Free Information

5 23
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Never buy things that you don’t need

I guess that applies to anything with regards to our personal necessities. We all know that money is hard earned. Unless you were born with inherited wealth I guess you don’t have problems dealing with your personal needs.

This is one great challenge to every one of us, buying things that we want but not what we need. I don’t have much money to buy things that I want. You know sometimes even if we are not that rich, we tend to buy things that are that fascinates us. But then those things are being used only for the first time and then it will remain on the shelf forever until the cockroaches and rodents tear them off. In the end, a waste of money.

What was the last time you bought a thing you wanted but then it was just kept and hidden in the drawer with no use or purpose?

I think the last time I purchased an item was the signal light for my bike. Although I have my mountain bike but never attached the signal light on my bike, not even once. It was just a cheap one. I think I bought it from Deeco for only $1. So the thing was just kept in my drawer but I was thinking of something DIY to make it useful.

See related post: The Inferior Collector

Piece of Advice

Some users here post about tips, advice or step by step process on how to do things the right way. For example a “How to post” about NFTs, SmartBCH or the same sort of thing. I wanted to do such a post but I am kind of hesitant. That is why I rarely post about tips and tricks. You know if you will make a article like that, you must be very good about the thing you want to share the tips about. Or at least you have done it before, you failed and then you succeeded. That is a way of sharing information according to our own experiences not according to what we read somewhere else.

Anyway I wanted to share with you my experiences of owning a printer for my personal computer. Actually this is a sort of advice if you want to buy a personal printer.

Firstly, I wanted you to know that I have worked in the printing industry for almost a decade so I am proud to say that I know a lot about in this field. But personal printers are kind of different from offset machine printers although in a sense they are similar in the process – to print.

See related post: Skill Set

When I first owned a PC, I also bought a printer, even just a cheap one. I do my own business by accepting printing of business cards or any task that my printer can be used for. However I wasn't a business minded person so I don’t have regular clients. The printer was not being used regularly until it was broken. You know if the printer is not used for several days the ink in the print head will dry out thus damaging the ink cartridge.

When my kids started schooling, I bought another one for their projects. I even converted it to CISS by just following the video tutorials on how to convert ink cartridges to continuous ink supply systems.

If you are going to buy a personal printer you should ask yourself if that printer could print at least one sheet a day. But if not, forget about having one.  Unless you will use it for a small business that would be fine. But if you really want to buy it because you have extra budget for it then you should learn how to maintain it.

Here are few of my suggestions:

Any brand of printer will do as long as you have a budget for it. If you will buy a printer that uses ink you should try the brands with CISS already installed. This is cheaper with regards to ink supply. Ink cartridges are kind of costly. So you have to be wise in purchasing one. Maintaining an ink printer is not that hard. All you have to do is to print at least one sheet per day so the ink will not dry out in the print head. Just run a test print at least every other day but I suggest doing it every day. You can reprint the used paper for the test print. Just make sure it is not crumpled or folded at the gripper side or else it will result in a jammed paper error. This type of printer has high-quality print out results. 

Printers that use toner instead of liquid ink are much better because you will not have to worry about ink dry out. Well obviously because it is not a liquid. It uses powder like substance, charged printing drum and then heat to melt the toner particles. If you are going to purchase one you should learn simple guidelines to maintain it in good condition. If you fail to do so the powder will build up in the roller drum thus creating a scum. However, this kind of printer has faster print speed than the inkjet. 

In the past owning a set of personal computers at home was kind of a luxury, but today it is more of a necessity. When the education process has changed due to the pandemic, more people purchase laptops or personal computers as well as printers because it is really necessary.

So I hope I have given you a simple idea about printers. This is based only with my own experience about home printers. I have knowledge and skills about electronics and technology but not to the extent that I know all about it.

If you have questions about your devices, ask the internet first. If you are going to ask me things about it, I can answer you with what I learned from school that I have applied in actual application. 

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Lead image source credits to Markus Winkler

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

9
$ 7.74
$ 7.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Lucifer01
+ 1
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I learned about printers before, HP printers when I was working at a bpo company. But I forgot most of my learnings lol. Glad that this article refreshed my knowledge about printers and ink cartridges.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a lot of free information that you have given. I think your beautiful suggestions will give us a lot of work.Really did a very good job. Which many people like me need.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. I was just trying to share what I know and what I learn from my experiences. I hope some would find this at least helpful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So it's about a story that you experienced. A computer, a printer, toner mixed with your experiences & delivered the message. Good one brother. And you are right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I mostly write about life experiences and general information. Thanks for the compliment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago