A Journey towards self discovery

0 18

Introduction to the real world

I was just 16 years of age when I finished my secondary education, I had literally just written my final exams waiting for the results. I had always thought life was a bed of rose, you know, finish my secondary education, advance tertiary , then get a well paying job and definitely live a good life. But then I guess it isn’t life if it goes your way, life definitely had a whole different plan for me . My parents were divorced, my mom being a police officer seldom had time for her children, I had to make certain hard decisions, The good, bad and the ones I had to face the consequences squarely . I had elder ones, but then it was a “Your life your business”. Everyone had something they were occupied about .


Seeking admission

Results came out and it was just as fair to enable me an admission into the university. As a very young lad living with his dad and step mother things wasn’t rosary I tell you , I wrote the exams that would advance me into the university, results came out and I couldn’t meet up the cut off mark, I always wanted to study law, become a lawyer, defend cases and become a sought after in my community but like I said “life happens “. I couldn’t meet up the cut off and had to wait for the next year to try again, before the next year came, my dad who’s been non existent throughout my whole secondary education wanted me to go learn a trade, I was cool with it, since it was pending the time I gained admission , so I settled to go for computer trainings which he blankly disagreed to, “what’s your deal pops”? I get to decide my future. He then says he wants me to go learn a trade as a mechanic in the streets of Lagos Nigeria . A decision which sounded crappy to me, being a mechanic is such a profitable trade but then don’t I get to want to do it ? It was such a decision I wasn’t having but then I agreed since he was my father, I still stay under his roof and eat his food .

Life happens

I learnt the mechanic trade for a year till the time for my exams were due, this time around I opted for a state university with a different course “political science “. I wrote the exams, passed the cut off points and got admitted , all these time I had this uncle in London who promised to settle the fees as regards my education, I was so happy to know God wasn’t dizzy over my life matters after all , I gained admission and it was time to go to school, the worst happened. My dad got diagnosed with diabetes, an ailment which almost claimed his life , my uncle abroad took up the responsibility of shouldering all upsetting hospital bills , an act which I really commended him for. I stayed over with my dad for a while before I decided to go to school, told my uncle about it and something that shattered my whole life happened. My uncle said he couldn’t shoulder the bills for my education any longer, I didn’t know what else to do at that moment . I cried , prayed to God for a dime minute miracle but I guess God had bigger plans . I left my dads house to my brother’s. There I stayed until I got the opportunity to work on a nollywood film set as an“ assistant props person” alongside my brother. There I met someone who changed my life till date, he was a cinematographer and video editor, I saw the way he worked on set, I saw the amazing videos he created and how profitable the whole thing was, I immediately grew passionate about becoming a cinematographer. There my journey to becoming a cinematographer emerged . On my next post I’ll take you all on my journey on becoming a cinematographer and video editor, Till then ,

Thank you all for going on this amazing read with me I hope to see you all on my next post .

4
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @Mazekin
$ 0.01 from @Belozoriana
Sponsors of BigShegs
empty
empty
empty

Comments