Sketch Study (The Guy with a Turban)

0 50
Avatar for Biyaawnurr
4 months ago

As I have written in my previous blogs I'm these days learning and practicing sketching different cultures and people . So I do a little blog about what I learn with each study . To me Charcoal is something so efficient and unique . I find it quite amusing how you can just draw anything with just a single black color and still add so much depth using just values .

So this week for my reference I selected a guy with a Turban the picture was used from Pinterest and here is what I did .

First of all I just roughly sketched out shapes with whisper lines using a 2H pencil so as you can see the first sketch is just me scribbling and making shapes and lines how I see the portrait as shapes like that nose looks like a triangle mixed with rectangle .

Next I just used a Kneadable erasure to erase any lines that were additional and made the rough sketch more dark .

Now I just use a 3b pencil to add some values . I made the most dark colored parts like the turbans wrinkles and drapes on the shawl dark also his eyebrows and beard dark.

Next I just used a blending stump #3 and blended these shadows . Then I erased the highlighted parts too like where the light was hitting on the turban , face and shawl I make them lighter by erasing . This just gives it a realistic effect.

I also shaded his Adam apple on his throat some shadows to the jaw and monolids and his shawl needed some more shading too.

I now started. Shading with a 6B pencil and just kept adding more values to define the shapes a bit more .

  • Here is the final result .

I learnt alot about shading clothing with this reference how drapes work and how values can make features look prominent . This was a great sketch study .

That's it for today . See you next week .

Thank you for your precious time and support ❤️

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Biyaawnurr
4 months ago

Comments