Cover Lover

0 32
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
1 year ago
Topics: Gems, Midnight, Cover, Music, Memory, ...

As the title suggests I love a good cover. Both types, amazing album covers, and I love a well-covered song even more. As I know quite a bit of songs I often pick them out when all others thought it was an original song.

I remember being a little pre-teen and my mom telling me that this song that I liked so much was done before by another artist.

An artist of her generation and I was like....WHAT?
I never imagined such a thing being possible, I thought every song was new and done by the artist...but once I learned the harsh truth....there was no way back.

No way back indeed. I loved hearing the same song in a different genre, with different voices, and different rhythms. I was hooked.

So when I just started my Midnight Gems I did a little special when I reached vol. 10.
Now I´ve just finished vol. 77 and I probably do another cover session when I reach vol.100.

The best covers you probably never heard - MidNight Gems Vol.10 - Cover LoveR

So why do it again?

Easy, because it did not include my two favorite covers ever.

Why were they not included?

Well because I have spent hours searching for this next song. I know I must have the CD single somewhere, but the question is where. Most of my CDs are still in a different country.

And I knew the name of the song, but not the artist. As with many of my Midnight Gems the artist was not a big one.
So searching for After Midnight (Yes the J.J. Cale song) in whatever combi with synth, wave, cover, electro or even EMB did not return anything.
I spent many hours searching on as many platforms, until one day it was there.... on youtube .....when I was deep down another youtube loop.

I am sure I added it to one of my Midnight Gems, but I just spent another hour checking at least half of the 76 volumes and I returned empty-handed. Again.

Did you lose the darn song again?

Uhu, till I remembered that Youtube keeps your history...
I found this song back in Sep 2021. I probably lost it moving to Spain in 2007. So it was lost for 14 years, lost but not forgotten.

RESONANCE - After Midnight

Resonance, now it resonates with me...again. And well it seems to be a not at all famous Dutch Band, a quick google search returned nothing. That makes it a true Gem in my book.

And that second one, again such a long story?

No, that one is short and sweet; or sours as lemon drops, away above the chimney tops.

Tori Amos - Somewhere Over the Rainbow (Live)

This song was the B-Side from the Hey Jupiter cd single. I was in love with Tori already when that single was released, and she made this song sound so magical.....she sounds like a Siren like a red-haired Lorelei...and I was lost to Tori forever.

Just FYI if you enjoy covers check out these guys, they do amazing covers: Melodicka Bros

If you enjoyed this post feel free to dive into some of the latest Midnight gems Sessions:

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.77 "One Tori Special"

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.76 "Gems found in TV Series"

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.75 "Eurovision All Time Favorites"

Thanks for the read and have a lovely rest of your day.

Disclaimer

I do not have any connection with any company I am writing about. I am not being paid to write this article.

If you like my content, please hit like and subscribe. Because more Bitcoin baby Mistakes are coming......

Feel free to provide tips, comments, feedback, anything.....?
Remember that sharing will improve life in general!

Direct Donations are always welcome to keep me going:

BAT Tipping: https://twitter.com/Tegendraads_69

WAX: rx2r4.wam

BTC: bc1qdsrg7qaefxvel6hn6mjemjd4c8jjs40sasyvkp

ETH: 0x4216fEC23Ae7A7d9c46143Ce56C3e8f301F9868c

Bitcoincash:qqesav8kuwcrhl4y8qs9zfjg90cf8dnlkyz43u9w6u

5
$ 1.24
$ 1.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Talecharm
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
1 year ago
Topics: Gems, Midnight, Cover, Music, Memory, ...

Comments