit. By the way not all YouTube videos tell the truth, remember that some videos are just after the number or views and likes for them to monetize their channel.  I know a lot of YouTube channels whose videos are fake, particularly electronic projects and circuits.

I have learned to fix my PC when it comes to software issues but I am still thankful to my brother- in-law for some ideas about computers. When it comes to hardware repairs, it was easy for me because I already have knowledge about electronics.

You must understand that owning a PC or laptop is a privilege and is no longer a luxury these days. It is good at least that you have to have knowledge about computers if you have one. You should have a copy of the Operating System for reinstallation. But if your OS is Windows 10 there is a feature in there that you can restore the system without reinstallation.

Remember that computers these days are becoming more complex but it is also easier to use.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Disclaimer: I am not an IT engineer or knowledgeable about computers and software. I am self taught when it comes to fixing such but with limited knowledge. I am more knowledgeable about electronics but it may still be limited. This post about computers and electronics is not advice but from my own experience. You may refer to it as additional information.

Lead image created with canva

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

6
$ 7.53
$ 7.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I graduated without PC and Laptop and indeed it was really so hard without those two.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

same here, sometimes i wonder why some students of todays generation find hard to finish thier school project when computers are almost accessible evrywhere yet they still complain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako po nakagraduate napang na walamg PC or laptop. Yung kapatid ko pong college, dun lang kami nakabili. Though kinaya, I felt the struggle.din po talga na walang computer.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes, struggle tlaga kasi whenever you need to accomplish your project that needs PC, maghahanap ka tlaga computer shop para lang mkapag pasa ng prjoect on time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago